Chevron Left
Zurück zu Datenstrukturen

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Datenstrukturen von University of California San Diego

4.6
Sterne
4,543 Bewertungen
778 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

A good algorithm usually comes together with a set of good data structures that allow the algorithm to manipulate the data efficiently. In this online course, we consider the common data structures that are used in various computational problems. You will learn how these data structures are implemented in different programming languages and will practice implementing them in our programming assignments. This will help you to understand what is going on inside a particular built-in implementation of a data structure and what to expect from it. You will also learn typical use cases for these data structures. A few examples of questions that we are going to cover in this class are the following: 1. What is a good strategy of resizing a dynamic array? 2. How priority queues are implemented in C++, Java, and Python? 3. How to implement a hash table so that the amortized running time of all operations is O(1) on average? 4. What are good strategies to keep a binary tree balanced? You will also learn how services like Dropbox manage to upload some large files instantly and to save a lot of storage space!...

Top-Bewertungen

PS
9. Juli 2020

I think the course content and assignments were great. A suggestion though, it will be more helpful if there are more and varied corner cases that would save time spent in thinking and making cases.

KL
4. Sep. 2020

one of the best course i have ever taken on any platform.\n\ni love to learn on coursera platform.\n\ncoursera makes one to think fro solution.\n\nafter completion of course one feel satisfied.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 765 Bewertungen für Datenstrukturen

von Cameron H

11. März 2019

Excellent course. Great coverage of data structures. Good practice questions and explanatory videos.

von Sojitra k d

1. Aug. 2020

i am very glad for this course and very inspired thank you for this review

von Himanshu P

19. Juni 2020

one of the best course

von Stephen T

15. Mai 2016

The course has excellent homework to help you study, but the course itself sometimes doesn't cover more generally applied knowledge such as red-black BST. Also, the professors' teaching style may be confusing sometimes and require extra work to understand, especially when they didn't have a pen in hand and were just talking quickly to the air. I do hope the following series will eventually tackle these issues, and I'll be glad to give the whole series 5 stars.

von Sumit K

7. Sep. 2019

Should explain more and the content became boring sometime.

von Bohdan S

13. Jan. 2021

Although course content is interesting and helpful, but the home assignments are out of touch with reality. The problems descriptions are rather poor than informative. The problems are full of hidden edge cases that are tricky to find. The grader is a big joke, really just a black box that will help you not and will keep saying something like “wrong answer” with no provided input data. The same code may pass for python submission, but fail with C++ submission giving absolutely ridiculous errors.

For me this course started as an interesting journey into the world of data structures (although most of the content weren't new to me), but ended up a one big struggle just because of the poorly organized home assignments process. I hope course authors will do something about it.

von Nakul C

7. Jan. 2020

Its not an Good Course. No indepth details are provided. More focus is laid down on making videos short. There is no Explanation in this course, definitely not for beginner.

von Rishabh G

26. Dez. 2019

literally pathetic studied waste of money charged even canceled subscription. Please refund my One-month extra charge.

von Zsolt S

25. Juli 2016

All in all a great and challenging course. A big thank you to all the teachers! I especially liked the assignments as completing them forced me to think about all the little details and edge cases.

A few observations/constructive criticisms:

- While the first 3 weeks had almost everything explained rigorously, including complete, usable pseudo codes, the last 2 weeks had lots of holes in terms of details. I think it is down to the fact that it covered a lot, however, pseudo codes suddenly became very high level, to the point where a 5 liner translated to ~100 lines of real code. This in terms meant that learners had to do quite a bit of additional research about the nitty-gritty. Nevertheless I thoroughly enjoyed this extra research, just be mindful about the extra time required.

- There are languages with first class support, namely C++, Java and Python3, which means there are starter files supplied. If you choose a different, supported language then be prepared that you have to implement everything from scratch, which again mean extra time, although I would argue that you will learn more, especially in the last 2 weeks.

- Forums seemed to be more active in the past, especially with regards to teacher contribution. Be prepared to be self-reliant and able to come up with answers to your own questions.

von Jimmy B

17. Sep. 2016

I found the assignments challenging in the absolute best sense of the term, and therefore incredibly rewarding as well! Whenever I've gotten stuck, the answer was always in the course material somewhere, even if I didn't see it there at first. The discussion forums were extremely helpful, and I was astounded to see that that instructors were still actively monitoring the discussion forums and responding to student questions. I'm obviously not an expert in this field, but I've been an educator before, and my own impression of the assignments was that they were extremely well designed: it was impossible to pass them without knowing what you were doing, the tools to approach them were always found in the lectures, and the challenge problems pushed your knowledge even farther. I would recommend the specialization to everyone. Additionally, I noticed that the content aligns well with other DS&A syllabi I have seen in brick-and-mortar institutions, especially the first 3 or 4 courses. It's also a very nice luxury to be able to submit in Python. I have certainly learned a great deal.

von Sergey L

14. Mai 2016

I always wanted to improve the algorithms and data structures field. The books wasn't so efficient. Especially they weren't so practical. These courses are the first courses where I really got a lot of knowledge. Especially because of assignments. All lectors are very good in explanation of the material and tell many additional useful things. These courses are the really good base, after which you can open the books related to algorithms and read more details if you needed.

I am definitely going to complete the whole specialization!

The only thing which was not convenient for me is that both courses Algorithmic Toolbox and Data Structures are started at the same time. It was difficult to find out the time for both courses and spend enough time to solve all assignments instead of only enough for passing.

Anyway, now I am started the second iteration of the course and I am going to solve all assignments which I skipped.

Big thanks to Daniel, Alex, Pavel, Neil and Mike!

Regards,

Sergey

von Theodore G

6. Nov. 2016

Congratulations for this second course of the "Data Structures and Algorithms Specialization". This was again well-designed, informative, and most importantly an extremely educative course. Yes, it is demanding and some times requires significant effort and time for someone to pass the programming assignments. But there is "no free lunch"! Making easy to pass the tests or providing all the test cases may help more people to earn this certification, but the added value of a course that can really learn you how to design better algorithms will be missing. On the downside, I would ask from the instructors to further elaborate on some week lectures (modules), especially if the topic is going to be discussed in the corresponding programming assignments. The problem with the splay trees is probably characteristic. Overall, well done! Many thanks for the quality of the course you provide! Keep up the good work!

von Sylvain L

10. Apr. 2016

A really great course that deliver exactly its promises : a college-grade algorithmic course.

If you are looking to know all about classical data structures (arrays, lists, trees, heaps, ...) used in every program, this is the course for you. And if you are not interested in those topics ... well, you should !

Or course, this is a challenging course by it abstract nature. But with some work, the support of the instructors and of your peers, you will overcome the difficulties. After that with your newly gained knowledge, you will be able to choose the right data structure for your needs or implement it efficiently in the language of your choice.

Worth mentioning the course is language-agnostic -- and the assignment may be submitted in C, C++, Java or Python.

von Pablo E M M

6. Sep. 2017

this is my second course that I have taken. I learned many things this course is more difficult than algorithmic toolbox but when you work hard you can finish all units

in the beginning i thought that i would not be able to continue because i dont have a lot of knowledge in c+, java or python, but i decided to learn c+ sonce the first course. these coursed were very difficult but i could finish then and this is all because of the professors whom were excellent and the challenging homework.

Thanks to everyone that has dedicated there time and resources to mke this wonderful course, I appreciate it a lot

von Sanskar

14. Dez. 2018

I really enjoyed learning stacks, queues, hash, heap, trees etc in this course. the videos and slides are very practical and informative with large no. of figures which really helped me in understanding how a particular algorithm is working and how it is efficient. every quiz contains very good conceptual questions related to a particular topic. some of them are tricky . each question has its own flavor and it really helped me to clear my doubts. Completing an assignment is really a challenge and i felt good each time when i passed a particular assignment.

von Lucas L

29. Dez. 2020

I really liked the course. I wanted to take a course on data structures for a long time, and this course was everything that I expected and more. All data structures are explained in detail, as are their running times. The instructors presented the proofs for all theorems and lemmas. Furthermore, the programming assignments were fun and quite challenging sometimes. Some quizzes were also quite challenging. But it all contributed to the learning experience. Looking forward, I feel very confident to use these data structures in my programs now.

von Vlad N

7. Mai 2018

Really good course to understand implementation details and analysis of the most used data structures, both basic and advanced. The explanations are awesome accompanied by challenging problems to solidify your knowledge. I'd definitely recommend this course to anybody who's looking to improve their problem-solving skills, getting ready for coding interview or just want clear explanations of some of the core data structures concepts in computer science. I really enjoyed this course, thank you everybody for putting it all together!

von Gaurav V

13. Feb. 2020

I thought having done Algorithmic Design with much difficulty Data Structures would be a bit easier. To my surprise this one proved to be a tough one.

But having gone through the grind, I feel happy and satisfied to have done this course and feel enthusiastic about pursuing the specialization further. This is far more effective way of learning and understand the concepts covered than going through books and/or videos alone.

The assignments are the real things in these courses. That's where the real learning happens.

von Souvik R

5. Okt. 2017

This course gives you real world examples of the data structures that you are going to learn and implement and and this really helps in answering the basic question "Why am I doing for what am I doing?". The programming questions are challenging and solving it actually helps you understand every aspect of the data structure that you are applying to the question.

Overall this course has improved my understanding of data structures and also where to apply it.Wonderful work by the instructors!

von Dennis S

10. Juni 2016

Recently the instructors updated the course and implemented a solution to all my past complains.

In my opinion the team is really taking the quality serious.

However I just want to mention, that there are regular session for each course so that everybody can avoid having two overlapping courses in this specialization at the same time.

I did not know that and worked on two courses at the same time, until the instructor informed me about the short interval between sessions of a given course.

von Ananth D

2. Mai 2020

This course covers all possible data structures, what was need of those data structures, how could they be implemented and what is time complexity of such implementation. Also, the programming assignment problems were very challenging, some even taking 2 to 3 days of time to solve. I wish after the course is completed Professors could provide solutions to all problems, since it is difficult to find answers to every assignment problem.

von Taranpreet s

22. Juli 2020

All topics are explained with clarity, provides more conceptual depth than the first one. Quizes are useless, as you will pass them by hit and trail in 2-3 attempts. Programming assignments are where the actual learning happens. . One minor change that can be helpful is giving fractional score. For instance if you are not able to pass some problem due to memory constraints, some score should be given so that one can move forward.

von André B

14. Okt. 2021

Although being a hard course, specially during Hashing and Binary Search Tree, I have found it to be a challenge to really try to understand the concepts behind the data structures without looking for answers in the internet. The assignments are hard and may take days to really understand your mistakes, but in my opinion they represent how hard it would be to encounter these problems in real life.

von Ivan K

9. Juli 2017

Thanks for the great course! Giving it a five stars. Although, the programming assignment for the last week could be better. Instead of implementing the same in-order tree-traversing three times with minor variations (first time as requested, second time to test if a given tree is a BST, and a "hard BST" variance), would be better to include tasks on implementing balancing and splaying a tree.

von Akash P

28. Juni 2020

The course is detailed, challenging and practical. Unlike a lot of other MOOCs which dilute the rigor of the course way below university standards, this course has coding assignments, which if done honestly, will definitely help anyone REALLY understand the intricacies behind all the data structures and algorithms that we are taught. I recommend this course to a lot of my friends too!