Chevron Left
Zurück zu Database Management Essentials

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Database Management Essentials by University of Colorado System

4.6
1,606 Bewertungen
390 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Database Management Essentials provides the foundation you need for a career in database development, data warehousing, or business intelligence, as well as for the entire Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence specialization. In this course, you will create relational databases, write SQL statements to extract information to satisfy business reporting requests, create entity relationship diagrams (ERDs) to design databases, and analyze table designs for excessive redundancy. As you develop these skills, you will use either Oracle or MySQL to execute SQL statements and a database diagramming tool such as the ER Assistant or Visual Paradigm to create ERDs. We’ve designed this course to ensure a common foundation for specialization learners. Everyone taking the course can jump right in with writing SQL statements in Oracle or MySQL....

Top-Bewertungen

LL

Nov 15, 2016

Excellent course content, very well presented, great slide decks.\n\n(When I hear "DB Management" I think of tablespaces and indexes. The course should be named "Data Modelling Essentials" instead. )

FM

Jun 22, 2017

Of all the database courses I have ever done, this one covers the concepts best and exhaustively. I highly recommend it to all beginners and advanced users who want to review the basics.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 381 Reviews for Database Management Essentials

By Judith G

Feb 22, 2019

Almost exclusively peer marked assessment and although you can learn from peer marking there is no incentive for other people to mark your work properly. Many people just appear to give everything full marks and the comment "great" or "nice" or even just a full stop to meet the comment requirement. When not giving full marks not one person put a comment to explain why they haven't given full marks and if the person marking your work doesn't fully understand the material they are just as likely to mark it correct when it is not as they are not sure about the material.

By Zhu K

Feb 17, 2019

This course provides the essential foundations that a rookie need to master partial SQL and the basic techniques for drawing entity relation diagrams. All in all, it's a good course to embark on your journey for exploring database. However, some part of the video is kind of redundant. There are three points that I would like to mention. First, The peer-evaluation system. In other CS course, a grading system is prepared to give marks on student's assignment, which is more objective; Second, this course provides a link to buy textbook, rather than providing student the access to free online resources; Third, week7 material, upon functional dependency and BCNF are not clearly elaborated.

By Kostas A

Jan 02, 2019

Avoid this course by all means. This is absolutely the worst course that I have ever enrolled and seriously I still can't understand how coursera allows such courses to exist.

The material is very basic and it has a single reference for a paid book but the absolutely worst part is that the GRADING SYSTEM DEPENDS ON THE AVERAGE EVALUATION OF TWO OTHER RANDOM CLASSMATES. So you realize that even if your submission is perfect you end up getting random grades depending on the mood of your classmates and you can't do anything about it.

I have just added University of Colorado in my blacklist because seriously this course is a disgrace for online courses.

By Sylvain L

Mar 09, 2016

Not enough implication from the instructors in the course. Students are left alone with the material, without any answers to there questions on the course.

Peer review process subject to personal interpretation and leading to frustration for the students.

That's quite unfortunate as this provides a bad experience whereas the course might have been good without that.

By Elliott L

Mar 24, 2019

A lot of fluff is included, but taught the basics of SQL and entity relationship diagrams and normalisation, which to be pretty integral parts of understanding databases in a practical sense.

By yoav z

Mar 22, 2019

excellent content. the forum is dead and there are some mistakes in the school solution that couldn't be address for that reason. 5 start for content, 1 star for staff participation and discussion forum.

By Shobana M a A

Jan 22, 2019

Quite outdated

By kar a c

Nov 19, 2018

The course syllabus is well scoped out. But the delivery is terrible - unclear or lack of explanation, boring presentation (sometimes uneven speech pace), poor slides content. I use the syllabus content as a guide and refer to external material (youtube etc.) for the proper explanation of various topics.

By Kristiyan M

Oct 24, 2018

The course is hardly intermediate level, I would put it at basic/beginner. Too much meta-discussions - probably 1-2 minutes of substance for each 6+ minute video. Very few examples for each concept (usually 1, rarely 2).

By Kyle M

Sep 10, 2018

Most of the material I had to find outside of the course in order to complete the assignments. The professor just read from slides and did not show any hands on work like in other coursera classes. Weekly peer reviews were a disaster and not a reliable system if your grade depends on them. I submitted the same work twice, the first time I got a 66 and the second a 90. It seems that some people are not aware of what the rubric entails and you are penalized for it until someone else reviews your work again. Would suggest trying another database class offered.

By Julien L

Aug 23, 2018

A very boring way to bring up the subject.

By Shubham P

Jun 05, 2018

Presenter's style is way too boring. It felt like he was just reading a book. Every video contains more part of introduction and summary rather than actual content. Made me lose interest in online courses!

By Yong Y

May 20, 2018

The course is very intense, need a lot of practice. A little boring when I took this course, course the tutorial and the forms of the course if boring for me. But you can quiet a lot about basic sql syntax and ERD modeling. And the assignment is not well designed, the classmate reviews take a lot of time , should be improved, like each assignment just upload one file, should do some automatic tools for the assignment reviews.

By Justin H

Apr 10, 2018

In addition to outdated information in the query section, and some unnecessary focus on female genitalia in some assignments, the teaching is poor.

The videos and curriculum do not focus on how to make good database management decisions. Instead, they focus on how to make good /diagramming/ decisions based on requirements.

The presenter seems to go out of his way to avoid explaining core concepts, and instead breezes over them with ambiguous business-sounding definitions. Most videos, especially later on, feel like they go out of their way to complain about how students "just don't get it" and focus on how to draw diagrams correctly instead of make good choices for organizing a database.

If your goal is to understand more about databases and how to manage them, this course is not for you.

If your goal is to become really good at diagramming databases, this might work, but is still a poor quality course.

By Qin Q

Oct 31, 2017

This course covered basic information. However, the organize about assignments is horrible. Tables format change from time to time, and the solution does not even match with questions.

By Quinten B

Jun 13, 2017

Personally they should add a free textbook and a vocabulary list with clear examples.

So yes this course could benefit from more detail time to time

By Eileene K G

May 13, 2016

Do not be fooled by the course description. You do need to know some basics before attempting the course. Be prepared to look a lot of things up independently or purchase the "optional" text book. There is virtually no moderator in this course and the instructor does not grade or comment on the discussions. Basically he is reading you PowerPoint slides and adding very little to the lesson by watching and listening to him do so. Your grades are based on what your peers (who are also trying to learn) think or interpret the correct answer to be based on their limited knowledge and discretion. I would not recommend this course for someone wishing to learn SQL as it is not the main focus, it is only a small part of the lessons.

By John M

Feb 26, 2016

I found the content was great but the style of lectures were a bit too robotic and not conversational. This didn't help the learning process. Also, the course admin might consider explaining 'On' 'And' 'Where' 'TIMESTAMP', 'DateDiff' more than what was provided.

By Serban T

Feb 20, 2016

Avoid this course like the plague. Terribly taught, no support, problems only vaguely related to the course material, and designed to force you to buy the manual for the course. The next classes in the specialization get even worse, with the student forums full of students who can't get any help though the grueling process of installing Oracle, Pentaho, etc. on a personal laptop. I was fortunate to have experience with the tools, would have never managed to finish the course just based on the terribly taught material.

By Kwokmun L

Jan 31, 2016

Severe lack of support (zero) from the professor or TAs. Some wrong solutions were provided for assigments but were never addressed or acknowledged that it will be fixed. Some assignment files are not Mac friendly or is just not viewable by all students (I can't tell). Materials are quite good but grading is subject to broad interpretations and there is no human to provide guidance on what are the best practices. To think that I paid for the specialisation in order to take the graded assignment AND I have to do the grading BUT I do not receive support? This is ridiculous. I will have to think three times before I pay for a Coursera course in the future. Never again. I will not recommend this to others.

By Alexander S

Jan 03, 2016

Assignments are very inaccurate. Mess with table and field names. Oracle VM is very heavy and slow to use on regular laptop.

By Alban D

Jun 14, 2019

Very interesting course, reexplaining the basics in details. Great content too!

By Ajay J

Jun 12, 2019

Though content is good slides and delivery style could be better. More comparison with latest technologies can be provided. Need for more interactive quizzes so as to make it more relevant to fast-changing database world.

By Yonathan M P

Jun 08, 2019

One of the best introduction to Databases courses I came upon (and I looked at many....:)

By Jason C

Jun 06, 2019

Lessons started out very strong, the middle was a little muddled, but ended strong.