Chevron Left
Zurück zu Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation von American Museum of Natural History

4.8
Sterne
1,786 Bewertungen
496 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is an introduction to ecology and ecosystem dynamics using a systems thinking lens. Through a case study on Mozambique's Gorongosa National Park, learners will explore how scientists study ecosystems, and investigate the complex array of factors that inform management efforts. At the end of the course, learners will be able to grapple with real-world conservation questions, such as whether an ecosystem can recover from anthropogenic disruption and what role humans can, and should, play in that recovery....

Top-Bewertungen

AJ

Jun 02, 2019

This was particularly in-depth on the sciences of ecology, and having it based around a particular conservation project made it easier to follow each progressive lecture and concept that was explored.

AA

Jul 08, 2020

I really enjoyed taking this course. It gave me good knowledge base in ecology and conservation. The course is very well structured and is suitable for people with no prior knowledge in the topic.

Filtern nach:

426 - 450 von 494 Bewertungen für Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation

von Sriskantharajah V

Jun 03, 2020

good

von Vishal C

May 28, 2020

good

von Marcos A O O

May 24, 2020

Good

von ARYAN S

May 06, 2020

nice

von MYDALA Y

Mar 23, 2020

good

von vamsi m

Mar 02, 2020

good

von SADINENI R C

Feb 18, 2020

NO

von Megan A

May 11, 2020

I came into this class with a BS in Ecology and was expecting something a bit more intensive for a class designated as intermediate. Many of the lessons taught basic ecology, but functioned as a great reminders. However, the integration of the Gorongosa Park and the studies from there were amazing. Anytime you can receive more examples of science in action the better. The included extra sources are helpful for one that is looking to expand their learning beyond the lessons given on the coursera course. I will continue to take the free courses to expand my learning during the stay at home orders. Thank you.

von Stefanie M

Jun 21, 2020

Very interesting course, if it was just for the content, I'd give it 5 stars, however the estimated time needed to complete reading the essays (and therefore the course) was in my opinion way too low. they estimated 10 minutes for each essays even though some were longer than others and it usally took me at least the double amount of time to complete the essays. However, I do not think that the essays were too long, just that they should adjust the estimated time so that users can prepare and organize themselves better :)

von Emma T C

Jun 22, 2020

I found this course a little too easy (the quizzes were pretty simple, usually taken word-for-word from the videos or readings). But I think it was great anyways! I really enjoyed the real world examples used to demonstrate concepts. The materials (the videos and readings) were all put together really well, and this offered a pretty cohesive overview of the basic concepts of ecology and conservation. I really enjoyed the course overall.

von ALAMZEB A

Jun 10, 2019

it was amazing experience, to go through this course. I have learnt a lot. I am the student of Environmental Economics at Pakistan Institute of Development Economics. I want to explore the domains of Ecosystem and its influence fields, for that i got required ideas to pursue for better research in my field.

Thanks American Museum Of Natural History, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Thanks coursera for providing me this opportunity.

von Jelle G

Jun 11, 2020

Hello, i think this course was in-depth enough to provide a good amount of details regarding the case study of Gorongosa national park while also providing the necessary background information needed to fully understand its ecological concepts. I think the course is well put together and alternates concise essays with relevant lectures which makes it more diverse. Thank you, greetings from the Netherlands

von Eleanor K

May 26, 2020

This is a well organized course that utilizes multiple instruction methods to give the learner a clear understanding of the nuances of ecology and conservation. Unfortunately this course didn't dive nearly in depth as a even a week in a high school AP Biology course. For this reason I recommend this course to people looking for only an intermediate exposure to ecological science.

von Reema s

Aug 09, 2020

A very well oriented course with its Lecture, Reading material, and Videos on various habitat. I felt like I am in a live session. course was designed in a simple way so that it can be easy for a beginner too. Ecological conservation concepts are very well mentioned. A must course anyone wants an add on in their knowledge of Ecology.

von Chevelle -

Aug 24, 2019

I absolutely loved the course. I wanted to learn more about ecology as I am very interested in this. It was nice that the taught knowledge was applied to a case study (Gorongosa National Park). The math parts (with the formulas) were a bit tricky to follow, but eventually it did become clear. Very educating and interesting course!

von Shashank S

May 31, 2020

It was good overall but It kinda makes me think of how we are disturbing the nature in order to help it. From whatever I have seen during this pandemic, It is better that we let it be and curb our exploitation rather than trying to put in extra disturbance which only over complicates things. Cheers to a good course though !

von Pedro M P

Sep 03, 2018

Would have liked to have the opportunity to consolidate the concepts and skills mentioned in the course through an integrated assignment or capstone-like project. The content is very well organized and is a great vehicle to update one's ecosystem and conservation ecology thinking. Thank you to all the lecturers.

von Tyson J G

May 30, 2020

I think it was a good course. Not particularly a fan of Dr. Pringle's lectures as I can sense that hes not fully comfortable with presenting in front of a group of people but the guy is human. Would recommend for anyone who is considering a career in Ecology. You will see what this domain is all about.

von Prajnyan S

Jun 14, 2020

This course is pretty good as it moves away from the textbook definitions and adapts a practical approach on the conservation measures and techniques using real examples thereby enabling the students to develop hypothesis and innovate new conservation techiques.

von Nanditha R S

May 03, 2020

The course was highly informative and delved in depth into the case study of Gorongosa National Park. It could perhaps be a tad bit more interactive and more than just reading up theory and listening to audio. However, the content was excellent and updated.

von Anjali s

May 29, 2020

This is an excellently comprehend course. As an molecular ecologist, I was aware of few. But this course had let me know many theories which I never came across till date. Thank you for enhancing my knowledge. This course is worth learning for.

von Natàlia B P

Jun 04, 2020

I really enjoyed it and it gives you a great overview of the ecological and food-web-related factors that may be inolved in the development of an ecosystem and, thus, the success of a potential restoration process.

von Deepa G

Aug 09, 2020

I feel delighted to learn from coursera. Offering free courses with free certificates during this pandemic is a helping hands to many students who want to learn beyond their circumstances.

von Hilde C

Jun 07, 2018

You learn a lot about the importance of conservation, and about new technology and reseach methods. Some of the essays are a bit long-winded, however, the material is interesting.

von Mamilwad S

Jun 10, 2020

Its good knowlegde gained about the ecosystem and in their lives.

All about the oragnisms in pas and present no. And its live graphs help to easy gain information..

Thank you!