Chevron Left
Zurück zu Data Science Math Skills

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Data Science Math Skills von Duke University

4.5
Sterne
9,317 Bewertungen
2,115 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top-Bewertungen

VC
16. Mai 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

RS
5. Mai 2020

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

Filtern nach:

1951 - 1975 von 2,097 Bewertungen für Data Science Math Skills

von Francisco G

28. Sep. 2020

Explanations for last two modules are somewhat confusing. I had to consult other materials and read discussion forums in order to understand.

von Stephanie M

5. Juli 2020

Modules 1-3 were great. But the 4th module on probability was not only very difficult but I finished the course still not understanding.

von Tony H

7. Feb. 2019

The material covered was very useful for a beginner/intermediate course, however, the style of the presenters was not always very clear.

von Michael O

22. Apr. 2021

First two weeks are excellent but the last two are difficult to follow with little assistance to make it easier to understand.

von Leon L

12. Dez. 2017

it's the foundation for data science, but these contents are too simple. I think it's not enough for a good data analyst.

von Shah F B

5. Juli 2020

Statistics and probability part is a bit difficult to grasp.

Anything that can be done to make it easier would be great.

von phung s

16. März 2021

Probability and Function sections are too hard to understand

Exercise is sometimes so confused and seems wrong answers

von Martino V

29. Mai 2017

a good selection of topics, but way too formula based rather than understanding based, especially in the second half.

von Felix H

30. März 2020

Some of the quiz questions have mathematical errors (e.g. inside of a log cannot be negative) or are quite unclear.

von Manish G

26. Sep. 2019

The last module could have been done better. More examples to be included for explaining probability problems.

von Leen J

15. Aug. 2020

the first two weeks were brilliant, but I had a really hard time comprehending the 3rd and 4th week material.

von Paola G

15. Aug. 2020

Thee explanation of week 4 was not comprehensive and the quizzes were too complicated for what was covered.

von Ammar E M

14. Apr. 2020

I notice that the quizzes questions not reflect 100% to what we got already !, However, the course great

von shai z

18. Juni 2020

its ok, i felt the statistical part wasnt explained well, and went from pretty easy to hard too quickly

von Garvit r

25. Juni 2020

i am giving 3 star just because of professor efforts .Difficulty level of this course is not of level

von Ethan R

12. Mai 2021

Goes through the basics, but the last part with the most important information was not very helpful.

von Ali H

27. Apr. 2020

Some points in probability was not clear and doesn't been explicit.

Some quiz answers are wrong.

von kavya

23. Sep. 2020

I completed the Course but I didn't receive certificate..

Good to understand it's useful for us

von Zarmeen S

11. Juli 2020

The course should be improved from last topics with simple examples. It was good at the start.

von M

5. Nov. 2020

The course might not be entirely introductory. Part of it was breezed through very quickly.

von Wasin W

7. Juni 2020

In first 3 week, i learned berfore, so i can understand.

In last weeks, it is new knowledge.

von Michał F

30. Aug. 2017

Basics knowledge, i liked first part about functions, but second was not quite good for me.

von Dhwanil S

3. Okt. 2020

There is no practical usage of it. There can be a project which shows its practical usage.

von Ioana D

10. Feb. 2017

The Probability section could use more practical examples, I found it difficult to follow.