Chevron Left
Zurück zu Building Database Applications in PHP

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Building Database Applications in PHP von University of Michigan

4.9
Sterne
485 Bewertungen
94 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course, we'll look at the object oriented patterns available in PHP. You'll learn how to connect to a MySQL using the Portable Data Objects (PDO) library and issue SQL commands in the the PHP language. We'll also look at how PHP uses cookies and manages session data. You'll learn how PHP avoids double posting data, how flash messages are implemented, and how to use a session to log in users in web applications. We'll then build the first 'complete' application that has multiple screens to Create, Read, Update and Delete (CRUD) our data. This brings all the previous concepts together and will form the basis for all later web applications. It is assumed that learners have already taken the Building Web Applications course in this specialization....

Top-Bewertungen

AA

Jun 30, 2018

Awesome course, I think anyone who wants to do web app stuff should try this. Although it would a little difficult to go through the autograder, but believe me, It's worth it. Dedication is the key.

KA

Apr 30, 2020

The best online course I have done. Very thorough and possibly a little bit challenging for begginers. You have to put in some work and follow carefully. Very well made assignments. Thank you!

Filtern nach:

76 - 93 von 93 Bewertungen für Building Database Applications in PHP

von Siddharth V

Aug 28, 2018

Fine!!:)

von Wojciech P

Nov 29, 2019

Superb!

von Yury

Feb 27, 2018

awesome

von John O

Jun 08, 2018

G

r

e

a

t

!

von Nathan G

Feb 24, 2019

The 3 chapters I read in book (Missing Link) were fabulous. Excited to read more. I picked up a bunch of very helpful points following Dr CSev. However, sometimes talking over my head and referenced "(stuff we learned earlier)." I had not taken other courses in specialization but it seemed like I was missing videos. I had to stop and do research to find out what he's talking about on numerous topics. (e.g. htmlentities, SQL, location of sample code, how placeholders avoid injection, etc). Often he talked too fast and glossed over points, didn't explain how to deploy code or what happens after success coding. "And off you go" doesn't help the newbie like me. I often didn't know how to use/implement the lesson. Even if it was mentioned earlier, the purpose/use should be repeated/demonstrated again when done. Also, a newbie could use hard-to-miss instructions on how to take the course, where/when to download resources, etc. I was bouncing around trying to figure out how the whole thing worked.

von Antonio S M

Aug 07, 2019

Really good and clear lectures with fun and challenging assignments. This course is especially good if you followed the previous ones within the specialization.

The only thing I'm missing would be more advanced stuff or at least a follow up, more challenginig course (e.g. learning about different frameworks, security, more advanced PHP, a capstone project, etc.)

von Eugene B

Aug 27, 2019

The course is highly useful, yet the assignment descriptions and Staff replies on forums need better wording and spelling. There were typos, misleading semantics, and grammatically incorrect statements which make material comprehension to feel more difficult.

von Nathan S

Dec 10, 2017

Very interesting course and well explained. Assignments can be tough at times and can require you to look things up yourself rather than depending on the lectures alone. Be prepared to put some work in if you haven't done this before

von TATENDA Y G

Sep 09, 2018

Not yet completed. Goodwill because of the instructor. Now [9 Sep 2018, 0259 +2GMT] just added another star to the course because of what I deem to be excellent lecturers

von Sharath

May 03, 2020

The Quality Of The Lectures was great. The Course Gave Information about proper techniques in sql manipulation and to prevent sql injections

von Cyan C

Dec 06, 2017

Everything is fine except peer review.... its really time consuming to wait for others to grade

von Enoch P

Mar 31, 2018

Very introductory, but a great way to get started in SQL if you're already familiar with PHP.

von Zeeshan A K

Sep 11, 2019

Not good for someone having no PHP background.

von manav j

Mar 23, 2018

Great Course for starters

von Tom V

Apr 02, 2019

Very good course!

von Matt O

Feb 20, 2020

Good course. Don't do much with cookies after a lot of time spent discussing them. The project descriptions are not fantastically written and often unclear. With most assignments I spent the majority of the time addressing the foibles of the auto grader (e.g. Log in v. Log In) or rewinding big chunks of work due to the assignment description.

However, Dr. Chuck is a passionate, energetic, and easy going instructor. This in infectious and you really do develop a working bond with him through the courses. Left me with a good foundation on PHP for sure.

von Michael J

Apr 28, 2019

The assignments were very difficult and required a lot of outside resources to be used. If I had a question specific to an assignment I couldn't ask it in the discussion forums because no code is allowed in there. It took me probably 2 or 3 times longer than it should have been to completed this course.

On a positive note, Dr. Chuck is a great and passionate teacher.

von Ramy T K

Oct 02, 2019

there was something off in this course, the assignments was a bit confusing, assignments' requirements can be revised, simplified or both.