Chevron Left
Zurück zu Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I)

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I) von University of California San Diego

4.7
505 Bewertungen
104 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Named a top 50 MOOC of all time by Class Central! This course begins a series of classes illustrating the power of computing in modern biology. Please join us on the frontier of bioinformatics to look for hidden messages in DNA without ever needing to put on a lab coat. In the first half of the course, we investigate DNA replication, and ask the question, where in the genome does DNA replication begin? We will see that we can answer this question for many bacteria using only some straightforward algorithms to look for hidden messages in the genome. In the second half of the course, we examine a different biological question, when we ask which DNA patterns play the role of molecular clocks. The cells in your body manage to maintain a circadian rhythm, but how is this achieved on the level of DNA? Once again, we will see that by knowing which hidden messages to look for, we can start to understand the amazingly complex language of DNA. Perhaps surprisingly, we will apply randomized algorithms, which roll dice and flip coins in order to solve problems. Finally, you will get your hands dirty and apply existing software tools to find recurring biological motifs within genes that are responsible for helping Mycobacterium tuberculosis go "dormant" within a host for many years before causing an active infection....

Top-Bewertungen

JL

Jul 30, 2018

This course is very very good. Challenging at times. It does not hold your hand at all times and sometimes requires research to solve some of the problems, but I like the community and the approach.

DD

Sep 11, 2019

The material of the course is simply exquisitely presented. The concepts are clear, easy to grasp. You won't be a bioinformatician after doing this course, but you'll make the first step.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 100 Bewertungen für Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I)

von Adrien L

Jun 26, 2016

Excellent teachers, excellent assignments. My favorite MOOC so far, congrats!

von Nicolas S V

Mar 24, 2018

Insightful and introductory course to the bioinformatics world.

von Karen G

Feb 09, 2017

great introduction!

von Ahmed N A

Jul 23, 2017

I can just say that this course is awesomely excellent!

von ChenYuexi

Jun 22, 2017

Those pseudocode help a lot. And this course helps me start coding.

von Alina F

Jun 06, 2016

After completing only one Week I am absolutely sure that this course is amazing!

von Brian A

Feb 18, 2017

Doing the Honors track. It's hard, but extremely rewarding! Thanks for making an awesome course.

von Anil K P

Jan 10, 2017

I like the intersection of computer science and biology!

von Mohamed E

Jul 08, 2017

An excellent Course, The course left me more enthusiastic about Bio-informatics , Thanks

von Naveen P

Jun 19, 2016

Very well structured and informative. Got a good understanding of motifs finding and its related algorithms

von Dmitry G

May 26, 2016

Excellent course!

von Mare B

Jul 17, 2016

Very interesting course for those who want to learn new algorithms.

von 俞文冰

Oct 20, 2016

Great course. Learn

von vibha h

Apr 12, 2017

Wonderful course for anyone who wants to explore bioinformatics. I really liked the programming assignments.

von Hao-Wen S

Feb 12, 2018

The course was challenging and the workload was heavy (for the honors track). Yet very rewarding in the end - thank you!

von Yichi S

Mar 05, 2018

Very nice introductory course. Well designed and very interactive. I really love it.

von Qianhao L

Jul 27, 2017

The algorithms mentioned in this course are explained very well. But still a little bit of programming language is needed. Look forward to the advanced courses.

von Manuel A

Jul 26, 2016

Very good course, but at the same time very hard. Unless you have quite a bit of experience programing, be prepared to spend at least 15 hours a week working on this class. The good news is that if you do spend that time, you will learn a lot.

von Weidong X

Nov 26, 2016

very good.

von Tirthankar S

Apr 02, 2018

One of the best online courses I've ever taken. Since I come from a biotechnology background, this course was particularly relevant for me in terms of its depth and thoroughness. Seriously considering a future in computational biology, thanks to this course.

von Xiaoyu Z

Oct 20, 2016

Great Course!

von Karuppusamy A

Sep 30, 2016

A very structured course

von Matthew R

Aug 14, 2017

Really enjoyed the course

von Dragica J

Sep 12, 2016

Very interesting course! I am enrolling to bioinformatics II :)

von Patricio C G A

Mar 22, 2018

Excellent! Recommended for any professional in the field that needs a truly understanding of Bioinformatics.