Chevron Left
Zurück zu Data Science Math Skills

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Data Science Math Skills von Duke University

4.5
Sterne
8,393 Bewertungen
1,895 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top-Bewertungen

RS
5. Mai 2020

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

VS
22. Sep. 2020

This course syllabus is great. It starts wonderfully. Week 1 to 4 is taught by Paul Bendich, and Daniel Egger the instruction is awesome. Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills!

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 1,875 Bewertungen für Data Science Math Skills

von Armine

4. Apr. 2018

Everything was great except probability theory. The videos were hard to follow and understand because everything was a kind of mess. Reading materials would be much better for probability section. Overall it was very helpful for me and I am very grateful for this wonderful course!!!

von Iman S

16. Apr. 2020

The course is completely related to prerequisite data science skills. There are lots of useful materials. However, the last module (probability) is kind of introduction and superficial, and do not discuss probabilities concepts and distributions in depth.

In general, the course is Great

von Mahyar

22. Aug. 2017

Good course because it focuses on basic statistical science needed in Data Science. Only issue I had with this course was it was pretty short. Shorter than I thought by looking at the syllabus. Also the agenda is very simple in the first couple of weeks until it gets to the last week.

von Subhadip D

26. Juli 2020

Would have been better if real-time tool were used such as PTC Math-cad or Mathworks Matlab then the Simulation based learning approach could have been much better. Well this course has vas potential and can be be released as series with capstone simulation project. I loved it though

von Rahul K

29. Apr. 2020

very nice, this course helps me a lot for a basic understanding of the different concept of math. The course is also design in very well manner for understanding each and every concept clearly.i also very thankful to the teacher association who created this course for helping me.

von Muhammed B K

5. Okt. 2020

Great course for starters. For first three weeks there can be some advanced examples as extras and for the last week, it would be better if several complex examples solved by instructors since Bayes and Conditional probability can be confusing sometimes. Thanks for the course.

von Rajat P T

20. Juli 2020

The course explained all the basic mathematical concepts really well, especially Bayes' theorem and probability theory.The best thing that I liked about this course is that it also explained some simple real world test scenarios where these mathematical concepts can be used.

von Priti B

28. Mai 2019

I came for this course after working on data science for sometime. While initial 2 weeks were easy and known, last 2 weeks were really helpful. My probability concepts become much clearer after going through the lecture and tests. Very precise and clear course. Thanks a lot!

von Adnaeva G S

15. Okt. 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! Please include integration, algorithm analysis (big O, theta, omega), recursion and induction. Your course is helpful, thank you. If you add those things I've mentioned it would be absolute gold.

von James T

2. Apr. 2018

Everything I've tried diving into in regards to data science after having been out of school for a while (I'm 34) has been stuff I haven't learned or forgot. This course was perfect. Nothing was too difficult for someone who still remembers basic math and I learned a lot.

von Josué R G S M

3. Jan. 2018

Los contenidos son en inglés pero los profesores tienen una perfecta dicción y no hablan rápido de tal modo que los puedes entender perfectamente con sólo un poco de inglés. Los contenidos matemáticos están debidamente dosificados y muy interesantes. Recomiendo el curso

von Aditi D

15. Juni 2020

Even though I have learnt quite a bit of math in college, my basics weren't very clear. This course helped me clear up my basic doubts which were causing problems. The instructors explain the concepts quite comprehensively using easy-to-understand real-world examples.

von Daryna S

14. Aug. 2017

This is a real good and inspirational start in data science education, especially for people, who have some fear of math (like me:)). This course is enough complicate to learn something new, but simultaneously not too hard, so you dont loose motivation for studying.

von Jeni S

17. Sep. 2020

The course is helpful both as a refresher and a introduction. It made me understood all the basic math skills behind the data science Field. Very good explanation of probability part and so on. I found the week 4 content quite challenging, but got there in the end!

von Matthew A D

4. Mai 2020

I had a really easy time going through the first 3 weeks of the course, but then the 4 weeks were so hard. I got through it, but it was hard. The 1st-3rd weeks were just going through the same things I had learned again, but the 4th week was almost completely new.

von Richard B

9. Okt. 2017

I think this course helped me identify certain areas of weakness within my education that I have already received. As a result, I know where to start in order to shore up the gaps that formal education has solidified. Overall it is a great introductory course.

von Osama B A

9. Apr. 2020

Thank you, Coursera for this course for free. It was really helpful. It covers almost all the basic math term for Data Science. Looking now for intermediate level course of the same. Hopin that very soon, I will be gifted with a new free course. Thanks again.

von Amit T

4. Mai 2020

Something good to learn and in fact the session are so precise to understand that you don't need anyone's help at all to learn thing. Just go through the video lectures. It's that simple. Thank you Coursera for this wonderful journey and amazing sessions.

von Jackie C

7. Apr. 2017

First three weeks were mostly review, but the fourth week was incredibly helpful. Would appreciate some more background/derivation of the binomial theorem - it was hard for me to develop an intuition for it in the same way I could for the Bayesian theorem.

von Val

4. Dez. 2017

Clear and straightforward introduction to the key mathematical concepts that underpin statistics and data science. Video companions and practice quizzes complement the lectures in an effective way and prepare the student well for the graded quizzes.

von Arun A

20. Apr. 2018

Very good course. Really enjoyed the explanation very concise and clear. This is however not exhaustive for anyone to gather every bit of possible knowledge in Data Science, do keep that in mind. But this definitely sets the foundation correct.

von Yan T

1. Nov. 2019

Great course brushing off math skills with quiz in the end of each module. The last module is the most difficult, it'll be better if more examples be demonstrated. Good pace and a good course for those who need to get an idea of some topics.

von MILDRED B R

6. Juli 2020

Very informative and I learned a lot. I enjoyed taking the practice quizzes and the exams. I failed, I made mistakes yet what is the most important I learned a lot. Thank you Coursera and DOST-CARAGA, the Philippines for the opportunity.

von Marios P

6. Nov. 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! The course overall was great. It was well taught-- very relevant and clear for the most part. Thanks a lot! I think I am better prepared for data science afterward!

von JUAN G

25. Juni 2020

Pretty fun and understandable. The last week resources and content was quite deep and confusing when it was explained. From the exercises I've found some errors in the solutions. Briefly, It fulfills my expectations pleasantly.