Chevron Left
Zurück zu American Deaf Culture

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für American Deaf Culture von University of Houston

4.5
Sterne
301 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This is a six-week course providing a historical overview of the American Deaf community and its evolving culture. Theoretical frameworks from sociology are explored. Deafness as a culture and not a disability is explained as participants are guided into the world of Deaf culture....

Top-Bewertungen

CP

9. Okt. 2017

I've gotten an Associate's in Sign Language and learned a lot about American Deaf Culture and this was a wonderful refresher for me! I did NOT want this class to end!!

Please offer more like this!

JM

15. Juni 2017

I am also a CODA, and I am so happy that a course on Deaf Culture is on CourseRA. Very proud of the collaborative efforts of exposing hearing people to the deaf community. ILY!

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 98 Bewertungen für American Deaf Culture

von Gina H

26. März 2021

Loved this course and the videos. Very effective

von Arun G

16. März 2020

I like learning more. I want to learn some more!

von DAUDI G

20. Feb. 2022

The course is so wonderful...I so much interest

von Laura V

6. Jan. 2021

Learned so much. Would definitely recommend.

von Thelma W

15. Sep. 2020

Thank you for helping me to understand

von Meaghan C

22. Juli 2020

TEACHER WAS GREAT CLASS WAS GREAT

von Lucas W

24. Sep. 2019

Great instructor and interpreter

von Kimberly M

19. Jan. 2019

Very informative and enjoyable.

von Winston A W

24. Juni 2020

Excellent, thank you.

von Shirley V

8. Aug. 2022

Excelente curso!!!

von Clair M

4. Nov. 2019

amazing course!!!

von masroor b a

24. Apr. 2020

Thank you

von Mary C G

25. Juli 2020

good

von Salvatore D S

8. März 2021

American Deaf Culture is an informative introduction to Deaf cultures and history in the United States. The course uses internal and external lecture videos as well as readings (e.g. academic articles and white papers). As of March 2021, the course quizzes have a difficult to read format on Mozilla Firefox. Also, one quiz question implies that solely African Americans, Latinos/Latinas/Latinx, and women have experienced discrimination. There are other discriminated groups too and their exclusion from the question risks undermining their advocacy efforts. It might be best to replace this one question with a question which is about Deaf cultures--not comparison with other groups. Learners seeking a concise accessible introduction to Deaf culture experiences in the U.S. should be satisfied and curious to learn more.

von Sam C

19. Okt. 2020

This course was wonderful, and as someone who knew little to nothing about deaf culture it was very informative as well. I really felt like I learned. However the videos are a bit too short, and I found myself confused or having to look up extra information for a few of them in order to understand. I don't even know if I was taught some of the information on the final exam(though, this could have just been because I didn't read the articles well enough). The instructor was clearly a wonderful instructor- I think that if the videos were longer and more detailed, however, all the issues I faced could have been solved. I did learn quite a bit though, so thank you very much!

von Brandi B

17. Feb. 2022

The information was fantastic. I liked that it was videos, articles and quizzes. My only complaint is that the quizzes answers didn't line up with the responses and the responses didn't line up with the little circles to check for the right answer. But that is a website issue, that is not a content issue. I would recomend this class to anyone in management, HR, or taking classes to learn ASL.

von Omar L

23. März 2018

I learned so much about deaf culture, most definitely appreciated learning about The Rehabilitation act of 1973 along with other laws that were implemented to protect those with disabilities. There is so much we take for granted, this course was great.

von Yessenia S

4. Sep. 2020

I think this course is really interesting. I recently took a Deaf Culture class and this was basically a summary of what we learned. I will say the history part was new to me. I wish the quizzes were a little longer. I really liked the course overall.

von Zoe E

14. Juli 2021

The course information was incredibly helpful and the instructor is a pleasure to watch and incredibly emotive which is helpful. The interpreter just didn't match the instructor. It was really disappointing.

von Luna E

17. Sep. 2020

The course could have gone more in-depth, but it was certainly intriguing and very well done. The personal experiences and course materials were my favorites!

von Tatiana

22. Juli 2019

Курс понравился. Немного раздражает вступительная музыка.

Хотелось бы услышать больше о процессах обучения, чтобы сравнить со своей страной.

von Chelsea V

4. Okt. 2020

The final quiz was worded oddly And repeated itself. Seemed like a glitch?

Course should have an option to skip the video intro music.

von Bryana S

23. Juli 2020

The American Deaf Culture was truly and very informative. It is a class that EVERYONE should be required to take. Enjoyed it!

von Eve S

12. Okt. 2020

Really liked the prof and learned a lot. It's made me interested in learning more. I wish it was a little more in-depth.

von Timothy n

9. Nov. 2020

Great starter course to learn about American Deaf Culture. Would like to see an expansion class into ASL.