Chevron Left
Zurück zu A Crash Course in Data Science

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für A Crash Course in Data Science von Johns Hopkins University

4.5
Sterne
5,369 Bewertungen
1,020 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

By now you have definitely heard about data science and big data. In this one-week class, we will provide a crash course in what these terms mean and how they play a role in successful organizations. This class is for anyone who wants to learn what all the data science action is about, including those who will eventually need to manage data scientists. The goal is to get you up to speed as quickly as possible on data science without all the fluff. We've designed this course to be as convenient as possible without sacrificing any of the essentials. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the field of data science. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. How to describe the role data science plays in various contexts 2. How statistics, machine learning, and software engineering play a role in data science 3. How to describe the structure of a data science project 4. Know the key terms and tools used by data scientists 5. How to identify a successful and an unsuccessful data science project 3. The role of a data science manager Course cover image by r2hox. Creative Commons BY-SA: https://flic.kr/p/gdMuhT...
Highlights
Basic course
(76 Bewertungen)
Well taught
(48 Bewertungen)

Top-Bewertungen

SJ

Sep 10, 2017

This is a great starter course for data science. My learning assessment is usually how well I can teach it to someone else. I know I have a better understanding now, than I did when I started.

JM

Jan 02, 2018

It is a very good course even if you are familiar with some aspects of data science work. If I have to make a suggestion, I would remark the importance of design skills during a data product,

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 990 Bewertungen für A Crash Course in Data Science

von Rafael H R

Apr 04, 2019

A light overview about Data Science that can be really useful as a first time on this topic.

von Sven M

Sep 18, 2016

Executive Summary: Do not spend time on this course if you have minimal common sense and have read at least one article on Data Science.

I finished the 11 week course "Machine Learning - Stanford University - by Andrew Ng" 2 months ago, which was such a great course! It kept me busy for about 20 days (at about 4-6 hours per day) and I learned so much!

This course "A Crash Course in Data Science - Johns Hopkins University" , Part of a 5-course series, the Executive Data Science Specialization, provided just some superficial obvious information, took me only 3 hours to complete and even this time I would could wasted time.

Finally coursera now starts to make courses smaller and smaller and them adding multiple of them up to "Specialization", so that at the end you have to pay much more to get a certain amount of information and course time. With this course they seem to have streched it to a new extreme. The price for the certificate for this superficial short mini course has reached the same price ($ 44) as what I payed for the extensive great Machine Learning course from Stanford University by Andrew Ng !

von Omar Z

Apr 08, 2019

Great starting point for any experienced professional with no data science background to understand this growing in-demand field, its purpose, the various components that comprise data science, in addition to overall objectives and outcomes of data science. Allows you to evaluate how much further one would like to dive into the field respective of your personal or professional objectives.

von Yassif M

Sep 14, 2017

Great to do if, you want to dive into data science or machine learning. It is a must do, if you have no idea of the rationale behind statistics and data science as well as the need for it.

von PRAVEEN K S

Jun 02, 2019

Very nice way to get introduced to the world of data science. Thanks a lot!

von ezechukwu

Mar 14, 2019

Nice and well taught .There is really alot to learn

von Chris G

May 08, 2016

This is a great course if you need a concise background in data science. The more you explore the resources and extra materials the more you will learn. The instructors are well versed in the field and certainly have their hands full constructing software and analysis for what is quite possibly the number one research medical hospital/college in the country, Johns Hopkins. Any certificate or credentials from this institution is indeed most valuable and highly recommended. The material can be a little dense since it is a "crash course", but if you retake your tests and use them as a review of the basic core components of each lesson, you will get what it takes to get a team off the ground working on a real time project with precise goals and applications. Use the variable speed on the videos to slow the lectures down when needed. A great introduction to the varying data sources you will use as a data scientist.

von Kshitij G

Feb 22, 2016

I think the course is apt to begin getting a feel of data science management and needs. I have realised during the course that it is a fairly complex discipline for a beginner with no exposure to statistics and the terminology.

Initially it might seem like over the top, but with some research and reading of suggested materials , one shall be able to get a hang of it in due time.

I also believe the instructors have had to work hard to make sure the upper level course can be delivered as close as possible to the level of a beginner.

My only suggestion is if they could add a list of sorts for statistical jargon , explained in layman terms, which would actually enable quicker absorbance.

von Stellios S

Sep 16, 2017

A quick, efficient and effective introduction to the notions of Data Science. I liked the fact that it fused traditional analysis techniques with modern tools, infrastructures and approaches without taking sides (ie inferential statistics and hypothesis testing versus machine learning and deep learning algorithms). This helped towards getting an all-around view of the scientific field. Note that some experience with statistics will be required to assimilate information so I'd suggest that (if you have never taken a similar course) you have done some prep-work or you are kind of familiarised with the field.

von Ian H

Nov 20, 2015

For an introductory course, this was really fantastic. It's really high-level, but it gives you a framework to understand the world you are entering into (or considering entering into). This is the first course in the Executive Data Science specialization which is built around topics like hiring a team of data scientists, and managing data science projects. So, this would be a great first class for that. But, it's also a great start for someone moving on to getting elbows deep in R Studio, Python, Hadoop, etc. I think. This is a really friendly introduction to the world of data science.

von Tony S

Sep 11, 2016

Really should be retitled to "An Executive Overview of Data Science." The course covered all the critical Data Science components that Executives or Senior Management should be aware of. Corporate america still does not understand, nor recognize the critical components of properly funding, supporting and committing to a Data Science effort or program. This course outlines the needed core components for a successful Data Science journey that could impact the top and bottom line.

von tommy c

May 23, 2016

great for existence human and android based life-form simulation internal lifestyle...

The course improves life within the simulation 10 fold at least(when combined with the other specialization courses) ...

Perfect learning tool for those who have worked professionally in research field sin our simulation and yet now have a touch of "the turrings" or you know : CBI...

Special thanks to the designers of the course.

Top scores for coursera.org &John Hopkins ...

von John L

Oct 22, 2019

The course was very enlightening. Very well structured and examples very straight-forward and easy to understand. The only thing I would suggest, and I suspect this is more of a Coursera thing rather than from the course itself, is that when you are following along with the transcript in a lecture, the video window becomes unworkably small. If there was a better split between text and window, that would help immensely.

von Jose A R N

Sep 30, 2016

My name is Jose Antonio from Brazil. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career.

Please, take a look at my LinkedIn profile: https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11

I did this course to get new knowledge about Big Data and better understand the technology and your practical applications.

The course was excellent and the classes well taught by teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Instructors.

Regards

von Teresa B

Mar 23, 2016

Great, clear overview of the standards, principles, terms, and applications for data science - geared toward executives, managers, and professionals working with or directing colleagues and team members specializing in data science. A great snapshot for organizational leaders seeking to get a better grasp on how to make critical decisions about data science investments, resource allocations, applications, etc.

von Patricia R

Jan 27, 2016

A really great overview of what is Data Science and how it fits in with decision making. It answered a lot of basic questions and got me curious to pursue other courses on data science. The professors were very knowledgeable and gave great examples. The only thing I would recommend to the professors is to make the lectures a little more dynamic. A voice over of static slides can be a little hard to follow.

von Conrad K

Apr 09, 2018

The course was easy to get into. Little prior knowledge is required. I like that the teachers refer to external articles and papers, which allows to dig deeper into the field. Overall, I feel like I better understand the goals and challenges of data science. I expect from the next courses to be a bit more concrete and practical so that I can understand how to apply data science in context.

von Triste R S

Aug 15, 2016

This course is the 2nd certificate course I've completed through Johns Hopkins and Coursera, and the content is always excellent. I suggest pausing the videos and take notes to grasp everything, and for reference if you're going to take other courses along this path. I am also going to complete the other Data Science certification offered by JHU

von RAJANIPOTTURI

Sep 28, 2018

This course given great insights various Data science tasks and Data science organization overview. I strongly recommend this course for all execution who is looking for kick start with DS. Watch this course with great passion and lot of interest as it may introduce you to topics from various practices i.e. Engineering & Statistical methods.

von Celine L C

Jun 17, 2017

Very accessible material for new to data science manager. I liked the structure of the class, the examples used to explain data science vs traditional statistical analysis. it does deserve the name of crash course as its is very complete and gives an overview of the definition. content, measurements, tool of a data science project. Thanks !

von Gregorio A A P

Sep 18, 2017

Perfect thanks , only that we would thank all the Spanish speakers who please translate into Spanish all their prestigious courses of indistinguishable quality. again thank you and I hope to take this in consideration so they will contribute even more to improving the quality of education in Latin America and South America.

von Hemal S

Oct 30, 2019

An excellent course for someone just starting out their career in Data Science or are an aspiring data science enthusiasts. The technical terms are easy to understand and presented in such a way that it provides good understanding of Data Science and it is applied in various industries to for business benefit

von Kathy C U

May 31, 2017

I took the course in college which is Introduction to Access Database. And, this Data Science Introduction Course gives me the idea that most company are already depending in computer and widely arranged database and servers. This course tells us what is the role of the technology in our industry today.

von Francesco I

Jun 02, 2017

Very well done introductory course to Data Science. I really appreciated the explanatory lessons and the study material. I found the course very rewarding and entertaining. I learned new concepts and I warmly recommend this course to everyone interested in gaining more experience in this field

von madhav

Dec 08, 2015

As the name suggests, this is a Great kick start to understand what is data science. This course have given me a an insight into what is this big name Data Science is all about. As a Statistics graduate and a Software Implementer, I feel that my domain has taken a Thanks Brian, Jeff and Roger.