Chevron Left
Zurück zu Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I)

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I) von University of California San Diego

4.7
506 Bewertungen
105 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Named a top 50 MOOC of all time by Class Central! This course begins a series of classes illustrating the power of computing in modern biology. Please join us on the frontier of bioinformatics to look for hidden messages in DNA without ever needing to put on a lab coat. In the first half of the course, we investigate DNA replication, and ask the question, where in the genome does DNA replication begin? We will see that we can answer this question for many bacteria using only some straightforward algorithms to look for hidden messages in the genome. In the second half of the course, we examine a different biological question, when we ask which DNA patterns play the role of molecular clocks. The cells in your body manage to maintain a circadian rhythm, but how is this achieved on the level of DNA? Once again, we will see that by knowing which hidden messages to look for, we can start to understand the amazingly complex language of DNA. Perhaps surprisingly, we will apply randomized algorithms, which roll dice and flip coins in order to solve problems. Finally, you will get your hands dirty and apply existing software tools to find recurring biological motifs within genes that are responsible for helping Mycobacterium tuberculosis go "dormant" within a host for many years before causing an active infection....

Top-Bewertungen

JL

Jul 30, 2018

This course is very very good. Challenging at times. It does not hold your hand at all times and sometimes requires research to solve some of the problems, but I like the community and the approach.

DD

Sep 11, 2019

The material of the course is simply exquisitely presented. The concepts are clear, easy to grasp. You won't be a bioinformatician after doing this course, but you'll make the first step.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 100 Bewertungen für Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I)

von Ursu E

Jan 23, 2017

Great course

von Ziyue L

Oct 27, 2016

It is great!

von Dimas D T S C

Aug 12, 2016

extremamente bem feito .

von Pablo L C

Aug 29, 2016

An excellent course. It worths to take it till the end.

von Szymon T

Dec 29, 2016

This course is excelent!!!

von Sri M K

Dec 04, 2016

This course has been a lot of fun. However, I would like to experience more!

von Alex M

Jun 14, 2016

The interactive lessons are excellent! Especially with the optional break-out lessons to dive deeper.

von Philipp M

Sep 10, 2017

This course is really educational and well designed. The course content is well structured and clearly described. If you have no previous knowledge in this topic, I would recommend to start with the beginner's course "Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners" in order to be prepared for concepts like pseudocode or the computational way of thinking in general.

Definitely recommended!

von Ivo P

Apr 02, 2018

Well prepared course although sometimes tough due to algorithmization tasks even for people with programming background.

von Mihai P

Dec 04, 2017

Nice and recommended.

(The final exam was a bit tedious though, with many points repeatedly given simply for "uploading the logo" and not much creative leeway)

von Mhd Y Y

Dec 12, 2017

A GOOD START TO LEARN BIOINFORMATICS, AND ITS ALGORITHMS.

YOU SHOULD HAVE SOME PROGRAMMING EXPERIENCE FOR A BETTER UNDERSTANDING.

^_^

von Robert K

Aug 30, 2016

This was fantastic course! I've never experienced such passion in an online course. I've learned so much, and I am striving for more... fortunately this is just the beginning. No wonder it has been proclaimed as one of the 50 most popular MOOCs of all time. Not because it is popular you should take it, it has become popular because it is just marvellous.

Worth it!

von Shengbo W

Sep 10, 2018

It is really helpful!

von Julian A S

Oct 16, 2018

Clear and well-formatted. No instructional support in the forums was disappointing, though.

von Oscar J O R

Aug 14, 2018

Really nice and clear course. The hands-on learning is fundamental to create a smooth transition between algorithms and biology.

von Olaf W

Oct 02, 2018

Great content, very well structured. Loved the interactive text with the graded coding exercises.

von Fish

May 13, 2019

I can learn a lot from the simple samples but I think I still have a long way.

von John K F E

Jul 19, 2019

Great introduction to Python and Algorithms and its application to Bioinformatics

von Zack X

Jul 21, 2019

In depth and comprehensive coverage of the topics in genetic data analysis.

von Ali J

Aug 17, 2019

Hard class

If you have problems, go ahead and take Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics (University of California San Diego)... Highly suggest that

von Rudramani P

Aug 24, 2019

It is really engaging course.

von Daniel D

Sep 11, 2019

The material of the course is simply exquisitely presented. The concepts are clear, easy to grasp. You won't be a bioinformatician after doing this course, but you'll make the first step.

von Hugo E C A

Sep 12, 2019

One great course, however there is not a lot of people to qualify your assignments

von Prateek B

Oct 11, 2019

Good course for a start.

von Cagdas U

Jan 05, 2019

The answers are stale. MEME tool results don't match what they expect. It takes a while to find students to review.