Chevron Left
Zurück zu Supporting children with difficulties in reading and writing

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Supporting children with difficulties in reading and writing von University of London

4.8
Sterne
991 Bewertungen
397 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is for teachers to learn why some children have so much difficulty with reading and writing, often called 'dyslexia', and to learn more about best practice in teaching literacy to all in light of recent scientific discoveries. Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes...

Top-Bewertungen

JP
26. Apr. 2020

This course gave me some further insights into how children with difficulties in reading and writing think and the processes they go through, along with some further methods to help them achieve.

SS
2. Aug. 2019

I have gained a wealth of information and knowledge that is directly applicable with children with difficulties in reading and writing. The videos were very relevant and the resources valuable.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 391 Bewertungen für Supporting children with difficulties in reading and writing

von Ashton M

10. März 2019

An amazing course, with amazing content and ideas! One day when I am principal of a huge school, every teacher I employ will be guided through this course! So useful and amazing! Thanks again!

von Kai F M

20. Mai 2019

A very comprehensive course that explained the fundamentals of dyslexia, learning, reading, and writing in youth. It built on itself week by week. Work load was fairly light and easy to review.

von Neelam P

26. Mai 2019

Excellent course that really guides the learner through the complexities of reading and writing. Highly recommended for anybody supporting children who are struggling with reading and writing.

von Khripunova O

11. März 2019

Too much theory, it would be great if you provide more practical execises

von Sarah T

2. Juni 2017

This course is full of well-presented research, clear lectures, and excellent resources for teachers. I signed up to this course after privately tutoring an older student with suspected dyslexia and feeling frustrated about how best to support him. Even though my MA covered aspects of dyslexia and support, I felt that it was probably out of date given the amount of research that's been published since I graduated. The course has been incredibly helpful with as a refresher and a more in-depth look at the causes and therefore ways of supporting students with reading (and writing) difficulties. I particularly appreciated the focus on bilingualism as this reflects my school population. I highly recommend it to other teachers, Das, and people working with struggling readers.

von Alpha J V

20. Mai 2020

In this very challenging times of pandemic, we need to channel our minds to things that can help not only ourselves but other people too. While I was doing a little advocacy of my own to teach kids with reading difficulties for free, I just randomly search for a free course to guide me through. In the beginning I thought of just taking the course without the certificate and just browse on the pages. Each lesson felt like an enlightenment and not a requirement. I was inspired by the knowledge and efforts of all the contributors in this course that I decided to take the route to getting the certificate instead. Thank you Coursera. I was led to the best online course I've done so far in supporting children with difficulties in reading and writing.

von Mary L S

3. März 2016

I found this course to be extremely informative, filled with the latest research findings and recommendations to assist those working with dyslexic learners to improve reading comprehension and writing. I have a better understanding of dyslexia, exspecially the psychological and neurological aspects. I have learned how the English language has evolved (opaque) and the challenges this presents to those with dyslexia. This course if filled with suggestions on how to make a learning environment more inclusive for those with dyslexia, incorporating multisensory teaching methods and explanations of the different learning styles, including planning to adjust to working memory capacity of learner. I highly recommend this course- don't miss it!

von Janet P

27. Apr. 2020

This course gave me some further insights into how children with difficulties in reading and writing think and the processes they go through, along with some further methods to help them achieve.

von Sanali

3. Aug. 2019

I have gained a wealth of information and knowledge that is directly applicable with children with difficulties in reading and writing. The videos were very relevant and the resources valuable.

von Eduardo E M V

7. März 2019

Very good course, I've learned a lot about Dislexia and learning disabilities but also I've learned to teach better

von Celeste A

19. Mai 2020

I find the technique impossible to attract me. I have not continuing doing the course because I find it super boring.

von Daniela L

1. Feb. 2020

I deeply enjoyed the lectures, resources, videos, and links. Jenny and Vincent are absolutely knowledgeable and the sweetest instructors. I felt well accompanied along the course while also learning so much. I would like to know (I will navigate more in depth) if there are other courses/certificates/degrees that may cover even more on the subjects of educational psychology to support children and adults. The only frustration I felt was the way some questions are presented in the tests. I felt that some questions are not necessarily helpful to assess one acquired knowledge; more specifically those questions where one has to write a word (noun, verb, otherwise, in lower or capital letters, etc). The written assignments were very helpful and an important learning tool; nothing better than working directly with typical/atypical developing children. I am deeply thankful for this course. Thank you.

von John F

5. Jan. 2019

Overall I greatly enjoyed the content of the course and got a lot out of the videos, readings and resources included. I did feel that the final exam did not feature enough questions pertaining to the main focus of the course including signs of dyslexia, strategies to assist students with dyslexia and terminology. Also the two assessment tasks did not have a clear marking criteria so in both cases we were required to include specific terminology or a specific element of the course content that we were never explicitly told to use in the assessment and thus students marks suffered for not including these specifics. Thank you overall for a very engaging course. I truly feel that I am now ready to apply the strategies learnt in this course in the classroom to the benefit of my students.

von Rosehera

19. März 2019

Hi! This is Rosehera Furtado. I take this opportunity to thank the Coursera community for making me part of your Institution. It was my first online course and I found it very helpful, a good learning experience. Being a religious nun (Sr. Rosehera Furtado A.C.), I wanted to do this course primarily because the main focus of our Congregation is Education. So by doing this course, I feel that it will be very much effective in my ministry. Also I want to thank all my classmates for their kind support especially in assessing my assignments. God bless you all!

von Ng G T

18. Mai 2020

Excellent course! I learnt lots of practical tips for implementation with children while gaining a better theoretical understanding of dyslexia. It would be ideal if the instructors can provide more guidance on using the intervention materials and have three weeks of lessons on teaching approaches instead of two. Overall, the workload can be rather heavy at times too, so it may be beneficial to have videos and assessments spread evenly across the course duration as far as possible.

von Michelle I

1. Nov. 2015

A very very helpful course that gives practical solutions in a classroom and school-wide setting. It was structured well and easy to follow. If I had one comment, it would be that some of the quizzes did not line up with the course so well (you had to study ahead to answer questions). Other than this, really worth the amount of time spent studying!

von Rebecca K S

14. Juni 2020

I like the way it is organized, I had really learned about dyslexic children characteristics and how to help them. I liked the assignments. The thing I would have change will be the quizzes, which I believe they evaluate more memory than really understanding

von Ms. C N T

16. Aug. 2020

I love how the course provides us with teaching demonstrations and interviews with SEN teacher aside from lecture :) And I have learnt many practical ways in teaching children with dyslexia after this course.

von kerry c

30. Mai 2018

I really appreciate the information presented in this course. Very thorough. However it did become quite monotonous. All in all, good quality information provided to be able to help students.

von Aimilia V

19. Apr. 2016

Interesting and useful to a degree, but I was looking for something a little more challenging. In addition, the quizzes were far too easy.

von Paula G C V

17. Aug. 2020

1.Too much theory

2. Not enough examples

3. Outdated video formats.

von Esteban M W

18. Juni 2020

Is it an excellent introductory course into learning difficulties and dyslexia universe. The two teachers are amazing and the course in general very well structured. While you move on through the lectures and weeks it gives you the feeling you are actually developing knowledge about dyslexia and learning difficulties. What i like the most about the course is that even though relates to a specific students (who struggles with writing and reading) many of the lectures are also focus on all students which I think is very helpful to applyin the class. This course should be mandatory for all teachers. Finally, is the first step if your plans are to continue with further studies related to this area.

von Mery I P F

10. Sep. 2020

Es un curso muy interesante, donde se aprende desde cero la estructura del lenguaje, para conocer realmente en que partes del desarrollo de la escritura y el habla del niño es que puede estarse viendo afectado el proceso. Se brindan herramientas y ejemplos en los vídeos de como identificar estos problemas o atascamientos en los niños. Así como herramientas de ayuda para la comprensión y enseñanza del lenguaje, que pueden ser aplicadas en otras áreas (por ejemplo las tarjetas de memoria). Buenas recomendaciones y comparaciones de como dar manejo a niños con o sin problemas asociados a dislexia. Muchas gracias por todo el conocimiento compartido :D

von Salvatore B

25. Okt. 2020

I was pleasantly surprised by this course! I didn't think it was going to be as in-depth and useful as it ultimately was. It is loaded with important information for teachers and tutors, as well as for parents of children with dyslexia. In the past, I have taken university level courses in order to gain teaching qualifications in Special Education, and they weren't nearly as in depth in the area of Reading and Writing difficulties as this course was. I also enjoyed using some of the practical tools they provided (albeit I wanted more of them). I am grateful for having taken this course and will continue to refer to my notes in my daily practice.

von Iona F

24. Jan. 2017

I am a tutor working with special children, I find it easy when i adapt with the child in his way always reminding him that he is capable of doing things, not fast and rashly, but slow and smartly. i keep boosting them to read aloud sound the words and put them down I have found it easier to cope with their studies by translating in the medium they know best , repetitive reading,, selecting key words and putting them down in writing. I have learnt a lot from this course and yes the professors were awesome in their lectures. it has bettered my way of approach to assessing them.