Chevron Left
Zurück zu Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I)

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I) von University of California San Diego

4.5
Sterne
764 Bewertungen
174 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Named a top 50 MOOC of all time by Class Central! This course begins a series of classes illustrating the power of computing in modern biology. Please join us on the frontier of bioinformatics to look for hidden messages in DNA without ever needing to put on a lab coat. In the first half of the course, we investigate DNA replication, and ask the question, where in the genome does DNA replication begin? We will see that we can answer this question for many bacteria using only some straightforward algorithms to look for hidden messages in the genome. In the second half of the course, we examine a different biological question, when we ask which DNA patterns play the role of molecular clocks. The cells in your body manage to maintain a circadian rhythm, but how is this achieved on the level of DNA? Once again, we will see that by knowing which hidden messages to look for, we can start to understand the amazingly complex language of DNA. Perhaps surprisingly, we will apply randomized algorithms, which roll dice and flip coins in order to solve problems. Finally, you will get your hands dirty and apply existing software tools to find recurring biological motifs within genes that are responsible for helping Mycobacterium tuberculosis go "dormant" within a host for many years before causing an active infection....

Top-Bewertungen

JL

Jul 30, 2018

This course is very very good. Challenging at times. It does not hold your hand at all times and sometimes requires research to solve some of the problems, but I like the community and the approach.

SH

Apr 07, 2020

Excellent introduction to bioinformatics. They put a lot of heart and thought into the design of the course. I will continue to use the concepts I've learned in and out of bioinformatics.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 169 Bewertungen für Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I)

von Rajat S 1

Jun 03, 2020

it was nice

von qi w

Mar 02, 2020

Very clear!

von Luis S M F

Jun 04, 2020

Super cool

von Weidong X

Nov 26, 2016

very good.

von Greta G

Jan 11, 2019

Great!

von Owen J

Jan 04, 2017

This is certainly not a course for beginners! The content of the course were rather complex and prior computer science knowledge is extremely helpful to finish this course. It was a struggle for me to finish this course without any background in computer science. However, it was definitely challenging and gave me an insight on how two different disciplines can be connected in a single field of study. The only improvement I could think of is if there were videos regarding the basic computer science knowledge that could have helped biologists such as myself. Perhaps giving an example on how things are done could be useful. There were only a handful of examples and the examples only gave the answers but did not explain how to get that answer well enough.

von Jennifer M M

May 01, 2018

Great course. Good introduction to applying computer science to real biology problems. Only cons to this course is that it tries to split the line between biologists wanting to learn more bioinformatics and data scientists wanting to learn bioinformatics which boils down to the coding being tough and at times not well explained and there not being enough explanation for the biology part. I wouldn't take this if you don't have any coding skills because without working through the coding challenges the course isn't useful and for those with what would be more novice coding skills (like me) be prepared to spend a lot of time on this course. Well worth the challenge.

von Micheal A

Jun 26, 2018

I found this course incredibly enlightening and because I feel so highly of it I'm going to buy the accompanying book. My one issue is with peer evaluation of the final assignment, I don't believe in peer evaluation in situations where the peers may not be trained. What if one of the graders don't understand why they have a question wrong, despite having seen the answers. I don't think such a person should be allowed to perform evaluations. That being said,all the algorithms and the explanations behind them, super interesting and because I have taken this course and learned what I have, I am now considering graduate school in this field.

von Liudmila D

Jul 18, 2020

The authors are funny guys and the explanation of material is solid. However, I found programming tasks not specified properly. I found difficulties in understanding ~25% of tasks and I had to read comments to get the task properly. In addition, there are lots of dependencies on syntaxis output which has nothing to do with answers and material understanding. Poor biologists who attempt to complete the programming section. It has to be improved (and there are tons of ideas on how to improve it in Stepik comments ). Just improve the programming part and the course will become invaluable!

von Beatrice R

Sep 28, 2017

I enjoyed and learned a lot from this course. I have no background in biology or computer science. My recommendation would be that there are more examples and explanations and problem-solving activities that do not require programming. This is my first Coursera course and I realize I could have benefitted more from hearing and speaking about what I was learning. It would have helped me answer the short-answer questions of the project. I hope to complete the specialization and have already started the second course.

von Duncan P

May 03, 2020

This is a really good introduction to finding motifs - thank you!

The main thing I feel could do with some attention is the automated marking of some of the assignments, particularly the final one on Week 4, where only 7% of submissions are marked as correct because the probabilistic algorithm only gets the expected answer some of the time. There is also often inconsistency on expected whitespace (really, who care about insignificant whitespace).

von Francois O

Oct 31, 2017

Very interesting. I learned two important concepts about DNA during this class. C-G skew due to a more likely odd of mutation; and how to find motifs in seemingly random DNA strings. However some pseudocodes need some improvements. They sometime have part that only make sense after you read comments by other students, or variable names that could be better chosen (I wrote a comment at that place).

von Rohit C R

Jan 15, 2017

It may be more helpful to students who are not taking the honors code if they had access to ready made programming codes to complete the stepik exercises as it is extremely taxing and not feasible to solve all problems by hand.

Brilliantly structured and very effective learning method!

I also felt that Gibbs sampling could have been explained further or more in detail.

Thank you!

von Fikrat T

Nov 11, 2019

Excellent course. Excellent tutors. I am a fan of stepik.org and this course. However, the only thing that I consider redundant in this course is peer to peer assignment; and I guess solution here is to reduce number of peers who must review the assignment. I think 3 peers are enough to grade the assignment.

But everything rest is top!

von Shane P

Aug 15, 2020

Great course! Really liked the instructors and the online tool to follow along with concepts and coding challenges. There were a few points with vague instructions that took some extra time to figure out. Would definitely recommend this course but it will be more difficult for people with little to no programming experience.

von Lee Z Y

Sep 27, 2020

Content-wise it was great. I got quite disheartened by the peer graded assignment: the majority of the submissions I graded just copied the rubric. There needs to be a negative grade for cheaters - but I think it better that we don't have peer-graded assignments in the first place.

von Yousef A S A

Jan 12, 2019

I really liked the course, I had fun finishing assignments and learning the theory behind each concept. However, I take my time very seriously and this course has underrated the time you should devote as I end up having too much pressure due to other work I should be doing.

von Vishnu K

Oct 06, 2020

This course is awesome but I had done the same course named Biology meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners which was uploaded ago by these guys but it was not a specialization for that course. Or I may not say it very surely.

von Michael O

Jun 29, 2016

Very nice course and information, but backend could be more polished. Many tasks (expecially about randomized algorithms) could fail even if you do 100% right. And very little debug information provided.

von Christiane A

Mar 06, 2017

Fascinating subject where informatics and biology come together . By taking these courses you get a deep understanding of how research results are obtained by multidisciplinary teams.

von Dhivyaprakash N

Sep 27, 2020

It was very tough and worth attempting it because I have given many numbers of attempts in all the quizzes but at every attempt, I could rectify my mistakes.

von Estefania E

Jun 28, 2017

A good course and introduction. Some of the computer graded homework assignments need better explanations for the desired result set, to avoid frustration.

von Igor K

Aug 18, 2017

Very interesting lectures and practical assignments. But in my opinion the capstone project is not too interesting for "computer" people.

von ALF

May 01, 2020

The course was great. I would recommend it to anyone interested. There are a few things to fix, especially on the external toolkit.

von Shabnam S

May 14, 2020

Some of the Stepik material needs to be updated and put in more clear and simpler language. Otherwise, great learning curve!