Chevron Left
Zurück zu Data Wrangling, Analysis and AB Testing with SQL

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Data Wrangling, Analysis and AB Testing with SQL von University of California, Davis

3.6
Sterne
160 Bewertungen
64 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course allows you to apply the SQL skills taught in “SQL for Data Science” to four increasingly complex and authentic data science inquiry case studies. We'll learn how to convert timestamps of all types to common formats and perform date/time calculations. We'll select and perform the optimal JOIN for a data science inquiry and clean data within an analysis dataset by deduping, running quality checks, backfilling, and handling nulls. We'll learn how to segment and analyze data per segment using windowing functions and use case statements to execute conditional logic to address a data science inquiry. We'll also describe how to convert a query into a scheduled job and how to insert data into a date partition. Finally, given a predictive analysis need, we'll engineer a feature from raw data using the tools and skills we've built over the course. The real-world application of these skills will give you the framework for performing the analysis of an AB test....

Top-Bewertungen

SP

Jul 30, 2019

The instructor is very smart and her syllabus is very easy to follow. The real life examples are great and helps put ideas in perspective! I would definitely recommend this course and already have!

JB

Dec 30, 2019

A very thorough overview of SQL and how to best structure data tables and metrics for AB testing. I appreciate the high quality content of the UC Davis courses!

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 65 Bewertungen für Data Wrangling, Analysis and AB Testing with SQL

von Michael P

Aug 13, 2019

Lots of "oh wait, let me catch my own mistakes" on the videos. It appears to be sloppy, rather than a "teaching moment" for how one might debug the query.

von Marie-Eve J

Feb 11, 2020

There is a big gap between what was taught in the previous class and what is expected to be known in this class. Moreover, the instructor often poorly explains the codes that she is teaching in the solution videos. and don't seem to have been critically reviewed for improvements.

von Susan L

Nov 08, 2019

I liked the content of this course. It is very practical. The teaching style was frustrating for me, though. I understand that the instructor wanted us to "see" that everyone, even experts, make silly mistakes when they code (like forget ,'s or the mis-name variables), but watching mistakes being made in EVERY solutions video was too much. More time should have been taken explaining the coding concepts, rather than watching mistakes.

Also, there wasn't much discussion. I had trouble with some of the early assignments and (as instructed) asked for help in the discussion. But no one EVER responded! So I stopped asking for help. Basically, everyone just wrote "done" or something like that. To be fair, I'm not sure anyone actually looked at or read the discussion threads. You just had to write something in the discussion box to unlock the solutions video.

There also seemed to be some errors in the solution codes. Some of the solutions were fine, but others spawned errors when I cut and pasted them into Mode (the software we used). I still don't understand in one of the final assignments how the instructor used the table dsv1069.events_big (or something like that that wasn't listed as one of the files we had access to). When I tried using this file in my own code, I got an error. When I cut and pasted the entire solution code, I got an error. Maybe I was doing something wrong. I just don't know. But gaining this understanding was something I really wanted to learn …

von Anisha Z

Apr 03, 2020

I was quite disappointed with this course

1) They don't teach advanced SQL concepts adequately well (For example Windowing functions/Pivoting). I recommend self-learning from https://mode.com/sql-tutorial

2) Almost all of the content in the first 3 weeks was useless. Going through https://mode.com/sql-tutorial practice problems helped me learn the concepts better

3) The final assignment solution didn't match any of the the solutions I reviewed. I think the dataset has been altered, so it's impossible to get answers that match the final assignment

4) In the statistics refresher the instructor makes completely incorrect statements. For example, she says if two confidence intervals overlap then the differences are not significant. This is incorrect!

I did this so that I get the specialization certificate, but wouldn't recommend this course as a stand-alone

von Annie L

Feb 28, 2020

It was awful. The whole course was poorly structured or at least I couldn't understand the logic between the lessons.

Watching the videos was truly painful: I don't understand the virtues of watching someone type with all the typing noise, the countless mistakes and few proper explanation. We should have had access to slides, with the code on one side and comments on the other, such as in the previous course.

It is a unfortunate we have no access to the code in a format that could be copy-pasted neither in the instructions nor in the solutions.

On the whole, I don't really understand how such a course can be put online without more serious proof testing. Some of the instructions were out of date (using databases that were not provided) or sometimes the solutions gave results different from what we would get typing the exact same code. These problems are long reported by other learners on the forum, without being corrected.

And the final test? I found the instructions very poor: we had to do two graphs without being told what question they should answer. If I did right, these graphs did not add anything to the solution compared to a simple table. The whole test was just a replication of something seen the last week of the course ; what we were told the previous weeks was of no use at all in there. And the 'solution' does not provides the numbers needed to properly grade the works. Has no one re-read it?

von Alex B

Feb 04, 2020

this was the worst one I've taken on coursera. I couldn't really concentrate on what the instructor talks about in the video because I had to listen how she slams the keys while typing the code. Seriously? Couldn't that part have been muted out? This was a very bad experience. I'm going to have to take a different course on SQL AB testing

von Tianmin

Nov 26, 2019

The solution data in the video sometimes do not match with the tasks provided

von Sanija K

Jan 05, 2020

Awful explanation. No structure.

von Shriti P

Jul 30, 2019

The instructor is very smart and her syllabus is very easy to follow. The real life examples are great and helps put ideas in perspective! I would definitely recommend this course and already have!

von Lucy D

May 03, 2020

Quite frustrated. The content is interesting, relevant and well explained- however, if you need a hint with the assignments there is no help at all. I have been waiting two weeks now for my assignment to be graded (having to pay another month of coursera while I wait...) and no one has reviewed it yet. It is all peer reviewed which meant that when I submitted an assignment that I had found difficult, I am still no more informed as to what I did well and what I got wrong and therefore learnt very little from it. Assignment questions are confusingly phrased and I spent two days trying to complete it before another student wrote on the message board an explanation of what was actually being asked that many people had been trying to find out. At one point I had to submit my assignment knowing it was probably incorrect and that I simply did not understand what was being asked- a query which could have been explained in twenty seconds by the instructor but instead I had to submit, fail the assignment (not surprisingly) and then try again with another guess at the requirement.

von Alexandre C

Dec 12, 2019

I find the teacher very interesting.

The cases were also interesting.

Harder key concepts like windowing functions or multiple subqueries should be included in courses and not only in exercices solution videos.

von Mehrshad E

Jan 08, 2020

Good course, not very productive instruction though!

von Ahmad B S

Apr 12, 2020

With respect to course provider and teaching staff, but this course if terrible in 2 ways: 1. teaching is not for students, rather than looks for seniors in same role as instructor. 2. the assignment and quizzes are not clear at all, you have to spend too much time to understand what is required to do. I hope this can be improved.

von Marston G

Apr 17, 2020

I'm leaving the course.

I don't think it was put together in a very solid structural way.

It was very difficult to follow from one thing to the next.

It would have been better had the instructor said 'we are going to use...' in future so keep that query.

I didn't really do that, so then I had to go back and forth and redo things.

von Cristina R

Jan 17, 2020

Pretty informative course!

Sometimes the descriptions of the practice exercises seem a bit fuzzy, but as you go with the course it gets easier to understand how to interpret the requirements. Very helpful solution videos!

von Sean G

Apr 10, 2020

I was not a big fan of the approach this class took to teaching the material. The idea of try it yourself before we show you how to is a cool concept, but me being new to the learning material meant that I had no clue where to start with any of the practice exercises. So I left a meaningless comment in my submission just to unlock the solution video so I can then begin learning.

Overall I didn't feel like there was enough context built into the solution videos to explain the process such as why certain functions, joins, etc. where used and a summary of the overall path of the solution video was absent but could have been very helpful as there is a lot covered in each video.

When looking to the forums for help, it appeared most of the posts where built around others also being confused or lost in the process.

The first course of this specialization was much more organized and provided better explanations. Hopefully the third and 4th legs follow course 1

von Claire H

Apr 27, 2020

No structure to course. Very difficult to follow. No clear flow to the course. Poor explanations.

Some databases in videos no longer exist. For example, in exercise 1.4, week 1, the database dsv1069.raw_events does not exist.

It's a pity that the lectures were not available as pdf slides.

It was frustrating that the code to the solutions was not readily available in a copy and paste format.

I would expect a higher standard from Coursera especially as I PAID for the certification for this course. I feel I have not learned anything from this course just pure frustration!!

I've decided to discontinue with this course.

von Clayton S

Jul 02, 2020

Before you start familiarize yourself with mode.com and the report builder function, it is required for the final project. This is an advanced class with an assumption of baseline skill. If you don't have that skill you may find yourself in the weeds solving problems. But, the explanation by the instructor, Kat, really do help you understand how to solve problems. I did find myself struggling with some of the problems, in part because the problems can be vague, like real life. My advice, follow her code and logic and skills she teaches.

von Karina S

Jan 19, 2020

Great course!! I have learned a lot about how to evaluate the quality of the data received, how to problem solve with SQL when asked ambiguous business requirements, tips to do multiple selection editing in text editor (that was a great discovery!), metrics and AB testing. Highly recommended!

von Jennifer B

Dec 30, 2019

A very thorough overview of SQL and how to best structure data tables and metrics for AB testing. I appreciate the high quality content of the UC Davis courses!

von Abhinav A

May 08, 2020

Good course but a little more challenging for me as a beginner and new to SQL. Overall Good

von Steven K C W

Nov 01, 2019

Amazing work guys! I enjoyed the coding part a lot. Thank you!

von Gary T

Dec 06, 2019

SQL, Data Wrangling. Challenging and fun course.

von Monish M P

Jun 23, 2020

Well executed and scripted for learning

von Mahedi M

Apr 18, 2020

Challenging, but I learned quite a lot.