Chevron Left
Zurück zu Data Science Math Skills

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Data Science Math Skills von Duke University

4.5
Sterne
9,140 Bewertungen
2,071 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top-Bewertungen

AS
11. Jan. 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

VC
16. Mai 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

Filtern nach:

1351 - 1375 von 2,050 Bewertungen für Data Science Math Skills

von GJ

10. Nov. 2018

I leaned a lot especially in probability. But I had to search around various other resources before I got the hang of Bayes theorem. Also a tree diagram approach to both conditional and Bayes theorem will help get to the understanding faster.

von Ervandio I A

17. Sep. 2020

Some section are easy to understand, but some others not. Especially in the probability & bayes theorem section. This section is like compressing hours of lecture into 30 mins video. For advice, maybe it is necessary to add more example.

von Carlos L

26. Mai 2020

The learning curve was a little bit unbalanced. I think would be better to spend more time with probabiliy instead simple cartesian concepts. Besides I miss for sure linear algebra since the course its called Data Science Math Skills.

von Giannina Z

19. Juni 2020

I enjoyed this course and would have given it 5 stars if it were not because of the material in Week 4 and how poorly it was explained. Apart from that, great class to take if you have not reviewed relevant math concepts in a while.

von Jorge F P

10. Okt. 2017

Great introduction to mathematical analysis and probability. I took it to refresh the concepts I had learned some years ago and it met my expectations. The quizzes, particularly the ones in weeks 3 and 4, are quite challenging.

von Phan, T T T

27. Juli 2020

I am very satisfied with this course, it provides me with the basic knowledge of the math of Data Science. The lecturers explained very carefully although the knowledge was not too difficult. I will recommend it to my friends.

von Simone M

12. Okt. 2020

This course helped me to understand probability better than the classes that I took in high school and college. I have greater confidence in understanding data presented in medical studies. Thank you for offering this course.

von Erica C

26. Dez. 2020

Overall a good review of material I learned a while ago and introduction to some concepts I hadn't covered in previous coursework. However, the course would benefit from more and varied examples to solidify concepts covered.

von Medina A

22. Juli 2020

It helped me to understand what I should be expecting if I want to go into the data science field. I also realized it is not as difficult as it seems if only I ma willingly to work a little harder or just do some extra work.

von Abduvosid M

4. Juni 2020

Very good explanation of Sets, Sigma Notation, Cartesian plane, functions, and logarithms. But probability (last week) requires more independent learning from learners side (this is actually a very big and interesting topic)

von Oscar F R P

24. Apr. 2020

Sometimes som expresions and explenations may confuse non american learners, but the content is amazing and its easy to learn ( Also too many videos have mistakes and some scribbles in the videos are hard to understand).

von Himal k

2. Mai 2020

I m very happy to complete this course .it was very interesting and brain storming course.it Will help u in every situation of maths course simple question.it was awesome and very interested course...thank u 😊🥰😍😘

von Angelos K

25. Okt. 2020

Some problems and calculations of the last modules could be designed to be easier. Still, the course was great and offered an amazing recap of the basic math skills needed for statistics and data science. Thank you!

von Srijit B

4. Sep. 2020

It was an exceptional course , however I felt a little more of solved example and thinking procedure on encountering a conditional probability and Bayes theorem related problem can be shown a bit more for novices

von Himanshu S

5. Mai 2020

A good refresher on mathematics wrt Data Science. Concepts were very well explained.

There is a vast difference in difficulty of quizzes in first 3 weeks and week 4, with the former needing to be more challenging

von Kristel I S R

17. Juni 2020

He comprendido conceptos y su aplicación en temas que realmente no había comprendido la primera. El primer instructor explica con muchísimo detalle y es excelente para aquellos que necesitan reforzar las bases.

von Rita M

28. Aug. 2020

Although the instructors explain mathematical concepts in simple, easy to understand ways, there needs to be many more (real life) examples as well as practice questions with answers to solidify understanding.

von Sanjay T

27. Aug. 2020

The explanations by both the instructors are quite clear. However, I'm cutting one star because the difficult of the problems in the Week 4 (Probability) lectures are easy, but the ones in the test are hard.

von Bernard O

1. Nov. 2020

This is a great course. I, however, believe that the sections on algebra and especially probability need more time. I believe probability needs at least two weeks as it is highly complex and very essential.

von Armando A A E M

16. Apr. 2020

Es un curso, que dependiendo de tus conocimiento estadística será bien fácil, o algo tedioso. Las explicaciones son muy buenas, y es una gran herramienta de repaso de estadística para el uso de datos

von 吴俊杰

24. Juni 2020

the week1 and week2 makes me feel i was a child,it is too easy, but the week4 is good, the example about ball is easy to understand, I think it is worthwell to take in this course if your have time.

von Kyle C

21. Okt. 2020

Weeks 1-3 were quality. Week 4 was a little sloppy in the instructional videos and less clear than in Weeks 1-3. Overall, concise refresher of various mathematical subjects useful to data science.

von Philippe

27. Feb. 2018

The content of the course as a whole is interesting as a good synthesis of basic skills, even though the content of the weeks 3 and 4 lacks of clarity compared to the content of the weeks 1 and 2.

von Shubham G

29. Mai 2020

It is very valuable course for data science learners. They provided math topics which required for data analysis. For further learning, it is very useful. Thank you for providing such great couse

von Rahul B

2. Sep. 2020

Entire course material is very helpful in understanding the concepts.

Only request would be to simplify the probability section a bit more so that it can easy to understand the concepts clearly.