Chevron Left
Zurück zu Behavioral Finance

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Behavioral Finance von Duke University

4.4
Sterne
2,177 Bewertungen
611 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We make thousands of decisions every day. Do I cross the road now, or wait for the oncoming truck to pass? Should I eat fries or a salad for lunch? How much should I tip the cab driver? We usually make these decisions with almost no thought, using what psychologists call “heuristics” – rules of thumb that enable us to navigate our lives. Without these mental shortcuts, we would be paralyzed by the multitude of daily choices. But in certain circumstances, these shortcuts lead to predictable errors – predictable, that is, if we know what to watch out for. Did you know, for example, that we are naturally biased towards selling investments that are doing well for us, but holding on to those that are doing poorly? Or that we often select sub-optimal insurance payment plans, and routinely purchase insurance that we don’t even need? And why do so many of us fail to enroll in our employer’s corporate retirement plans, even when the employer offers to match our contributions? Behavioral finance is the study of these and dozens of other financial decision-making errors that can be avoided, if we are familiar with the biases that cause them. In this course, we examine these predictable errors, and discover where we are most susceptible to them. This course is intended to guide participants towards better financial choices. Learn how to improve your spending, saving, and investing decisions for the future....

Top-Bewertungen

AM

Aug 16, 2017

Great course! It allows to understand the twisted logic that run in our heads. Helps to establish the balance between probabilistic truth and illusions that infect our decision-making. Thanks a lot!

SK

Feb 26, 2020

Good course! There is just one thing I would improve here - an explanation of the mistakes after the tests are done. This improvement should increase the student`s understanding of specific topics.

Filtern nach:

551 - 575 von 598 Bewertungen für Behavioral Finance

von Jose A G

Jan 23, 2018

introductory, not too deep

von Ricardo J O

Aug 02, 2016

Excessively short course.

von Ahmad A

Dec 04, 2019

Thanks a lot

von Harseerat k r

Jul 14, 2020

nice course

von Syed S R

Sep 02, 2018

Boring

von Rasmus B

Dec 13, 2019

soso

von paramashivam.s

Apr 24, 2020

g

von Matthew M

Apr 01, 2020

In comparison to other courses on here I felt that this was poor. It is very light on content, the videos are very short, and the accompanying reading is extremely brief, light, and doesn't really even give basic definitions of what terms mean.

When answering the quiz questions I had to rely on my own knowledge for most things because nowhere does it say something as simple as "this behavioural bias can be defined as follows".

Generally, everything is very convoluted, doesn't give appropriate context as to what behavioural finance is or even why it came about.

Overall very poor - you can get more just researching it yourself or reading the basics on Wikipedia to be honest.

von Clifford W

Mar 24, 2020

The course is mismarketed as Behavioral Finance, when really its mostly (80%) basic behavioral "economics" that is just as well described in several popular books. The only areas they attempt to relate to finance are 1) mutual funds fees don't justify performance 2) past asset bubbles. Jack Bogle could have told you in the 1970s about #1 above and its nothing new for most people these days. Similarly while asset bubbles are interesting, there is no forward looking views on how understanding behavioral paradigms can help either prevent bubbles or help investors make better decisions during a bubble.

von Isaac B

Dec 11, 2019

I'm very disappointed with this course. The course materials resembles a bunch of notes jolted together, like a jigsaw puzzle with many missing pieces. I can't make sense of the theory yet. And, I consider myself quite a bright person who is constantly taking courses on Coursera. I finished this course if the feeling I haven't learnt that anything. I expected the video lessons would put some sense into the slides, but they are close to useless, which is a pity as this is the only course on Behavioural Finance on Coursera. I'm very frustrated and disappointed :-(

von Max B

May 09, 2020

This course offers interesting content via slide decks that are the focal point of the course. In my opinion, the videos did not provide any additional information that was not laid out in the slides. The professors are clearly very experienced on the topics. I would have loved to hear more from them instead of reading slide decks.

I would like for the quizzes to provide some form of feedback around why a user got the question correct or incorrect. I would also like for the videos to be the focal point of the course with animations and graphs.

von Doug K

Aug 27, 2020

I've taken several Coursera courses, and this is the worst one by far. Yes there is useful information, but it is very poorly taught. The video presentations don't add much beyond the reading assignments. And the "quizes" are an extension of the material, more like homework than a quiz. I would think Duke University would be embarrassed to put their name on this course. After all, that's where Dan Ariely calls home, so the university has talent, but it is not on display here.

von Mathieu S

Feb 26, 2019

The topics are very interesting, but they are also very complex, and I don't think they were explained in sufficient detail, which caused the exams to be frustrating. Further, an answer key was only provided for the Week 1 exam, and I still don't know why some answers were correct or incorrect on the other exams. I also don't find the use of both videos and documents to be useful as most of the information seemed to be included in the documents.

von Leah F

May 01, 2020

While it was interesting, The materials itself I felt was poorly written. When taking the test I found myself thinking this did not go over any of what was in the lesson plans. They need to offer definitions of the words and examples. But for the value I thought it was a fair price. I am however having issues trying to share certificate via anything.

von Adhruth S

May 30, 2020

The content in the slides are good and interesting but other than that it is really not worth doing this course. There are a very few videos and most of the concepts that are important are not covered in them. Videos seem to be missing in the course and the flow of content is not in a proper manner. Not satisfied with this course at all.

von Bhoomi B

Jun 02, 2020

The concepts weren't that clear and and the number of example weren't enough to connect the dots. for new comers like me this course is hard to understand and anticipate the answers. I did it anyways after 12 attempts on the final assignment. I wish to refer to the content available again to freshen up my knowledge again. Thank you

von Dominika M

Apr 12, 2020

Not enough reading material according to questions in quizes and also given material did not explain all the biases sufficiently for answearing questions in quizes. Quiz in week 1 was great because of explanations and I also could see which answer did I pick. Other two quizes showed only if the answear was correct.

von jaiyant

Dec 29, 2019

The course material is not at all good, this course is an epitome of teaching what a tree is and asking in quiz what is the distance between Sun and Moon. The definitions and explanations of all biases were missing , a basic idea is presented but it is incomplete and insufficient .

von Mike M

Aug 19, 2016

The subject matter is good, but the course does not adequately explain behavioral finance concepts. Most of the course consists of slide decks to read. There is a dearth of video content. I expected better quality from a course provided through Duke University.

von Arshish K

Jul 07, 2020

Very poorly executed course, makes you do most of the work yourself. Learn yourself through reading more than what is presented in the videos and reading materials. Grossly under-estimates the time commitment required to complete the course. Not recommended.

von Birgitte J

May 22, 2018

Interesting topics, but the course is not well structured, so a bit confusing. Also course views on active vs. passive investing seems too black/white, and does not take the most recent academic evidence into account.

von Niraj P

Aug 05, 2020

Too many documents to read and very few videos. The videos were not very good either. The instructor(s) should have put more effort into building the online course instead of just putting up the reading material.

von Kanha A

Oct 02, 2016

Lots of readings! Would have loved a more engaging format. Also found the content slightly ambiguous, you might have to do some trial and error and might be surprised at the answers in the quiz.

von sophialaw

Mar 14, 2020

The lecture is non-useful. The ppt slides are ok but hard to generate information. It is hard to complete and learn knowledge from this course.

von Keith P

Aug 12, 2020

I'm really interested in material like this but I found the tests to be unfair (questions on untaught material, use of ambiguous language)