Chevron Left
Zurück zu Developing Your Musicianship

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Developing Your Musicianship von Berklee College of Music

4.8
Sterne
1,010 Bewertungen
314 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Learn the basic concepts and approaches needed to understand, create, and perform contemporary music. If you have a passion for music and are curious about how it works, or if you are a musician who learned to play by ear without formal study, this course will provide you with an engaging introduction to key concepts and approaches needed to understand, create, and perform contemporary music. Taught by Berklee College of Music professor George W. Russell, Jr., the course includes six lessons that delve into harmony and ear training—two areas of intensive focus for every entering Berklee student. The course will teach you the major scale and minor pentatonic scale, and how they are constructed. You will learn what intervals are, how to sing them, and how to find them in music. The course explores tonal centers and how to find the key a song is in, in addition to common time signatures such as 4/4 and 3/4. You will learn how to build chords—major and minor triads, and major and dominant seventh chords—and how to build a common chord progression—the I IV V. You will also learn how to recognize the blues and AABA song forms, and write a basic chord sheet to express your song ideas. In addition to the video lectures, each lesson features Berklee student performances and interviews. The students share their musical journey and offer advice for those wanting to study music. The course culminates with an assignment that asks you to compose and perform a riff blues tune using the minor pentatonic scale. Above all, the course is designed to share the joy of creating music and sharing it with others. Samy Elgazzar, a graduate of Berklee College of Music and a successful composer, will be your Teaching Assistant (TA) for the course....

Top-Bewertungen

KA

Apr 14, 2020

Hands down the best music theory course I've ever taken. I had trouble with understanding theory in the past, but this course has made it so incredibly easy. I'm so happy with the results!

SG

Jul 04, 2017

Very educational for both the unexperienced people who has never played an instrument and the musicians that learned how to play by ear and want to expand their musical vocabulary.

Filtern nach:

276 - 300 von 315 Bewertungen für Developing Your Musicianship

von Andrés B O C

Sep 07, 2017

great¡¡¡

von Henjo L

Apr 18, 2017

Awesome

von SeeinTan

Sep 18, 2017

Great!

von 15451

Sep 15, 2019

太棒了!

von Paulo D G S C

Sep 03, 2019

good

von Ayasa N

Jul 23, 2019

Nice

von James C W L

Jan 09, 2018

T

von Bradley

Mar 20, 2018

Course is pretty good, but a little too short on material. Ended up only being about 1-2 hours of work per week, where as I was hoping to invest more like 6 hours a week in this. Everything is in the key of C. The final project was fun to put together. Some of the peer grading system is kind of silly, in particular sections that require going into forum posts and commenting on other people's material there. This is in contrast to the very structured peer grading for the final project, that also appears to be used in the second course in this series. Also, there are a number of free text questions in videos that require an exact match on a text phrase that are insanely stupidly implemented. For example, if the answer is "in the key of" and you type "notes in the key of", you'll repeatedly be told to try again, until you click "skip". You might as well always click "skip". Overall, pretty solid, but very basic.

von John E P

Sep 03, 2019

A good review. I was glad to see the major/minor pentatonic scales. Voicing with 7-3-5 was very satisfying. I did not enjoy the pop quiz where you have to find the precise answer or you fail. I was quoting the instructor and still got the answer wrong. No matter, I knew my answers were right so I skipped through the pop quizzes, We didn't talk about leading notes but maybe that was for a later segment. I enjoyed the instructor, George. He obviously absolutely loves music, it's contagious. Thank you George.

von Joshua L E

Jan 07, 2017

This course was a good use of time for me as I didn’t have much back ground in music theory.

I now know how to construct a major and minor scale with any root. I’m also able to use those scales to build a number of chords to help guide improvisation.

I found the ear training exercises to be a fun way to develop my musical awareness. I found them a little annoying because when I would go back to try them again my answers from the day before were still there.

von Melisa Z

Jul 16, 2020

It was a good course for learning basic things but it could be better at sharing our knowledge with different activities. The coursera system is not sufficient for music courses. I love the teacher most, he is so fantastic and sweet, i would like to take courses from him in reality :) To sum up it is a good course to take in your free time !

von Jorge A D

May 23, 2019

El curso bastante bien pero ofrecían un descuento para los cursos de Berklee Online y resulta que es solo para los que toman por primera vez, al inicio envían un correo diciendo que se les dará un descuento especial pero no especifican esa parte. Eso deja mucho que desear pero en el contenido y todo lo demás bastante bien.

von PAUL S C

Oct 05, 2020

Es muy divertido. Los ejercicios son relativamente difíciles si nunca antes has tenido un acercamiento a la música de manera académica como yo. Sin embargo, les puedo asegurar que son muy útiles y les ayudarán a dar primeros vistazos del divertido mundo que es la música.

von Marc S

Aug 10, 2017

Good introductory course for someone with little to no musical knowledge or background but it still seems a little light on material for a 6-week course. On the plus side, George is an amazing instructor with a wonderfully memorable and infectious attitude.

von Joshua W

Sep 19, 2019

Great course! Explained a lot of the foundations of music (including scales, chords, and song forms). I only wish it was a little bit more in-depth. But hey, it's only the first part of a specialization, so I'm still excited!

von Erik P

Mar 03, 2018

i do not own a printer, which made this class a bit of a challenge at first to get the sheet paper submitted.. but I liked the course content and the teacher has a great energy to him and his work.

von Francis L G P

Sep 19, 2016

This course whet my appetite for some more Berklee courses. Definitely recommended to musicians who would love to improve their craft. Thanks, Coursera and Berklee!

von Kaveesha S

Jul 02, 2020

Great course and I learned Lots of things in music theory and got a chance to train my ear as well. Most of all had lots of fun. Thank you Berklee.

von Rufina P

Aug 14, 2020

The professor is super fun and engaging! A good beginner friendly class. The video feels like it's getting outdated, but the material is timeless.

von Tan Y X

Nov 22, 2018

Was a good introduction to ear training and basic chord progressions. Good recap for intermediate-level musicians and great pace for beginners.

von Kam K Y

Nov 07, 2017

This course works for me.

I had classical background but wanted to learn more about how to make use of chords and combination of chords.

von Beatrice E W

Aug 03, 2020

Excellent course! The exercises were challenging, this course definitely pushed me out of my comfort zone...

von Somnath P

Jul 08, 2017

clefs werent clearly explained.

and easy reading and writing techniques could have been taught

von Arpit A

Sep 13, 2018

It was a good course, and I think it was a good introduction to music theory.

von Joshua C

Mar 26, 2017

Nice course, good intro. Pretty thin but helpful and good value for money.