Chevron Left
Zurück zu Designing Cities

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Designing Cities by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
437 Bewertungen
108 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Each module in Designing Cities will focus on a different aspect of city design including: How Today’s City Evolved; The Ideas That Shape Cities; Tools for Designing Cities; Making Cities Sustainable; Cities in the Information Age; Preserving Older Cities; Designing New Cities, Districts and Neighborhoods; The Challenges of Informal Cities and Disadvantaged Neighborhoods; and Visionary Cities. Materials will be presented by the instructors and guest faculty from PennDesign through a series of five or more lessons per module, each typically 10-12 minutes long. The first lesson in each module will be a roundtable discussion among professors Stefan Al, Jonathan Barnett, and Gary Hack introducing the big issues associated with the subject. Each succeeding module will be a self-contained illustrated presentation of a set of ideas and images. There will be a list of suggested readings for those who wish to follow up on the ideas in each module. Everyone enrolled in Designing Cities will be expected to complete 3 assignments. These will be posted on the course site and they will be in the form of peer assessments. There will be a great deal to be learned from the ideas participants submit, reflecting cities of all sizes and circumstances across the globe so once you submit your assignment, you'll be able to see what your peers have done....

Top-Bewertungen

JG

Apr 19, 2016

good course, however, it was almost impossible to figure out how to do some of the assignments. I have no idea how to do PDF files. Although, I learned some of the key concepts easily.

BR

Jul 03, 2016

I like the way what we have learned in this course. The material, concepts & professors. The only issue is with the platform, in the referenced reading, we have to buy all this books?

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 108 Reviews for Designing Cities

von Ethan S

May 24, 2018

I used this course to stimulate my thinking about urban and regional planning in anticipation of applying for a Master's in the field later this year. I was re-acquainted with ideas I was already familiar with from my undergraduate coursework and was introduced to new concepts along the way. I especially enjoyed getting the chance to practice my research and design skills using the internet, historical records, government websites, and Inkscape (design software) for the course's assignments. Though this is not a technical course, it makes for a great (re)introduction to the field.

von HEMANT V P

Nov 09, 2017

The best ice cracker course, which could be pursued even by a person who has little or no knowledge about architecture and city planning. I would suggest to keep the lectures regularly updated,since there are also lot changes could be seen everyday in terms of design ideas, people's approach, construction material etc.

von Muhammad F

Sep 08, 2018

Indeed a very elaborate and technical approach followed by the respected professors towards designing this course taking in view the modern day challenges and planning techniques needed for planners across the glob, A very well designed and taught course i would recommend this course to every one whether they are planners, architects and designers.

von Ar. P C

Jan 03, 2018

Prima Fascia, I take this opportunity to thank all three wonderful tutors and instructors for such an enriching study-course. The course is well- structured to make one realize how urban planning is an important tool and science that which is the need of hour for the world. My experience has been very enlightening which made me rediscover the city to which I belong. I wish they come up with an advanced course in the same regards. Thanks.

von yousra

May 29, 2019

Amazing course

von

May 23, 2019

Thanks a lot,Although I have been working in the field of urban design for over 15 years, I have learned a lot of different things from this course.

von Jovana V

May 13, 2019

I think content is too long, it could be better summarized... and some of the lectures has a voice that makes us turn back to listen again due to don't understandable words and phrases. Usually I take a short time to finish courses but this one was the first I subscribed and I could just finish months later, thanks to the absence of dynamism, sort of "boring" methodology if you compare to other courses of coursera. Stefan is a lecturer who is objective and speaks 'understandable', the others we know that are authorities and pretty intelligent, but the classes are not good.

von Sudharshun M

Apr 22, 2019

Useful and incredibly relevant information for everyone in the world to have!

von Vinita B

Apr 18, 2019

AMAZING COURSE

von Adriana N

Mar 14, 2019

Really good couse, super assignments, and amazing teachers! I deeply recommend it.

von Sandra L

Feb 26, 2019

A great, well planned course for urban planners. We are in touch if many other professors around the world.

von Sejal S

Jan 09, 2019

An amazing course for architecture and design students, with par excellence professors. The course delves towards urban design providing great insights to reading and analyzing a city structure and design process.

von E

Jul 20, 2018

Interesting course showing the complexity and enormous task of the responsibilities involved to accommodate to the well-being of millions of people. People, being a most difficult and stubborn species to please.

von Ayushi A

Jul 20, 2018

Except the peer review system, i liked the course.

After all, a student from one country cannot judge the situation of a city in another country.

von Guy G

Jul 06, 2018

Very well put together course about designing cities.

von Varikuti.Partha.Sarathy.Reddy

Jul 02, 2018

I love geography, I love cities and I love this course.

von Ming H

Apr 07, 2018

The course is well designed, full with cutting-edge design ideas and history helping us to understand where does current designing idea come from. It helps you to understand cities besides give principles for how to design cities. thank you, professors and TAs from Penn!

von Bruno P

Mar 31, 2018

Understanding social tissue is a fortunate condition. Thanks!

von Hussam S

Mar 04, 2018

Good & informative

von Danny S S

Feb 05, 2018

A great review of Urban conceptions that need to be addressed in our modern society not to mention the reflective material provided as the course looks at historical design conceptions that can help the modern urban planner reconsider options and ideas that may solve the challenges of cities today.

von 黄瓴

Jan 24, 2018

V

von Dmitry A

Jan 14, 2018

Good course.

Theoretical content does not overshadows practical aspects of the course, so it interesting to learn (from start to the end). Great value for your time if you want to learn variety of aspects associated with City Design.

von Pooja L H

Jan 10, 2018

It was a very interesting course. The assignment were quite engaging and creative.

von בני ק

Dec 09, 2017

very fun and informative. I think it is very basic...

von MANDEEP M

Dec 06, 2017

Good presentations and good/important historic pictures for preserving heritage and improvising living standards in modern cities