Chevron Left
Zurück zu A Crash Course in Data Science

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für A Crash Course in Data Science von Johns Hopkins University

4.5
Sterne
5,896 Bewertungen
1,116 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

By now you have definitely heard about data science and big data. In this one-week class, we will provide a crash course in what these terms mean and how they play a role in successful organizations. This class is for anyone who wants to learn what all the data science action is about, including those who will eventually need to manage data scientists. The goal is to get you up to speed as quickly as possible on data science without all the fluff. We've designed this course to be as convenient as possible without sacrificing any of the essentials. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the field of data science. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. How to describe the role data science plays in various contexts 2. How statistics, machine learning, and software engineering play a role in data science 3. How to describe the structure of a data science project 4. Know the key terms and tools used by data scientists 5. How to identify a successful and an unsuccessful data science project 3. The role of a data science manager Course cover image by r2hox. Creative Commons BY-SA: https://flic.kr/p/gdMuhT...
Highlights
Basic course
(76 Bewertungen)
Well taught
(48 Bewertungen)

Top-Bewertungen

SJ

Sep 10, 2017

This is a great starter course for data science. My learning assessment is usually how well I can teach it to someone else. I know I have a better understanding now, than I did when I started.

MD

Aug 28, 2016

Is really hard to summarize the potential of Data Science and being clear, but I think that the instructors have done their best, so that we can achieve the most from the Course.\n\nGreat Job!

Filtern nach:

676 - 700 von 1,088 Bewertungen für A Crash Course in Data Science

von Marc-Eric L

Dec 22, 2019

It was very good. I am not a DS but have been exposed to their work. I would like to debate whether Hadoop is the best place to do the work today, but the point made still stands. The one thing that made me put a 4* instead of 5: I don't see how it is "executive" yet.

von Lucas B P

Dec 15, 2015

I left with a good understanding of the reach and dynamics of the field of data science. Even with experience in using data to answer questions in the context of an organization this has been a good way of mapping out the areas where that experience can be extended.

von Seraphim A

Dec 11, 2015

A very good intro to Data Science by three experts. Well-paced, with reasonable quiz questions and can be completed in less than a week. However, I would certainly not pay for it, because it is feels more like a well-designed ad for the spesialization that follows!

von Ben H

Jul 18, 2018

As advertised. This is a basic introduction into thinking about data science problems and processes. No statistics or coding, but the discussion of tools and ideas will be valuable for anyone who is numerate but hasn't been exposed to data science practices.

von Priya S

Nov 06, 2017

Course explanation/class can be a little more simple as this is a crash/basic course for data science. There were multiple situations where I had to google on few data science/statistics jargons, which I couldn't understand as I am a beginner in this field.

von Kevin W F

Nov 03, 2016

While the course has excellent material, I would not send any of my executives to it. The information is to deep and technical for a business executive in my opinion. I would have liked more examples on how implementing this would benefit a business.

von Chitra N

Nov 18, 2018

The course was very good. However, there were many terms instructors used in the beginning without explaining them. But later in the course, many of these were explained. However, it always helps to explain any term when it is first introduced.

von Clara M

Oct 30, 2015

A really useful introduction to what is data science. I found it very complete, besides maybe I would have liked a little more deepness in some concepts. I'm willing to learn more about the subject, maybe I will complete the whole specialization.

von Mohammed N H

Apr 08, 2018

Basic understanding of data science that can help your expectations and realty before entering deep in the data science courses. Recommended for everyone who wish to learn data science or build a data science team to achieve organizational goal.

von Bhavya C

Sep 16, 2017

This is a beautifully designed crash course on Data Science and gives you insight into Machine Learning and how it can be used effectively. The examples it highlights are brilliant! Thanks to the instructors and Johns Hopkins University.

von Karen D

Jun 22, 2017

A good start but definitely from the point of view of organizations without a lot of funding. Fortune 100s often don't follow the process as they outlined it because they can afford technologies that don't require data extraction, etc.

von Anne M

Dec 27, 2015

Quite fast-paced indeed. Even the instructors seem like they're in a rush :)

It would have helped if there was a glossary of terms for people who aren't well-versed in programming basics.

But in summary, it's an interesting course =)))

von Anneliese G

Sep 26, 2019

I really liked the concepts covered in this course and found the instructors engaging. I felt the course readings were essentially the same as what was covered in the presentations so would probably skip one or the other next time.

von Noushad

Mar 16, 2017

Extremely helpful and informative this was my first time experience going through an online training, i should say thanks team for making it so easy and effective :-)

Looking forward for more sessions and positive experiences.

von Scott Y

Dec 27, 2019

Good course with the right level of detail to get your feet on the ground with data science. As an executive learning the Data Science field later in my career I found it to be challenging enough and relevant to my work.

von Michael W

Jun 05, 2016

Was a good introduction. The focus was good as I feel I came away with knowledge of the field as opposed to technology. Only recommendation is to ask professors to use more practical examples in the lectures.

von Augustina R

Dec 25, 2016

Really good quick and dirty high level overview of how to structure and talk about data science projects. Great for improving communication about your project to your boss and people from outside of your team.

von Dynasty D D

Sep 18, 2015

This course was truly a crash course with less crashing and more succeeding on the parts of the professors. My only suggestion is to more clearly outline and link the next classes in the specialization.

von Nicholas G

Jan 09, 2018

Questions could have been more difficult. Plus, I'm frustrated that I was taken into a 25-question survey ranking me with other data scientists, but when I clicked out of it I wasn't able to get back.

von Sivakumar K

Jul 19, 2017

This course introduced me to the concepts of Data Science and the key words mainly. Some lecturers spoke very fast, and I had listen to them two or three times to keep up with their pace of speaking.

von Rupali A

Dec 30, 2019

Enjoyed the pace at which the course moved. Teachers were qualified and relevant. Video Production quality could be better, some of the presentation graph were illegible - thus the lack of 1 star.

von Jiajing X

Jun 21, 2016

fairly general concepts of data science, but may be quite helpful l for people totally new to the field of data (e.g. not having any idea), or as material to review the big picture of data science

von Victor M

Jan 27, 2020

Ótimo conteúdo.

As questões poderiam ser mais elaboradas.

Ou até mesmo criar mais questões de fixação. Acredito que se o aluno tiver vários exercícios ele conseguirá assimilar mais o material.

von Krisiphala S

Feb 09, 2020

Well it got the objective right which is only a crash course in data science for beginners, but I think the team could make a more engaging and practical videos with more of real life cases

von Ann O

Jun 13, 2016

Provided a good, very high level overview. I audited so I didn't take the quizzes, but the questions were all on the general side. I liked how they used some examples of real-life research.