Chevron Left
Zurück zu Valuation for Startups Using Discounted Cash Flows Approach

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Valuation for Startups Using Discounted Cash Flows Approach von Yonsei University

4.3
Sterne
225 Bewertungen
54 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Discounted cash flow method means that we can find firm value by discounting future cash flows of a firm. That is, firm value is present value of cash flows a firm generates in the future. In order to understand the meaning of present value, we are going to discuss time value of money, first. That is, the value of $100 today is different from the value of $100 a year later. Then, what should be the present value of $100 that you are going to receive in 1 year? How about the value of $100 dollars that you are going to receive every year for next 10 years? How about forever? After taking this course, you are going to be able to find the present value of these types of cash flows in the future. Unlike most of finance courses, in this course, you are going to learn how to use excel to find present value of future cash flows. In addition to the present value, you are also going to learn how to find future value given investment; interest rate given investment and future cash flows, payments given interest rates, number of periods to wait given investment and interest rate, and so on. After learning the concept and how to find the time value of money, you are going to apply this to real world examples and company valuation. After taking this course, you will be ready to make an estimate of firm value by discounting its cash flows in the future....

Top-Bewertungen

MM

Feb 13, 2020

This course has helped me in Understanding new Concepts which will be very helpful in my future Carrier. I will be thankful to Coursera to give me this great opportunity for learning.\n\nThank You

CM

Apr 29, 2019

Amazing how easy the teacher explains financial concepts that helps you through the entire specialization and to successfully do valuations using discounted cash flows.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 52 Bewertungen für Valuation for Startups Using Discounted Cash Flows Approach

von Jacob A W

Jun 09, 2017

This course is a general overview of PV and FV, along with some more advanced topics. The instructor is easy to understand and makes sure to give real world examples to help understand the complex ideas. However, there were several questions on the exams that needed further explanation from the instructor to understand or even answer. I had to google quite a few terms or ideas since the course doesn't go very deep on some topics.

von Riccardo R

Sep 11, 2019

4 stars because you absolutely need to adjust the evaluating system, it's a nightmare to guess what figure it wants to move on.

von Kabir B

May 11, 2020

This Course was a challenging one. this helps me to learn about various concepts and how to value stocks and bonds using dcf.

von Houyang B

Sep 25, 2017

The course is okay. But the exercise format is horrible.

von Javier O

Mar 10, 2017

Nice learnings, horrible experience with the exercises.

von Nirmal k s

Dec 28, 2019

This course is very useful for Finance student.

von Ottmar R

Jun 19, 2020

Some things were incorrectly labeled

von James O C

May 27, 2020

Overall, the course is good, but it doesn't provide details about how to apply it in the mini case quiz. I think the some of the key answers in the mini case quiz are wrong. I already tried 5 times, luckily I figured out the answers from the discussion of week 4 (mini case quiz). However, the discussion is confusing, the assistant teacher doesn't really explain the way to do it. As of May 27, there are still upcoming questions about the mini case since 4 years ago (2016), please recheck again the mini case quiz! Almost 90% got stuck in the mini case quiz. I hope the Coursera and Yonsei University can fix as soon as possible.

von Francisco F

Jul 08, 2019

I think some explanations on finance concepts are shallow. It basically teaches you some formulas on excel for Bond valuation and then expands it for enterprise valuation. This is a good approach, but I think there should be at least a week of courses with the ground rules of finance concepts. Also, by the end it felt a bit rushed and there was little explanation on why each formula was used.

Moreover, I think there should be a bit more direction on the assignements, such as the number formatting expected.

von SRINIVAS R

Mar 24, 2018

The content i felt was less elaborate and left me gasping while doing the final quiz, which needs to be revoked at it terms of answers input. Also it would help to have couple of questions like the final quiz provided with answers provided along with explanation, which the will cut down our un necessary queries on discussion group.

Delivery of this course in that direction could be improved further.

von Justin W

Jul 09, 2018

Great information to start with the DCF approach. A number of assets (e.g., .xlsx files) were not available when they were supposed to be. Also, there's much to be done to foster collaboration (e.g., study groups) with the users taking the course. I appreciate the introduction, however.

von Rohan J

Aug 03, 2020

The miniquiz seems wrong. While calculating terminal value, we have to consider 4% growth rate where you'll get the right answer if you take 40% growth rate. Please correct this. Many students are getting stuck because of this in the miniquiz.

von Hala E

Jul 23, 2020

The material provided is not comprehensive, I had to use external readings that was not referenced and the quizzes answers need revision

von Pablo B H

Jul 28, 2017

Some topics were not described thoroughly. However, on the quiz you had to know them very well in order to pass.

von Xingzhang Z

Apr 01, 2018

quizzes are generally more difficult than taught in the videos - prior knowledge in finance is somewhat needed.

von Sahil A

May 05, 2020

Everything was fine except for Terminal value concept, as I felt it was not taught clearly.

von Vanessa R M

Aug 06, 2018

The final quizz does not have the format of how answers should be

von Peter S

Mar 04, 2019

Videos and Instruction were enjoyable. Quizzes were convoluted

von giacomo p

Apr 26, 2019

The course has good content but it is not focused on startups

von Rubal C

Jun 02, 2020

Concepts are not easily understood.

von Marco F O C

Sep 23, 2018

no son claras las preguntas

von Aditi V

Dec 26, 2017

Difficulty level is low.

von Julian V

Mar 23, 2019

The course gives some good insight and concepts with the matter and some tools.

However, for a person with no precedent knowledge with that (financial) matter, it requires some "brain gymnastic" and important notions need to be more detailed (i.e Terminal Value in 3.3 and 4.1).

Furthermore, the degree of complexity between the quiz and the courses is to large, despite the forum provided some hints or partial answer. Additional examples similar to the quiz should be provided.

I was hoping for a more streamline method. If I have to value a company in the future, I would like to have a clear step-by-step method I could go back to and use.

von Kinan H

Apr 19, 2020

Thank you professor, I appreciate your effort very much.

I would have appreciated more explanation about the terms presented in this course, you have done a great job explaining the method of solving the problems and exercises, but it was a bit difficult to understand the definitions of most of the terms, for example terminal value, increase and working capital and why increase not decrease.

von Lukáš K

Oct 15, 2016

The course is very much focused in the method of DCF, but there is a lack of information regarding how to apply it to startups in practice.