Chevron Left
Zurück zu Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I)

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I) von University of California San Diego

4.7
497 Bewertungen
103 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Named a top 50 MOOC of all time by Class Central! This course begins a series of classes illustrating the power of computing in modern biology. Please join us on the frontier of bioinformatics to look for hidden messages in DNA without ever needing to put on a lab coat. In the first half of the course, we investigate DNA replication, and ask the question, where in the genome does DNA replication begin? We will see that we can answer this question for many bacteria using only some straightforward algorithms to look for hidden messages in the genome. In the second half of the course, we examine a different biological question, when we ask which DNA patterns play the role of molecular clocks. The cells in your body manage to maintain a circadian rhythm, but how is this achieved on the level of DNA? Once again, we will see that by knowing which hidden messages to look for, we can start to understand the amazingly complex language of DNA. Perhaps surprisingly, we will apply randomized algorithms, which roll dice and flip coins in order to solve problems. Finally, you will get your hands dirty and apply existing software tools to find recurring biological motifs within genes that are responsible for helping Mycobacterium tuberculosis go "dormant" within a host for many years before causing an active infection....

Top-Bewertungen

JL

Jul 30, 2018

This course is very very good. Challenging at times. It does not hold your hand at all times and sometimes requires research to solve some of the problems, but I like the community and the approach.

DD

Sep 11, 2019

The material of the course is simply exquisitely presented. The concepts are clear, easy to grasp. You won't be a bioinformatician after doing this course, but you'll make the first step.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 99 Bewertungen für Finding Hidden Messages in DNA (Bioinformatics I)

von Federico R

Sep 28, 2016

Excelente!!!

Very well explained. I'm a molecular biologist seeking for some programming skills and understanding of the basics of the everydays tools. I've found some caveats in the coding problems from stepik but I understand that's difficult to give complete and exact explanations to everyone and every programming language that someone can use. Besides that everything's perfect! And recommended!

von Hao-Wen S

Feb 12, 2018

The course was challenging and the workload was heavy (for the honors track). Yet very rewarding in the end - thank you!

von Yichi S

Mar 05, 2018

Very nice introductory course. Well designed and very interactive. I really love it.

von Qianhao L

Jul 27, 2017

The algorithms mentioned in this course are explained very well. But still a little bit of programming language is needed. Look forward to the advanced courses.

von Manuel A

Jul 26, 2016

Very good course, but at the same time very hard. Unless you have quite a bit of experience programing, be prepared to spend at least 15 hours a week working on this class. The good news is that if you do spend that time, you will learn a lot.

von Weidong X

Nov 26, 2016

very good.

von Tirthankar S

Apr 02, 2018

One of the best online courses I've ever taken. Since I come from a biotechnology background, this course was particularly relevant for me in terms of its depth and thoroughness. Seriously considering a future in computational biology, thanks to this course.

von Xiaoyu Z

Oct 20, 2016

Great Course!

von Philipp M

Sep 10, 2017

This course is really educational and well designed. The course content is well structured and clearly described. If you have no previous knowledge in this topic, I would recommend to start with the beginner's course "Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners" in order to be prepared for concepts like pseudocode or the computational way of thinking in general.

Definitely recommended!

von Ivo P

Apr 02, 2018

Well prepared course although sometimes tough due to algorithmization tasks even for people with programming background.

von Mihai P

Dec 04, 2017

Nice and recommended.

(The final exam was a bit tedious though, with many points repeatedly given simply for "uploading the logo" and not much creative leeway)

von Mhd Y Y

Dec 12, 2017

A GOOD START TO LEARN BIOINFORMATICS, AND ITS ALGORITHMS.

YOU SHOULD HAVE SOME PROGRAMMING EXPERIENCE FOR A BETTER UNDERSTANDING.

^_^

von Robert K

Aug 30, 2016

This was fantastic course! I've never experienced such passion in an online course. I've learned so much, and I am striving for more... fortunately this is just the beginning. No wonder it has been proclaimed as one of the 50 most popular MOOCs of all time. Not because it is popular you should take it, it has become popular because it is just marvellous.

Worth it!

von Pavel O

Apr 12, 2019

Very good course to start learning bioinformatics

von Fish

May 13, 2019

I can learn a lot from the simple samples but I think I still have a long way.

von Krishnendu S

Mar 28, 2019

Exceptionally beautiful course. Must be for those want to start career in bioinformatics. But prior basic knowledge in any programming language would be appropriate if someone wants to extract every aspect of this course.

von Andrew C

Mar 29, 2019

I feel this was a good introduction to bioinformatics. It can be a little confusing sometimes, but there was nothing I could not figure out in the end

von John K F E

Jul 19, 2019

Great introduction to Python and Algorithms and its application to Bioinformatics

von Zack X

Jul 21, 2019

In depth and comprehensive coverage of the topics in genetic data analysis.

von Ali J

Aug 17, 2019

Hard class

If you have problems, go ahead and take Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics (University of California San Diego)... Highly suggest that

von Daniel D

Sep 11, 2019

The material of the course is simply exquisitely presented. The concepts are clear, easy to grasp. You won't be a bioinformatician after doing this course, but you'll make the first step.

von Hugo E C A

Sep 12, 2019

One great course, however there is not a lot of people to qualify your assignments

von Rudramani P

Aug 24, 2019

It is really engaging course.

von Prateek B

Oct 11, 2019

Good course for a start.

von Cagdas U

Jan 05, 2019

The answers are stale. MEME tool results don't match what they expect. It takes a while to find students to review.