Chevron Left
Zurück zu Data Science Capstone

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Data Science Capstone von Johns Hopkins University

4.5
Sterne
1,061 Bewertungen
276 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The capstone project class will allow students to create a usable/public data product that can be used to show your skills to potential employers. Projects will be drawn from real-world problems and will be conducted with industry, government, and academic partners....

Top-Bewertungen

NT

Mar 05, 2018

Capstone did provide a true test of Data Analytics skills. Its like a being left alone in a jungle to survive for a month. Either you succumb to nature or come out alive with a smile and confidence.

SS

Mar 29, 2017

Wow i finally managed to finish the specialization!! definitely learned a lot and also found out difficulties in building predictors by trying to balancing speed, accuracy and memory constraints!!!

Filtern nach:

251 - 267 von 267 Bewertungen für Data Science Capstone

von Leo C

Jul 23, 2020

Sadly disappointed. I can see how this worked before, when most people were active on the forums, but now it's extremely frustrating. Not because it's hard, I do not mind that, but because you really have to DIG through the forums to find vital information.

For instance, there are two quizes, you need 80 % or more to pass. However, the app you are simulating only get 20-30 % on such quizes, and you're not REALLY supposed to get that high. That's in the forums, but not on the quiz itself.

Also, very few things you've learned in the ML part of the specialization is actually used, and they specifically points you to a MOOC by another university. That's not very comforting.

The good part though is that the actual final exam does not really need good predictions to work, just an app that functions as you say it does. My tip? Look at the NLP, google a bit and learn the basics, then make an app that's as simple as possible - Then learn NLP with some guidance.

von Michael S

Jul 02, 2016

Of all the offerings in the specialization, this one felt like it was thrown together in less than hour. I expected to have to learn quite a bit of material on my own, but even the references to additional materials were very thin.

I could have saved many days if more guidance on the project workflow would have been given. The pre-processing of the data was quite extensive (9 steps before generating the ngram tables I used in my model) and was the key to getting decent results IMHO, but one had to step on a quite a few landmines to figure this out.

The problem was an interesting one and I ended up reworking it after passing with 95% (the only class in the specialization I didn't get 100% on) because I didn't have time to implement much of what I had to figure out by 'hard-knocks'

von Marco S C

May 26, 2016

Unfortunately this project is not fully aligned with all the previous program, which is a shame. Ideally, the project was more related to quantitative data, or have compulsory module NPL. It was certainly a very important learning, but very stressful to have to grasp NPL and do the project in a short time.

Learning NPL in short time in a DIY way without any help it was very negative and stressful.

von Sandro R

Jun 28, 2019

As other reviewers said, the Capstone is too unconnected to the rest of the specialization. In the end, there is no metric as to what makes your model successful, it's just the Slides and the appearance of the Shiny app that counts towards the total mark. Also, the topic (Natural Language Processing) is just too unconnected to anything seen in the other courses. It was fun, but felt a bit off.

von Tavin C

Aug 17, 2017

The series leading up to the capstone was excellent but the capstone itself was a disappointment. Very little instruction was provided and the grading criteria were flawed. Also, most of what we learned in the first 9 courses about statistics and machine learning turned out to be irrelevant to the capstone project.

von Clara B

Sep 21, 2016

The course has nearly nothing to do with the previous themes. I already have had enough knowledge, but as there is no support by the team it seems to be rather time consuming for others.

von WONG L C

Jun 08, 2016

I hope it will involve statistics analysis in the capstone project. It is kind of bias to apply NLP knowledge and develop data product in the capstone project.

von Sevdalena L

Dec 10, 2016

Not enough information on how to approach the final project. The project itself is very time consuming with lots of self learning and unclear specifications.

von Lee M S

Apr 23, 2016

The capstone project doesn't fully utilise d knowledge from earlier modules such as Machine Learning, statistical analysis, regression models n etc.

von CW

Jul 17, 2017

No physical way to complete the class within one session. Little is learned, no instruction is given, just build a thing that sort of works.

von Dmitri P

Mar 30, 2016

The course is outdated and abandoned by the teachers.

SwiftKey engineers are nowhere to be seen.

There is no guidance.

von Yohan A H

Dec 17, 2019

Thanks for the guide but I did the hole course without instructions, there were new thing that could be tougth.

von unijoy

Mar 23, 2016

need more details

von Joerg L

Jun 04, 2016

I currently taking this capstone and I must unfortunately say that this is the most worst course in the whole specialization. Of course the topic NLP and word prediction is interesting, but the problem is, that this is a dead course. A couple of students in the forum strugeling with details, but there is NO Mentor, no Professor or other course staff and no SwiftKey engineer as announced in the Project Overview.

So everything you have to figure out completely by yourself and this takes a lot of more time than the 4-9 hours. And also why should you pay for a course where you learn anyway only ba your own.

Pick any intersting topic you would like to work on and invest the time in this instead of paying for this Capstone without any support form Coursera, JHU or SwiftKey.

von Aleksey K

Mar 16, 2016

None of the previous classes will prepare you for this one. This is not really a class, but rather a project on a topic NEVER covered in any of the previous classes in this specialization.

von Stephen E

Jun 27, 2016

A poor end to a poor Coursera specializations.

von Runhao Z

Nov 28, 2017

bad ending