Chevron Left
Zurück zu Discrete Math and Analyzing Social Graphs

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Discrete Math and Analyzing Social Graphs von National Research University Higher School of Economics

4.6
Sterne
203 Bewertungen
48 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The main goal of this course is to introduce topics in Discrete Mathematics relevant to Data Analysis. We will start with a brief introduction to combinatorics, the branch of mathematics that studies how to count. Basics of this topic are critical for anyone working in Data Analysis or Computer Science. We will illustrate new knowledge, for example, by counting the number of features in data or by estimating the time required for a Python program to run. Next, we will apply our knowledge in combinatorics to study basic Probability Theory. Probability is everywhere in Data Analysis and we will study it in much more details later. Our goals for probability section in this course will be to give initial flavor of this field. Finally, we will study the combinatorial structure that is the most relevant for Data Analysis, namely graphs. Graphs can be found everywhere around us and we will provide you with numerous examples. We will mainly concentrate in this course on the graphs of social networks. We will provide you with relevant notions from the graph theory, illustrate them on the graphs of social networks and will study their basic properties. In the end of the course we will have a project related to social network graphs. As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in Python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in Data Analysis, starting from motivated high school students....

Top-Bewertungen

SS

Feb 28, 2020

this is a great course i love it and i learned many things like counting , basic of probability graphs\n\nthe first four weeks are amazing the last two weeks was hard to me but possible to solve

LR

Mar 31, 2020

The course is very understandable and assignments are very interesting and applicable. I love the way Russians teach mathematics, therefore I will continue watching courses from this University.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 48 Bewertungen für Discrete Math and Analyzing Social Graphs

von Vladyslav C

Feb 14, 2020

Overall course is OK, but it has few problems:

1) The way of presenting of the material. It is clear that target to cover 2-3 area of discrete mathematics under 5 weeks (not counting latest week for Python assignment) is very optimistic, but better to make more weeks or increase amount of video rather than it is in the course. All materials are extremely short, just giving you few formulas and then in very-very easy graded task you apply this formula.

In fact, instead of teaching math, this course is teaching you to apply few formulas to very standard problems to get the result.

I would prefer having let's say 10 weeks each with double amount of video, but with a proper mathematical introduction.

2) Final week and Python assignment has absolutely nothing to do with the previous 5 weeks, looks really weird and not prepared

von Muddasser N

Feb 23, 2020

Very good course and must be taken for good understanding of the underlying concepts. Instructors are really good and knowledgeable. However, more material to read and study could be provided for those who like to get more in-depth understanding of the subject matter at hand.

von Deleted A

Jan 14, 2020

Great Course. Concise and Easy to Follow. Final Assignment should have been more comprehensive.

von Ha T T

Feb 07, 2020

very bad

von SABRIOUS

Feb 28, 2020

this is a great course i love it and i learned many things like counting , basic of probability graphs

the first four weeks are amazing the last two weeks was hard to me but possible to solve

von Xingxing T

Apr 03, 2020

This course is very helpful to gain analyzing skills and mindset with discrete math. Some math concepts I struggled was easy to absorb during the course.

von Ana M B O

May 18, 2020

This was an amazing review of all the topics necessary to understand probability theory and social graphs. Wish I had seen this before I started my thesis on Social Network Analysis. It's a really good introduction to SNA. I also loved the summary of lectures provided by the instructors. Thank you so much!

von rajasekaran

May 21, 2020

This is a very useful course for anyone beginning to learn or trying to refresh basics in combinatorics, probability and graph theory. The content is very simple esp. combinatorics and probability. i was able to apply the learning quickly in programming situations.

von Carlos M V R

Jun 21, 2020

It was a great course, but I suggest to be more clear with the information about the course (for example some people do not know anything about programming but it is necessary for finishing the course)

von Lala R

Mar 31, 2020

The course is very understandable and assignments are very interesting and applicable. I love the way Russians teach mathematics, therefore I will continue watching courses from this University.

von Basavaraj S A

May 05, 2020

It is a good course and quite informative. I request instructors to give some more details about programming assignment giving details about submission

von Gilles T O M K

Apr 06, 2020

Very interested course. I'm so happy by that I earned this certificat, but the struggle continue.

von Третьяков О А

Jun 24, 2020

Great course!

There are more Eulers paths that you can imagine, it's like zodiaque. ))

von Mohammad S C

Jun 17, 2020

Good Course but need to improve in some things like resource and basic things

von K A

Jul 06, 2020

Most of the course was very clear and explained things in detail.

von Daniel H C

Mar 14, 2020

Lessons are well-paced and instructors explain well

von Dr. R .

May 19, 2020

Very informative. Enjoyed doing assignments.

von Jonathan M

Mar 24, 2020

Very informative overview of Discrete Math.

von Adewinbi H S

Apr 30, 2020

I enjoyed the course.

von Ajit C B

Jun 21, 2020

very good course!

von Manmohan K

Jun 21, 2020

Very good course

von TANGIRALA S P S

Feb 24, 2020

good session

von Mohammad S

Jun 12, 2020

Great course

von Pham L Q N

Jul 05, 2020

Very good

von AHMED A

May 23, 2020

Thank you