Chevron Left
Zurück zu Algorithms for DNA Sequencing

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Algorithms for DNA Sequencing von Johns Hopkins University

4.8
440 Bewertungen
104 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We will learn computational methods -- algorithms and data structures -- for analyzing DNA sequencing data. We will learn a little about DNA, genomics, and how DNA sequencing is used. We will use Python to implement key algorithms and data structures and to analyze real genomes and DNA sequencing datasets....

Top-Bewertungen

VK

Aug 08, 2017

This course provided me a very quick overview of all the core concepts pertaining to DNA sequencing. It is very well organized, crystal clear demonstration of concepts and I really enjoyed the course.

AL

Jul 07, 2019

This is the best course so far in this specialization. I enjoyed the way both instructors explained the concepts using simple analogies. It was a really productive month for me!

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 101 Bewertungen für Algorithms for DNA Sequencing

von Tom

May 19, 2019

This was an outstanding class. Thank you very much.

von Bingdi L

Jun 02, 2019

Great!!!

von Asfar L

Jul 07, 2019

This is the best course so far in this specialization. I enjoyed the way both instructors explained the concepts using simple analogies. It was a really productive month for me!

von Fan S

Jul 24, 2019

Wonderful course! However, I think most of the homework can be improved to become more challenging.

von Yawei W

Jul 26, 2019

An excellent course! Learned a lot through the well-designed lectures and assignments.

von Valentino P

Aug 07, 2019

The best online course I have ever taken! Congrats!

von Matteo B

Aug 13, 2019

Not so easy homeworks, but the course is very clear and very interesting. 100% OK

von Robert D

Aug 15, 2019

Of the first four courses in the specialization, this is by far the best. The instructor is incredibly clear, teaches with an obvious interest in student learning, and conveys complex topics incredibly well. The practical sessions are an amazing addition and it is impressive to watch the algorithms come alive in such an elegant fashion. Both instructors in the practicals are exceptional.

von Xiaoou D

May 07, 2019

Very clear presentation. Good analogies used to help with understanding abstract concepts. Both instructors are excellent teachers.

von Omnia G

Sep 15, 2019

One of the best online courses that I have ever taken

von Hylke C D

Aug 27, 2019

Very nice homework exercises.

von Konstantinos K

Oct 10, 2019

Excellent course and excellent instructors! This course had really good content and I learned a lot in a field I already work in. Recommend to anyone who want to learn more On Algorithms for DNA Sequencing!

von Geoffrey K

Nov 17, 2018

I was completely new to Python when I started this course - and the good news is I learned enough to complete! (Yay!)

I suspect I'd have given the course 5 stars had I started with slightly more Python knowledge.

Still, the feeling of having got through is sweet all the same!!

von David B

Aug 22, 2018

It is well explained. More space to programming practical exercise is suggested.Very intriguing Programming Homework! You have to apply all the python knowledge you have learned so far and also the one you have still to learn :)

von Horațiu P

Apr 15, 2016

Awesome course. I recommend it to all how like programming and biology, specially DNA.

von Valdir B J

Mar 17, 2018

Very good lectures. Some of the homework assignments were kind of hard though (and no help in the discussion forums).

von Roman C

Feb 21, 2016

This course gives a good introduction to some basic algorithms.

The standards it sets for students, however, is very low. They ask you to download an already written piece of Python code and change a line or two.

To get the most out of this course, I recommend implementing all the algorithms yourself, perhaps even in a different language.

"Algorithms on Strings, Trees and Sequences" by Dan Gusfield will be very useful for that.

von Ana P

Jun 04, 2017

Great teaching, very interesting content. Only missing some checking of the contents (homework pages especially).

von Aydolun

Sep 23, 2017

If you do not have a coding background, you might find the homeworks hard but the practicals in the course are very helpful.

von SHAN Z K

Nov 20, 2017

It's better to get familiar with python and start the class

von LucyZhang

Apr 30, 2017

It's a little bit hard for the fresh guys

von chunchao z

Jul 09, 2019

The lectures are really excellent. Things that could be improved are coding instructions. These clips are not always as clear as lectures. My suggesting is using some graphs, examples, or pseudo code when writing the python codes.

von Kaley W

Oct 09, 2019

Very engaging and interesting course! Ben Langmead explains concepts very clearly and has clean, well-structured presentations. Enough biological background is provided even for individuals with no experience with genomics. What I found most helpful about the course is that the Jupyter Notebooks from the lectures are freely available on GitHub.

von Christos G

Feb 14, 2016

The subject of the course is very interesting. Lectures are very engaging and professors do a great job explaining abstract concepts. On the other hand, assignments are extremely difficult and frustrating. The lack of feedback for the assignments leaves you with important knowledge gaps and that's a serious flaw for a course that offers so much most of the time.

von ELISA W

May 17, 2018

I am torn about this class. On one hand, there was some good information, and I definitely learned more throughout the course. On the other hand, as a biologist trying to learn programming, this course was insufficient. Very little of the programming code was explained (and considered obvious?). I spent a lot of time googling to understand the code so that I could not only learn but complete the assignments. There are some concepts (like the use of __init__) which I still do not understand. Also, the "hints" to accomplish the homework assignments were definitely not well explained. I only managed to increase the speed of my programs by going through the discussion forums for hours until I found something that helped.

Also, as a biologist, it is obvious that this course is not designed so that a computer programmer learns much about the biology. A simple (but necessary!!) change would be to refer to the left and right as 5' and 3'. Using biological terminology would have helped me understand what the lecturer was talking about.

Plainly, this is a course for a computer person to learn more code. It could be taught to do so much more!!