Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science by IBM

4.3
545 Bewertungen
110 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Apache Spark is the de-facto standard for large scale data processing. This is the first course of a series of courses towards the IBM Advanced Data Science Specialization. We strongly believe that is is crucial for success to start learning a scalable data science platform since memory and CPU constraints are to most limiting factors when it comes to building advanced machine learning models. In this course we teach you the fundamentals of Apache Spark using python and pyspark. We'll introduce Apache Spark in the first two weeks and learn how to apply it to compute basic exploratory and data pre-processing tasks in the last two weeks. Through this exercise you'll also be introduced to the most fundamental statistical measures and data visualization technologies. This gives you enough knowledge to take over the role of a data engineer in any modern environment. But it gives you also the basis for advancing your career towards data science. Please have a look at the full specialization curriculum: https://www.coursera.org/specializations/advanced-data-science-ibm If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you will also earn an IBM digital badge. To find out more about IBM digital badges follow the link ibm.biz/badging. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe how basic statistical measures, are used to reveal patterns within the data • Recognize data characteristics, patterns, trends, deviations or inconsistencies, and potential outliers. • Identify useful techniques for working with big data such as dimension reduction and feature selection methods • Use advanced tools and charting libraries to: o improve efficiency of analysis of big-data with partitioning and parallel analysis o Visualize the data in an number of 2D and 3D formats (Box Plot, Run Chart, Scatter Plot, Pareto Chart, and Multidimensional Scaling) For successful completion of the course, the following prerequisites are recommended: • Basic programming skills in python • Basic math • Basic SQL (you can get it easily from https://www.coursera.org/learn/sql-data-science if needed) In order to complete this course, the following technologies will be used: (These technologies are introduced in the course as necessary so no previous knowledge is required.) • Jupyter notebooks (brought to you by IBM Watson Studio for free) • ApacheSpark (brought to you by IBM Watson Studio for free) • Python This course takes four weeks, 4-6h per week...

Top-Bewertungen

HS

Sep 10, 2017

A perfect course to pace off with exploration towards sensor-data analytics using Apache Spark and python libraries.\n\nKudos man.

MT

Feb 08, 2019

Good course content, however, some of the material especially the IBM cloud environment setup sometimes confusing

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 124 Reviews for Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science

von Mike D

Nov 29, 2018

Currently, it is not advisable to take this course.

I have finished the excellent IBM Data Science Professional Certificate series on Coursera and wanted to improve my knowledge of scalable Data Science with this series. Unfortunately, the videos and advice are extensively outdated. Python 2 is used through this course and the instructions of how to set up Node-RED and Cloudant do not work. I have been trying to work myself around that but then again, I wouldn't need this course in the first place and it only leads to confusion. Also, instead of the Cloudant application UI, Kibana seems to be used now, which there is no introduction to. I have noticed that Romeo Kienzler, the course lead, is very active and dedicated in the discussion forums. I am afraid, I have to give this course 0 stars for content (for now) and 5 stars for course lead dedication.

von David-Leigh B

Dec 18, 2018

IBM cloud environment is buggy and inconsistent with lectures.

When deploying services it sometimes fails and you are unable to remove them, rendering the account inoperable (as you have limits on free tier)

von Robert M

Jun 12, 2019

Training Videos are pretty good for a beginner but to consider this an advanced course is incorrect. Intermediate at most. In addition the application of lessons to assignments were minimal as the answers needed for the assignment were not related to the content that was discussed, just very simple fill in the blank.

von Marcin S

Apr 14, 2019

not enough additional materials

von Dmitry B

Jan 11, 2019

This course is teaching how to work with data in a distributed environment. While getting used to IBM Cloud takes time, it is definitely a friendlier environment for data scientists and it removes the burden of setting up the infrastructure.

von Zhihao Z

Jan 04, 2019

I couldn't find most relevant IBM web pages only with the instructions; I spotted typos and bugs in exercises; the most disappointing part is the autograder which malfunctions OFTEN on unclear grounds, I had to submit my assignment multiple times and to test the autograder.

I could have spent less time learning more.

von Vuong B A

Nov 30, 2018

Setup process is tedious

von Gabor K

Nov 10, 2018

I will un-enroll after 7 days in the course as the basic cloud environment setup did not work as written in the course handouts and videos. Which could be okay, however noone replied to my questions for 4 days on that, and the reply tips did not work either. Updating with screenshots, explanations no answer till today so what would have been a 15 minute job takes 7+ days here. At other coursera and competition platforms all my questions got answered in hours vs weeks as in this course.

von Vincenzo M

Apr 13, 2018

I'm really disapointed with the "Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science" course from IBM. The videos are referring to an outdated software releases, with really different screenshots from the ones existing on IBM platform. The discussions refers to code samples different from the ones available for download (flow2.js) and to applications present on the IBM Bluemix platform, without explaining where to found or how to create them. All these discrepancies make really difficult to follow the course. LBNL, the speaker is one of the most boring ever encountered in a webinar, barely able to read in english language. Being a course organized by IBM for such an important topic as Watson, I expected a much higher level of quality. I hope that the IBM staff will be able to perform a deep review of this series of course.

von ujjwal k g

Jul 16, 2019

good one to start

von Ted H

Jul 15, 2019

A really good introduction to Apache Spark. The course has been changed around a lot to conform with the latest syntax and to make it easier to get to work with data. Many of the videos still refer to the old syntax but the examples have all been brought up to date. Students no longer need to generate their own data (with node-Red) but can immediately get to work on pre-generated data. All this change has made some parts of the course a little confusing, but a little perseverance will overcome these problems.

von Mario E R T

Jul 14, 2019

Need more exercises related to wrangling data and manipulating SQL's with apache spark

von Jan C

Jul 10, 2019

Simply not on the same level as other ML Courses on Coursera. Programming assignments don't require you to do much by yourself. The bits you have to write, you have to guess from function names (no task description or anything is given).

von Qian L

Jul 06, 2019

If there was negative score, I wouldn't even hesitate to give that to this course. I understand coursera is actually trying to do good to the society and change the way education works in the past. But bad UI won't get you any further. About this course, I don't know why this Romeo guy is allowed to teach here. Extremely unusable tutorials, extremely bad organization of the the materials, extremely bad accent, extremely unusable IBM cloud service, extremely outdated tutorial for environment setup, and you name it. This guy can't even articulate himself. Please stop doing this to the user since now coursera started charging subscription fees. If there is even no quality control and this kinda of bad actor is allowed here, what is the difference between coursera and traditional college? Just go to the forum and discussion session of this course and look at the complaints over there. You don't even need to search for complaints since they are there on the surface. Shame on you.

von Cesar R

Jul 06, 2019

Very basic lessons. Definitely what you would expect from an Advanced course.

von shubham k g

Jul 04, 2019

Nice but details are not discussed properly only taking names wasnt enough

von yu m c

Jul 04, 2019

Corrupted assignment, you will never pass assignment 2 as the assignment checker was corrupted. so disappointed. in fact nice lecture and tutor and videos.

von Prasad N

Jun 28, 2019

worse guidance and pathetic support - shame on COURSERA and instructors for this horrible situation. Have wasted enormous productive time on this

von Yue B

Jun 28, 2019

comprehensive and basic

von Ozge Y

Jun 23, 2019

I find it unacceptable that the grader still had the same old problems from months ago. Adding notes directly to the python notebooks is not that difficult. #Return 4 significant digits, etc.

Plus, the grader output is not always useful. I execute the function in the python notebook, for whatever reason it does not fail, it works. The grader is more sensitive as it should be but it would be more meaningful at least it mentioned which line it has failed or which cell or which function.

The quizes during the videos seems a bit too random. I expect, if you are interrupting a video, you would be asking a question whose answer would be relevant for the later part of the video. Those pop-ups feels like unannounced midterm exams. There is already a full quiz section for this.

Perhaps my expectations were too high for this course.

von Nhan T N

Jun 21, 2019

The instruction is not so clear. Many mistake launch and grader does not run to score your submission.

von Roozbeh G

Jun 20, 2019

Well-taught course in an extremely important and sought-after data science field.

von Christian M

Jun 20, 2019

It's an excellent course for anybody who wants to learn the basic of Spark, Watson Studio, and data analysis. It's also a good reminder for anybody well acquainted to the subject and want to know how to deal with it in Watson Studio

von Dmytro T

Jun 18, 2019

Cool as for first benchmark. But a bit a lot of IBM tools)

von Tacio M D

Jun 11, 2019

Very good to follow. Instructor is very clear!