Chevron Left
Zurück zu Data Science Math Skills

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Data Science Math Skills von Duke University

4.5
Sterne
8,337 Bewertungen
1,885 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top-Bewertungen

VC
16. Mai 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

RS
5. Mai 2020

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

Filtern nach:

1701 - 1725 von 1,868 Bewertungen für Data Science Math Skills

von Dan H

18. Feb. 2019

good subject matter choice; however, quality varied between the two professors. weeks 1-3 provided good clear lectures and enough practice questions; but week 4 had several confusing points in the lecture, then not enough practice. I really had to supplement my learning with outside videos and problems for week 4. but i passed the final test first time. thanks for narrowing down the maths needed for data science.

von Patrycja J

12. Mai 2020

Lessons 1-3 are ok. Everything is explained well and you can make the tests easily. 4 is very difficult and despite many trials, I was not able to make it. And because of chapter 4 I suggest you rather take another course.

There is also a technical problem, because the formulas are displayed in java script, so it is not easy to understand how the formula looks like, if you do not know the script :(

von Phyllicia A M B

18. Juni 2020

The lectures are very short and simple. Sometimes the explanations are not explained thoroughly. Students without background on the subject will find it difficult to apply the concepts in actual problems like in the quizzes. I hope you can improve your content, discussions, and quizzes so students without background in advance math can enjoy your course. Thank you!

von Brannon C

11. Mai 2020

Helpful overview and review if it’s been a while since you taken stats and probability. But really needs more practice problems with explanations to practice through the workflow on the last two weeks. The formulas and calculations get pretty intense. They have printable handouts that go with all videos that were very helpful.

von Raymond S

21. Sep. 2019

Keep in mind that this is meant to be an introduction to some of the math topics used in data science, it is not a comprehensive course. The course needs to include worksheets with practice problems for the students to practice. The instructors do not use enough real-world examples to demonstrate how the theory is applied.

von tayebi a

25. Apr. 2020

je pense qu'il manque quelque définitions ,par exemple , pour dire que la probabilité d'un événement est égal à la somme de probabilités d'intersections de cet événement avec d'autres ,mais en fait on peut dire cela sauf si les autres événements forment un système complet d'événements. mais en général ça reste utile .

von SAYAN B

18. Apr. 2020

The course videos for the topics for Week 3 and 4 are not well explained. Even some of the questions in the quiz are not written in proper format. Please look into this and make changes to the course. Otherwise the syllabus of the course is well designed and the probability questions are of quite high standard!

von Jeffrey A B

22. Juni 2019

Felt like the first 3 weeks were pretty good but the probability section needs a lot more detailed explanations and examples to make the information clear. For those that are already OK with this subject, it's probably fine but for those that haven't had much background in probability, this part was lacking.

von Scott M

16. Aug. 2020

The first half was planned and organized. The second half seemed haphazard. Examples were a little hard to follow. Quizzes were fine and seemed to test the material presented. I have only taken three other courses (4 total) and this one seemed a little rushed and the second half was created on a whim.

von Danilo C

17. Jan. 2018

First 2 weeks of the course is amazing, very good didactics. The second teacher does not use very good examples, and the thing starts to fill like old math classes, but overall is good. I will need to redo the last 2 weeks because i fill that I will not remember most of it so easy as the first 2 weeks.

von Saurabh K

27. Mai 2018

Good for high level understanding of few of the concepts. But last week 4 tutorials are covered at very high level , it was quite difficult to understand probability topic without referring to other online tutorials. I wish more examples could be given in the tutorials to strengthen understanding.

von Margaret S

25. Juli 2017

The class is good. However, the second half of the class zips through concepts that need a lot more explanation than is provided. Moreover this class would benefit from an optional tutorial on how to input factorials into a calculator as the answers on the exam go to the 8th decimal place.

von Taruna J

6. Aug. 2020

Some concepts have been explained beautifully, which made things easier to understand. Some concepts (probability) I earlier understood so very well, but now I am confused with the teachings from this course. I don't really like how it has been explained.

von Nitikorn S

22. Mai 2020

The first half is really well explained. However, the second part could be improved with a more detailed explanation rather than introducing the equation and jump straight to the problem. Also, I think the quizzes in the latter part are (too) difficult.

von KRISHNAMURTHI R

22. Mai 2020

Concepts are not clearly explained in the video sessions. I had to seek some other you tube videos to get the concepts with clarity . Some of the Practice quiz feedback are not fully explanatory and required more outside reference to clear the doubts .

von Chris

8. Nov. 2019

You guys need to give better practice examples and scenarios in Weeks 3 and 4. That being said, I think the courses you presented give a nice foundation. I'm going to practice on my own time finding problems of the subjects you've spoken about.

von Gregory B

5. Mai 2020

The course has issues later on - there is inconsistent notation, no provided worksheets, formula sheets, documentation, or summaries of any kind. At first this isn't a problem when the course is simple but is much more problematic later on.

von Saeed M

2. Sep. 2020

As a whole: very useful review of the themes.

However:

Quite a few Latex statements spread around the quizes.

Probability could be explained a bit more thoroughly. I had to look up external sources to get a better grasp of the subject matter.

von Celtikill

11. Okt. 2020

Challenging module which lacks the practical application needed to feel confident going into quizzes. I found working through the quizzes themselves more valuable than the reading material. Plan to watch, rewatch, and take good notes.

von Georgina M

2. Aug. 2020

Some really good course content, but a strange mix of levels/difficulty. I have some maths background so skipped most of the videos but using the notes and quizzes I still learned some new topics (like set notation and Bayes theorem).

von sudip t

12. Juli 2020

It was nothing new and easy for me but if you have a gap in your study and forgot whatever you had studied in your school then this course is definitely for you to learn some math skills which is important for data science.

von Andrea P

22. Dez. 2017

A good review of basic math skills, however I believed the "SUM RULE, CONDITIONAL PROBABILITY AND BAYES'THEOREM should be discussed much more in the last week module with more example and exercise. The 1,2,3 week are great.

von Mbarak J A

12. Juli 2020

The first 2 parts(weeks) were good and easy to grasp, but the last two were a bit advanced and needed more time to handle the concepts, but overall a good course in general, get more more practice before attempting quiz

von Bobby M

18. Juli 2020

The early videos are good. The videos toward the end were not as helpful for a person new to the subject. I had to look up other tutorials on youtube to understand the material enough to pass the quiz and final test.

von Michael L

18. Okt. 2017

I feel the probability portion of the course was too quick for the material covered. Yet the quizzes for the probability section were very demanding. It was difficult to successfully complete the probability quizzes.