Chevron Left
Zurück zu Data Science Capstone

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Data Science Capstone von Johns Hopkins University

4.5
Sterne
1,003 Bewertungen
265 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The capstone project class will allow students to create a usable/public data product that can be used to show your skills to potential employers. Projects will be drawn from real-world problems and will be conducted with industry, government, and academic partners....

Top-Bewertungen

NT

Mar 05, 2018

Capstone did provide a true test of Data Analytics skills. Its like a being left alone in a jungle to survive for a month. Either you succumb to nature or come out alive with a smile and confidence.

SS

Mar 29, 2017

Wow i finally managed to finish the specialization!! definitely learned a lot and also found out difficulties in building predictors by trying to balancing speed, accuracy and memory constraints!!!

Filtern nach:

201 - 225 von 255 Bewertungen für Data Science Capstone

von Alex s

Apr 12, 2020

The project is really interesting by itself, but there is a lack of preparation and instructions to build it, basically you are on your own.

von Robert W S

Mar 19, 2017

Although this project is very open-ended with little guidance, it definitely requires the "full-stack" of data science to complete.

von Humberto R

Apr 09, 2018

Very instructive, since it presents you with a real world problem, that you need to solve by yourself, in all of its complexity.

von Jeremi S

Dec 07, 2018

Challenging. The course could possibly offer a 'here's how it could be done' ideal example after final submission and pass.

von xuanru s

Jun 20, 2017

Very challenge work. new topic. The only issue is if there is any videos that could guide us would be better.

von Zaman F

Aug 24, 2017

Most of the courses were very well tought and contained useful material.

Thanks to all three instructors

von Kalyan S M

Nov 06, 2016

Really great course to apply all the techniques learned earlier in the specialization.

von Marcus S

Sep 20, 2016

A good & fun idea to implement. Would have prefered implementing my own idea though.

von Rudolf E

Jun 20, 2017

Great course, great content, didn't like the final capstone project though.

von Emi H

Jun 22, 2017

Good project. Got me to think outside the box and really challenge myself.

von HIN-WENG W

Aug 27, 2017

Challenging real life project that apply the academic knowledge

von Greig R

Mar 16, 2018

A tricky end to the specialisation - but quite a lot of fun.

von Chonlatit P

Jun 27, 2019

Project is good for practice what you've learnt

von Murray S

Oct 09, 2016

Good test of what we learned in the courses.

von Ajay K P

Mar 30, 2018

I really had fun working on this project.

von Artem V

Sep 14, 2017

Nice balance of focused and open-ended

von Gary B

Sep 15, 2017

tough capstone and took a lot of time

von Yew C C

Jul 20, 2016

Good and interesting project.

von Tiberiu D O

Sep 22, 2017

Interesting assignment!

von Sabawoon S

Nov 25, 2017

Excellent course.

von Filipe R

Oct 07, 2018

Great project.

von Kevin M

Jan 15, 2018

Very hard!

von Richard I C

Jul 19, 2016

As a capstone to a series of courses that covered data science and R, I found this one to be a bit lacking. There was no involvement from the professors at JHU or the folks at SwiftKey. As was mentioned in another review, the course feels abandoned. All you get a few short (two minutes or so) videos that give you little in the way of instruction or direction. Basically, they just say, "Go do this. Good luck!"

There were also no Mentors or TAs to guide students or answer questions. It was the students helping each other through the forums. Sometimes it was helpful and everyone involved learned something. Other times, it was the blind trying to lead the visually-impaired.

On a positive note, you will use all of the skills from the previous courses: writing R functions, performing exploratory analysis and publishing it via RPubs. Your final product will be displayed for everyone via ShinyApps and a presentation using R Presentation (also published via RPubs).

On a(nother) negative note, the topic of Natural Language Processing is not an easy one to just walk into and feel confident in providing a working next-word prediction algorithm in about eight (8) weeks. You're reading academic journal articles, watching multiple videos from another Coursera course (which actually focuses on the topic of NLP, and takes place over several courses and several months!).

Supposedly, there is work going on to update the course, so hopefully future students will get a better experience. I did take a bit away from this course, especially since I made more than one attempt to complete it. However, it was definitely a shock to find myself missing those things that one typically finds in a learning environment -- descriptive background, assistance to problems, etc. -- and seeing that I was for all intents and purposes on my own. Even in the professional world of data analysis, I have never experienced the lack of support that I found in this course.

With that, I am giving it three (3) stars. As I said, I did learn a bit, but it was a bit of a struggle that required multiple attempts to complete. This would have been better off as a stand alone topic (which it already is by another Coursera affiliated school), or having a capstone course that builds on a topic more in the wheelhouse of the JHU professors: a capstone project focusing on bioinformatics or biostatistics would have been amazing in comparison to this.

von David M

Jul 21, 2016

This was essentially a self-study project with some social peers. The topic, approach, and standards were different from all of the other units in the Data Science specialization. I found the other units more enjoyable.

Learning the essentials of NLP quickly is necessary to begin the project. I ordered a textbook, for example, and I was fortunate that it arrived quickly. If NLP is a prerequisite for this capstone project - whether in the form of a prior class or textbook knowledge - this should be indicated clearly on the course description page.

Nevertheless, the main learning that I achieved with this course was in the area of software engineering - specifically, how to take advantage of vectorization in R to achieve reasonable computing performance. While this is a valuable skill, it doesn't seem the proper focus of a capstone course in a sequence focused primarily on other topics.

As noted elsewhere in these comments, there was a complete absence of any traditional teaching support. Learning outcomes suffered as result. The missing resources included instructors, mentors, partners, and learning materials.

The course site notes an expected time requirement of a few hours per week. My commitment was 20 hours per week, under some pressure. Numerous students take this "course" multiple time, in order to arrange for reasonable software development time.

Producing working software was fun, as it always is. The course learner community was supportive, which is fortunately typical for Coursera.

All in all, this project was *not* an effective capstone for the Data Science specialization. The project was interesting in its way, but it felt 'parachuted in' to this learning sequence.

von Guilherme B D J

Mar 24, 2017

The main reason for my rating is because the course is so "loose" on what your are supposed to achieve incrementally every week that it can lead to some hard situations.

Just to give my example: the first week was piece of cake and I didn't feel like it really contribute for the following weeks. Then, I was struggling with the suggested library (tm) until I got support through the discussion forums and someone suggested me to use quanteda.

Then thinks started to run smoothly, or so I thought. When implementing the language model (which, at first, I thought was supposed to be KBO), I got stuck for a long period. Not because my model was wrong (I was able to implement it and to check it against some hand-written and proved examples - which I should probably thank again), but because I was not able to make it run efficiently enough for the given constraints.

Being stuck in this stage for longer than I wanted, I had to sacrifice another important steps of data analysis pipeline in order to not jeopardize my final delivery by not meeting the final due date. I know that this is exactly what will happen in the "real" life, but I think that some better guidance could guarantee the students spent a more even amount of time in across all steps.

All things considered, I think the Capstone was really interesting and likely took more than the 4-9 hours per week, but most of this is probably because of the problems I faced.

I believe that with a better guidance on the paths to follow or maybe some suggested libraries to use, a lot of "noise" (useless difficulty) could be removed and this course would definitely get more starts.