Chevron Left
Zurück zu A Crash Course in Data Science

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für A Crash Course in Data Science von Johns Hopkins University

4.5
5,169 Bewertungen
980 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

By now you have definitely heard about data science and big data. In this one-week class, we will provide a crash course in what these terms mean and how they play a role in successful organizations. This class is for anyone who wants to learn what all the data science action is about, including those who will eventually need to manage data scientists. The goal is to get you up to speed as quickly as possible on data science without all the fluff. We've designed this course to be as convenient as possible without sacrificing any of the essentials. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the field of data science. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. How to describe the role data science plays in various contexts 2. How statistics, machine learning, and software engineering play a role in data science 3. How to describe the structure of a data science project 4. Know the key terms and tools used by data scientists 5. How to identify a successful and an unsuccessful data science project 3. The role of a data science manager Course cover image by r2hox. Creative Commons BY-SA: https://flic.kr/p/gdMuhT...
Highlights
Well taught
(48 Bewertungen)
Basic course
(76 Bewertungen)

Top-Bewertungen

SJ

Sep 10, 2017

This is a great starter course for data science. My learning assessment is usually how well I can teach it to someone else. I know I have a better understanding now, than I did when I started.

JM

Jan 02, 2018

It is a very good course even if you are familiar with some aspects of data science work. If I have to make a suggestion, I would remark the importance of design skills during a data product,

Filtern nach:

851 - 875 von 948 Bewertungen für A Crash Course in Data Science

von Wei C

Oct 02, 2015

It provides a quich shot on data science, but the way it presents is not so interesting.

von Sarge S

Feb 11, 2017

Brian Caffo's lectures were rambling and confusing, with excessive use of jargon without proper explanation. His graphs were overwhelming with information, and little effort was made to explain the graph. Otherwise, the other lectures were very good, concise, and clear. Thank you.

von Deleted A

Nov 29, 2016

Would have been better if quiz access is available for free so that it is easier to reinforce concepts learnt.

von Daniel

Nov 25, 2015

Concise but could already include a basic proyect.

von Gobi R

Nov 06, 2017

Pretty basic only for those who have never heard of anything but the term data science.

von Chow T W

Oct 28, 2015

Simple and good overview of Data Science

von Marco C

Nov 16, 2015

Good course, with general and not over-detailed explanations of all the relevant topics in data Science. A good, general overview definitively worth working on.

von nitesh w

Jul 10, 2017

It was very basic, could have covered more

von Nate A

Jan 06, 2016

I wanted to like this course but It felt entirely too academic in terms of both the subject matter and the way the specifics of "data science" are presented. The course content reminded me of my time a few years ago when I was enrolled in a Ph.D. program at a major Tier 1 research university. The professors were great, but the content was esoteric and incredibly focused on research based "data science" and less on business analytics or more practical applications of data science for the working professional. I felt myself re-watching the videos to try and understand the content because there were many instances where the professors' spoke about some fundamental aspect of data science but failed to provide some real world context. I liked the course but I would not recommend it as a crash course for the working professional, more like a crash course for someone who already has a degree in statistics/math/engineering who is looking to further their studies in an academic setting where research is the main goal.

von C.J. d W

Feb 16, 2016

Very basic level, nice talks though

von Gregory G K

May 09, 2016

Interesting but uneven. Felt like the first draft of a team-taught course

von Stephanie M D

Dec 23, 2016

Nice overview for those of us unschooled in the language. Syntax of the notes and text is in need of major editing-proofreading.

von Ricardo J O

Jan 05, 2016

The courses in this specialization are - in my opinion, excessively short.

von ram s

Mar 20, 2016

I want to give 3.5 stars but there is only option for 3 or 4.

Given that it's geared more towards wanna be managers in this field. I would have expected lot of case studies, and links to additional material for individual reading plus a mini write up or a project at the end.

For MOOCs to compete with a degree program or an onsite instruction few of the things I think that are needed are

Interviews with industry practitioners which is a big plus.

interviews/postings from people with similar background as the 90% of the MOOC students of this program who made it... this motivates the students from dropping from the middle of the course/specilization programs

links to additional articles that the students can read at leisure

writeup/project as assignments that the students can pursue and publish (not necessarily for grade but as a mind jogger)

One more thing that I think should help (not specific to this course) is that the student with the best grade should be offered one free course and think this will motivate the students to complete the courses.

von Víctor E G P

Dec 28, 2017

Good to know

von Thomas N

Jan 03, 2017

needed more depth

von REKIL P

Feb 14, 2018

Good for ABSOLUTE beginners

von Sergio A M

Sep 01, 2017

Very basic.

von Marcellus A

Nov 01, 2016

Good introductory course but a bit too superficial.

von Siddharth M

Feb 26, 2017

The first week gave me a good insight into the data science process. I now understand the situations in which Data Science can best be applied. However, I still do not fully understand the statistics aspect. It would help me if the instructors would provide examples in detail of supervised vs unsupervised learning. I seem to understand the theory behind it but I am not sure how valuable it will be for me.

von Nandeep N

Jun 22, 2017

could have packed more punch into the course

von Peter P

Mar 19, 2016

Great course for somebody who does not know anything about data science. When doing this specialisation there should be credit for those that did the other data science specialisation

von Brian N

Jan 09, 2017

A good introduction to data science.

von Deepak R

Jan 01, 2017

Good overview... but expected more content..

von Michael G

Jun 13, 2018

Some topics are too high-level. But a great team delivering the content (as always)!