Chevron Left
Zurück zu Design Principles: an Introduction

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Design Principles: an Introduction von University of California San Diego

4.6
Sterne
1,198 Bewertungen
164 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

What makes an interface intuitive? How can I tell whether one design works better than another? This course will teach you fundamental principles of design and how to effectively evaluate your work with users. You'll learn fundamental principles of visual design so that you can effectively organize and present information with your interfaces. You'll learn principles of perception and cognition that inform effective interaction design. And you'll learn how to perform and analyze controlled experiments online. In many cases, we'll use Web design as the anchoring domain. A lot of the examples will come from the Web, and we'll talk just a bit about Web technologies in particular. When we do so, it will be to support the main goal of this course, which is helping you build human-centered design skills, so that you have the principles and methods to create excellent interfaces with any technology....

Top-Bewertungen

PV

Nov 22, 2019

The course was simple and crisp yet covered it all - interaction, visual and usability. Liked the duration of the videos followed by reading material that covered the highlights of the topic.

NS

Mar 17, 2016

The basic principles of design and their philosophies were covered well in this course, and it was taught in a quick, efficient manner. I liked undergoing this course and would recommend it.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 158 Bewertungen für Design Principles: an Introduction

von Darren G

May 16, 2016

This course really helped me understand what to ask of my Design team!

von Jacob T K

Jan 15, 2016

Lectures are clear and extensively cited; assignments are interesting.

von Ahasanul B H

Sep 17, 2019

Informative course..Thank you professor and coursera.

von Alexander S

Sep 28, 2015

Good explanation of few design ideas and technics.

von Dave G

Jan 26, 2016

Another very good class in this specialization.

von Cibele B d C

Sep 10, 2015

Really good introduction to interactive design

von Viebone

Apr 26, 2016

good tips for testing experiments

von Jiahui S

Jul 31, 2016

Interesting materials.

von Miguel C

Aug 19, 2015

I like it!

von Jaime F V

Aug 30, 2016

This course as much content in it and it's difficult to have an holistic idea how it all fits together. Some videos are taught having the same problem like, for example, some tools/themes are presented without us knowing what they are for. E.g., Chi-squared test and null hypothesis. Only after a while we understand their use. This bring a lot of overhead to us who are learning.

Some videos seem to have been re-worked over time and present cuts or jumps.

As for assignments, they should be better worked because some questions are not clear or misleading regarding the criteria that you want to evaluate.

For example, I already reported that in Question 2. and 3. of the assignment for the 3rd week. The example you give is a short introduction with two problems: 1) "I did the website", which can make the participant not to be at ease to criticize and 2) we're no evaluating the participant performance but the website. Next, you ask us to rewrite the introduction, which we do with those two problems in mind. Now, when we do the peer review we realize that you're expecting for us to rate the new introduction based on having "early prototype" and "user feedback". The original problems just seem not to count. Only by chance you can eventually write the new introduction touching the points that count for grading.

von Gioconda B

Oct 16, 2017

I like the content of the course. I feel I have learned a lot, especially working with the Chi Squared test. However, there was an example that was not clear on week 3 – Comparing rates. The example refers to comparing two buttons in a home page in order to improve traffic. The data provided was confusing because the Instructor refers that 118 people sign up the “learn more” button over a week. He calculates the chi squared value with 118 sign-ups for the “learn more” button. Then he said that 119 people sign up over a week for the same button, and he calculates the chi square value with this data. My suggestion is to review that video. Thank you.

von Panagiotis P

Feb 15, 2016

Definitely improved from the first course of this specification. Better feedback on errors regarding quizzes' questions and still really interesting assignments for peer review that help you to learn. Still missing a document or a file with all the notes that one can take away and use as a reference guide, hence only 3/5.

von Olga P

May 08, 2016

It was a good course overall, but some of the material was very complex and would require more than 3 weeks of study. I am not sure whether it will be useful in a real life, especially calculating Chi-squared and such. I also wish the professor would simplify the language in which he speaks in the lectures.

von Ronald F

May 11, 2020

Important information presented in this course. My only feedback is that a little more background or a bit more explanation on the concepts of chi square, p-value and meaning of these should have been presented. These subjects felt rushed and not well presented.

von Jon M

Aug 11, 2017

The visual design teachings could have a few more exercises that teach color choice and more details about typography styles. For example, emotions can be communicated with colors ...

von Jennifer B

Jun 19, 2018

It started off very interesting. Then it kind of fell apart during the chi-sqaure part. Some of the examples feel a bit dated and could use a bit more modern design.

von Adriana C

Mar 01, 2016

I didn't like the way contents were organized. It was too much information in a very short time.

von Jerod G

Jul 22, 2016

Several errors in lecture and lack-luster assignments decreased my perception of value.

von Arko G

May 26, 2020

The third week assignment and cumulative quiz are divergent to the course content.

von Juliana M M S

Mar 04, 2016

If you don't pay the fee to get the certification, you can't do the assignments :(

von Joseph P

Dec 10, 2016

Very interesting, but I found it a little bit confusing.

von Tyler C

Jan 08, 2018

don't feel like I'm learning from the videos.

von Jeppe C

Apr 10, 2016

Slow review process (can be).

von Ken D

Mar 28, 2018

OK

von Ian A

Apr 23, 2016

I feel that this specialization is not focused enough on developing portfolio pieces. One portfolio piece at the end of an 8-month course does not seem adequate to me. So I wish we focused more on developing high fidelity work - in addition to the need-finding, user research, sketches, short weekly assignments. This high fidelity, digital work could even be optional, but I need some guidance on what work to develop and how the overall process should look.

Even being allowed to enroll in the capstone before completing the first 7 sections would be helpful.

The review is kind of about what you are looking to get out of these classes. If you just want to LEARN about UX and human centered design, then it's a 4-5 star course. But if you want to PRODUCE some great work that will help you land a job in the industry, it might not be for you.