Chevron Left
Zurück zu Datenstrukturen

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Datenstrukturen von University of California San Diego

4.6
Sterne
4,064 Bewertungen
685 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

A good algorithm usually comes together with a set of good data structures that allow the algorithm to manipulate the data efficiently. In this course, we consider the common data structures that are used in various computational problems. You will learn how these data structures are implemented in different programming languages and will practice implementing them in our programming assignments. This will help you to understand what is going on inside a particular built-in implementation of a data structure and what to expect from it. You will also learn typical use cases for these data structures. A few examples of questions that we are going to cover in this class are the following: 1. What is a good strategy of resizing a dynamic array? 2. How priority queues are implemented in C++, Java, and Python? 3. How to implement a hash table so that the amortized running time of all operations is O(1) on average? 4. What are good strategies to keep a binary tree balanced? You will also learn how services like Dropbox manage to upload some large files instantly and to save a lot of storage space!...

Top-Bewertungen

DG
23. Mai 2016

I like this course very much! Rope is the cleverest task I have ever done! Of course, I hope in future I will work on even more difficult problems, but this is pretty good already for me as a student!

PS
9. Juli 2020

I think the course content and assignments were great. A suggestion though, it will be more helpful if there are more and varied corner cases that would save time spent in thinking and making cases.

Filtern nach:

476 - 500 von 667 Bewertungen für Datenstrukturen

von Christopher W

8. März 2020

A really good course. I'd have to say the beginning lectures went pretty darn fast. If I hadn't had previous exposure to data structures, I'm sure I would have felt totally buried. As it is it served as a great refresher for the basics, and then the more advanced concepts later were well-presented and thoroughly analyzed. I have a good feel for the use and running times of the operations discussed. I felt bad that I didn't do all the programming exercises when only like 2 or 3 were needed to pass. They were pretty challenging, and by the time I had done enough to pass I was like, OK moving on....maybe I'll circle back to the ones I didn't get to.

von Giorgio B

23. Sep. 2020

Interesting topics, great assignments except for last one. Was too hard yes (I like this), but the test response is not always clear. If there is an overflow I should read "overflow" but sometimes, as your manual says, overflow could show "wrong answer". And this is not fair, as when the problem is hard we need to understand if the answer is wrong or it causes overflow. You could say this enforces students to think and think and think until they solve it. I've used 2 week for the entire course and 2 weeks for the last one exercise.... this is a bit stressful.

von Adrian H

27. Sep. 2016

The final module with the Splay tree is way too difficult when compared to the rest of the material in the course. This course would be better structured with three assignments as follows: 1) tree order problem, 2) a simpler tree assignment that only deals with a basic binary search tree, 3) the set range sum problem implementing the splay tree, as an advanced problem. Aside from the difficulty of the last module, this is a great course. It's very comprehensive and you'll take away lots of useful information on course completion.

von Laura

9. Nov. 2020

This course was well planned and the lectures were very good. I feel like I learned a lot from the course. Most of the programming assignments were good and helpful for learning, but I found 1 of the hash table assignments and 2 of the binary search trees assignments to be very difficult and time consuming. I would prefer the assignments to be doable in a reasonable amount of time. Maybe the really difficult assignments could be marked as optional. I also think the time estimates for doing the assignments are way too low.

von Aman A

10. Apr. 2020

A great interest generating course that gives us both an insight as well as an opportunity to explore the vast field of algorithms and data structures. I recommend to anyone that wants to start in this field as well as to those that are well-versed in this field as it will definitely teach you something new (if not new than a different perspective to looking at the same problem will definitely be provided) :).

Kudos, cheers and all the luck to my fellow learners, our teachers and to the students yet to undertake this course,

von Miguel R

2. Sep. 2016

Excellent course in general, and I learned a lot of new data structures that one doesn't generally learn about in standard algorithms and data structures courses, like disjoint sets and splay trees.

Only complaint is that sometimes the problems are too complicated for how easy they are. By this I mean that the problem statement is very long and elaborate, when what they are really asking is something trivial that can be programmed in a few lines, but it takes a while to understand just what they are asking.

von Lee Z Y

15. Sep. 2017

Great course! I figured disjoint sets was pretty interesting - the rest of the material I get by with no issues, but boy: the BST advanced assignments (splay trees) in week 6 is by far the hardest assignments I tried in both Algorithmic Toolbox and Data Structures. It's a pretty big jump in difficulty (I don't think they explained splay trees in the lectures very well; it was pretty fast), but I was so ecstatic when I solved it that I didn't mind.

von Lingjian K

17. Jan. 2017

This course is very hard for non-STEM major student, even non CS-major student. Some concepts are very abstract to explain. The course team generally did a good job at explaining concept, but it would be better if they can offer more examples, animations, illustrations, sample code and explanations, etc. to help students understand these concepts. A rewarding course overall. Best if you are going to have a code interview.

von Rafael M

4. Aug. 2017

This course was considerably harder than the first one. Content is top quality but slides lack detail and lectures some times don't do a good job explaining things well enough given the difficulty of some of the things they ask in the exercises. Still, I learned a lot of programming doing the exercises and I would still recommend it. If you're new to algorithms you will have to supplement using online resources + books.

von Umer M

1. Sep. 2016

The last two weeks felt rushed. The Binary Search Tree/AVL Tree module doesn't have a quiz or an assignment and it's easy to move on without fully understanding both data structures. This allows for wasting time on the last assignment which relies on understanding AVL trees. I recommend reading the external resources for each lesson and making sure you have a grasp of the data structure before moving to the next module.

von SUJITH V

10. Juli 2018

This is a great course which gives you the basic understanding required in handling data structures along with some state of the art techniques and applications for those structures. Had a little difficulty in following binary search trees because of the pace of the course and lacking detailed explanation at places. But overall it is a really good course to get up to speed on some of the most used Data Structures.

von K D S D K

21. Juni 2020

The course is overall really good. I learned a lot about data structures and got experience applying them for various problems. The majority of the lecturers were also good and they explained the topics in a clear and precise manner. However, the lecturer for week 5 and week 6 didn't explain the topics that he covered very clearly in my opinion. Overall I had a really good experience during the course.

von Peter C

1. Sep. 2017

Really good course. I learned a lot and enjoyed the instruction style as well as the way the exercises and assignments were graded.

I would've given the course 5 stars were it not for the final assignment which was made very difficult not so much by the content but by the code sample we were meant to extend... It was full of global state and mutation, very hard to follow and frustrating to work with.

von Shaikh S A S

8. Mai 2017

This is a very good course. The only thing I had problems with was the way the tests were set up - they were giving me no information about why my code was failing. I understand the reasoning behind not releasing test cases in failing tests, but like me - a lot of people keep submitting and failing, and in the end getting discouraged . Suggesting modification of test case outputs in the future.

von Christopher R

27. Juli 2017

I loved that I had a lot of really tough but relevant problems to code and solve. I only wish the presenters were more visual. With so many splitting, inserting, merging and deleting, I was hoping for some animation on the slides in the video rather than the presenters simply waving their hands. The books for supplemental reading were really helpful along with watching the videos. a few times

von mugnaio

8. Nov. 2016

First weeks are awesome, it is a great course if you want understand very well some structures like heaps or union/find. I just think the last week is too fast and concise, I would like some additional work about trees and for many users could be a problem, otherwise will be a 5 stars without any doubt, though for me this course worked very well.

von Luis M V F

18. Feb. 2020

This course is challenging, and it is very informative. It would be great if it has smaller problems in which one can implement the data structures discussed in the lectures. In general the course is well explained, but the guy who explains about hash tables needs to provide further explanations or resources.

von Martin T

10. Jan. 2017

The quality of the course is very high. However I give a slightly lower rating than for the Class 1 from the specialization. The assignments seemed little unbalanced this time - some were very easy while other were very hard (I passed one after loading a special package to manipulate data or recursion limit).

von Lewis B

3. Dez. 2019

Some of the exercise files were too time consuming to debug. In general, I would also prefer more rigour in the mathematics, but I am a maths student so probably have a less than common view on this matter. Overall though, this is a very good course, I found myself enjoying hashing and trees units the most.

von Marcello M

9. Juli 2020

While the learning material is excellent, on par on that of course 1, I think that coding assignments are really tough, maybe too much so. Even the very first assignment of every week, usually at warm-up level- has been very complicated. Something more gradual would have been nice.

von Moaaz

15. Juli 2019

The course is well structured and smooth. The content is rich and really covers the important stuff in data structures.

However, still, the problems come from the interface and the grading system, please Coursera you can do better than this in the discussion forum and the grader.

von David F

20. Feb. 2017

Another good course, though the last two weeks were a lot harder to follow than the prior ones. Not because the material was that much harder, but the lectures and homeworks were less clear (a lot of descriptions of how to do various operations without explaining why).

von Chirantan s

14. Juni 2019

This course is very good for those who are trying to learn Data structure. well you have to have some basic knowledge of the programming languages like python, c++, java for the programming assignments.

Very good course for intermediate level. Thank you so much!

von Rasoul A

15. Aug. 2019

It is a very useful course .

I had some problems with implementing the concepts as codes , I think the assignments have to be more easy to code without losing the main idea of them.

I am so happy and thankful for every teacher , they were all amazing :)

von Sergiy Z

29. Sep. 2016

First 3 weeks were great (as in first course of specialization), but material in last two weeks was very hard to understand. Feels some mess in explanations compared to other part of the course. Maybe its because of difficulty of the last weeks topics.