Chevron Left
Zurück zu Dense Gases, Liquids and Solids

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Dense Gases, Liquids and Solids von University of Colorado Boulder

4.5
Sterne
106 Bewertungen
15 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Course 4 of Statistical Thermodynamics addresses dense gases, liquids, and solids. As the density of a gas is increased, intermolecular forces begin to affect behavior. For small departures from ideal gas behavior, known as the dense gas limit, one can estimate the change in properties using the concept of a configuration integral, a modification to the partition function. This leads to the development of equations of state that are expansions in density from the ideal gas limit. Inter molecular potential energy functions are introduced and it is explored how they impact P-V-T behavior. As the density is increased, there is a transition to the liquid state. We explore whether this transition is smooth or abrupt by examining the stability of a thermodynamic system to small perturbations. We then present a brief discussion regarding the determination of the thermodynamic properties of liquids using concept of the radial distribution function (RDF), and how the function relates to thermodynamic properties. Finally, we explore two simple models of crystalline solids....

Top-Bewertungen

SS
1. Juni 2020

Amazing course for statistical thermodynamics. Learned the origins of specific heat for solids and how they are calculated.

KM
10. Apr. 2021

Great course to learn about Dense Gases, Liquids, and Solid. I highly recommend this course.

Filtern nach:

1 - 15 von 15 Bewertungen für Dense Gases, Liquids and Solids

von Allan J G V

27. Apr. 2020

I learned something, but most of the time it feels like the quizzes do not match the contents that are taught.

von Surya_Narayan

2. Juni 2020

Amazing course for statistical thermodynamics. Learned the origins of specific heat for solids and how they are calculated.

von B S H

1. Aug. 2020

The course syllabus is awesome, but the content should be more elaborate. Please mention the units of the answer properly. The discussion prompts should be converted to quizzes for more appropriate certificate provision.

von Kasuntha M

11. Apr. 2021

Great course to learn about Dense Gases, Liquids, and Solid. I highly recommend this course.

von Benjamin C C

6. Juli 2020

I loved the course, very practical full of exercises to solve

von Egere W N

22. Juli 2020

It was interesting. Thumbs up to the professor.

von Syed M T

5. Aug. 2020

Very Informative and Professional

von Ahmed I a a a f

7. Sep. 2020

very good course

von Agbo J O

4. Aug. 2020

Very exquisite

von Thorpe O B

7. Juli 2020

Nice course

von Odedo N B

4. Juli 2020

Thank You!

von Richard C U

17. Juli 2020

Beautiful

von Sumit M

10. Juni 2020

valuable

von Jerwin J E T

20. Aug. 2020

I like the course, it brought back the memories I had when I was taking statistical thermodynamics in undergrad. However, the problems need to be reviewed carefully. It took me a while to complete the course because as far as units are concerned, the correct answer does not match what is asked in the problem. The typographical errors (units, given values, etc.) were probably overlooked by the subject matter expert.

von Anyiam O O

29. Aug. 2020

It is a good course. It teaches you patience and equally to work hard