Chevron Left
Zurück zu Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation von American Museum of Natural History

4.8
Sterne
2,334 Bewertungen
651 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is an introduction to ecology and ecosystem dynamics using a systems thinking lens. Through a case study on Mozambique's Gorongosa National Park, learners will explore how scientists study ecosystems, and investigate the complex array of factors that inform management efforts. At the end of the course, learners will be able to grapple with real-world conservation questions, such as whether an ecosystem can recover from anthropogenic disruption and what role humans can, and should, play in that recovery....

Top-Bewertungen

AJ
1. Juni 2019

This was particularly in-depth on the sciences of ecology, and having it based around a particular conservation project made it easier to follow each progressive lecture and concept that was explored.

YH
3. Jan. 2021

One of the best course, I have ever taken. The materials is not hard to follow and the in-depth explanation gives you a proper new perspective which is still open to debate due to conservation topic

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 649 Bewertungen für Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation

von Trisha G

31. Mai 2020

Best course I have found in Coursera that is very intresting in learning and easily understand able. Enjoyed the course

von Linda A

15. Apr. 2020

A wonderful course driven by excelent ecologist, makes you to re-think everything you know about our world

von THARUN S

17. Apr. 2020

THE COURSE WAS WONDERFULL, IT WAS USEFUL

von Stefanie M

20. Juni 2020

Very interesting course, if it was just for the content, I'd give it 5 stars, however the estimated time needed to complete reading the essays (and therefore the course) was in my opinion way too low. they estimated 10 minutes for each essays even though some were longer than others and it usally took me at least the double amount of time to complete the essays. However, I do not think that the essays were too long, just that they should adjust the estimated time so that users can prepare and organize themselves better :)

von Vignesh D

13. Apr. 2020

It was quite helpful. Understanding our ecosystem. Great course to learn about ecosystem

von Alexandra B

15. Juli 2020

There is a lot of really great information, but far too much is reading rather than lecture related. I would much rather see heavy lecture domination provided by professors and field experts on Coursera than reading domination which is acquired by a Google search.

von Kamrul H S

8. Mai 2020

Moderate. I t would be better if the each video includes 3-5 minutes with pdf lecture sheet. More modelling approach i.e. GPS, GIS & their use should be included.

von Jithin J

9. Mai 2020

A well structured introductory course to ecology and concepts of conservation.

von Syed A I

26. Apr. 2019

Thank you very much for teaching this course.

von Ehsan S

21. Mai 2020

The course content is very valuable and you will definitely receive lots of useful information on the ecosystem and of course learn a lot! However, the course materials are poorly organized for online learning purposes. At first, there are lots of reading materials (instead of the lecture) which are very similar to textbooks. These reading materials have a poor connection to the series of lectures which are interesting but they were not recorded for online learning purposes. The lectures are videos from a summer school.

von Michelle V

19. Juli 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this high-quality course! Week by week, I gained a greater appreciation of the importance of ecology and conservation – not only for targeted individual species but for the interactive balance of whole ecosystems. I learned not only what was being studied within the vast field of ecology but also how it was being studied, including field experiments and mathematical modelling. It was exciting to be taken along for the ride and see the research unfold with new data. The relations between termite behaviour, mathematical patterns in landscapes and their effects on the rest of the ecosystem are mind-blowing.

Be aware that the readings take quite a bit longer than 10 minutes, and there is occasionally some overlap between an article and a video. I was slightly disappointed that my good questions (in my opinion) on the discussion forum barely got answers, but perhaps they are yet to come. I do highly recommend checking out the further resources provided.

von Rahul S

27. Juli 2020

Marvelous, Fantastic, and Amazing experience of being a part of this online course. As I am already post- graduate in Masters of Science in Biodiversity and Conservation from India. So I was aware of the basics of this course but the learning part was of implementation of those concepts in the actual world. Yes, We as a Biodiversity Conservationist should always think for sustainable approaches and affect less to nature.

Now about the content of this online course was really insightful and also the upgraded research studies I got to know here. All respected scientists, lecturers, professors, field workers as well conservationists were amazing, humble, kind, very nice in delivering and explaining the content. I really enjoyed taking this course.

Keep on organizing such great free online courses and aware more about such concepts to conserve world biodiversity. Thank you all.

von Skyler S

4. Juni 2020

I absolutely loved taking this course! I've always loved biology and learning about the environment, and this class really furthered my knowledge on different ecological processes and conservation. I have a much better understanding of how different species play such a crucial role in their ecosystem as well as how biotic and abiotic factors influence the environment. Learning about how humans play a role in the ecosystem has made me more aware of the ways in which we can preserve the planet and restore the biodiversity of global ecosystems. I highly recommend this class to anyone interested in the environment, conservation and repopulation of different species, and how ecologists are taking a biocultural stance when deciding how to preserve ecosystems around the world.

von T.J. E

16. Juni 2020

Wow, this is an amazing course, well organized, starting big and broad and zooming in progressively from there to build a very comprehensive introduction to ecology. Ultimately, this course is about more than just about "plants and animals," though: It's about a whole way of making sense of the world using systems thinking. I came away from it seeing the world around me differently, from the current COVID crisis, to the world economy, to climate and weather. Systems thinking is one of the great evolutions in our modern worldview, and I feel I have got a basic introduction to it here. Also, the readings were very thoughtful and helpful, the videos were slick and entertaining, and the instructors were experts. A+

von Cesar M

6. Aug. 2020

This is the first course that I complete. Every reading and video is interesting and motivates for further learning. I am very happy that we have access to this quality content and knowledge for free. The case study shows how the systemic approaches of Ecology can be put into practice for solving some of the greatest challenges that we as humanity have. There are many philosophical and ethical questions involved and the discussions on different approaches and points of view are of great value. I recommend this course to anyone passionate and interested in understanding better how nature works and how important it is for us to support our decisions on scientific knowledge. Thank you!

von Somunint O

31. Mai 2020

This course went beyond my expectations. It was a great introduction and guide to ecology, and managed to keep my curiosity for the subject going throughout the weeks. I especially love how the instructor based the course on a single conservation project in Mozambique, making it easier for the learners to follow what's being discussed. This course broadened my knowledge and passion for the field of wildlife conservation, and I am thankful to the instructors for putting all their time and effort into making this a wonderful experience for me, and for others! I am a high school student chasing his dreams, and I think taking this course motivated me to continue my desire to learn.

von Pham T K

18. Apr. 2020

Even though I haven't finished this course at the time I write this review but I simply can't wait :) This a great course for those are interested in learning about conservation and ecosystem. It explains the importance of conversation very well, especially in this age of global climate change, as well as some research areas such as ecosystem services and resilience. I would highly recommend this course for high school students who wanna discovery about this particular field, as well as environmental undergraduate/master students (any who related to environmental studies) for a better understanding about the ecological protection and conservation.

von Ajit K

26. Juli 2020

Hello friends !!

I am Ajit from India. Being biotechnologist and fascinated by conservation work, I really wanted to explore my knowledge about ecology and conservation. I am happy with this course and this course completed all my expectations. I really recommend this course to those who are working in the fields of conservation, ecology and wildlife. The course materials include contemporary ecological studies, and research data that really help understanding the current scenario and related concepts. Thank you Coursera for arranging such a great course along with American Museum of Natural History and Howard Hughes Medical Institute.

von Nazerke B

22. Jan. 2020

I would like to thank all the researchers who participated in making this wonderful course! Started in a simple way, the classes then gradually presented more complex and in-sight issues and gave detailed explanation to ecological definitions in a most comprehensive manner. Given examples helped complete the understanding of different ecological situations. I enjoyed the documentaries and lectures of all researchers. Now I wish to one day visit Gorongosa National Park, as well as meet all these researchers who work so hard to conserve the nature of our home, Earth! Thank you again! Best wishes!

von Leyla Y

11. Mai 2020

This course changed the way I thought about ecosystems entirely and enabled for me to completely embrace the systems thinking idea. It was also very enjoyable and led me to realize my interest in ecology and also modelling ecological systems. It was very interesting to learn about how ecosystems can be approached differently and how the butterfly effect has a very significant place in ecosystem dynamics. Additionally, the way the concepts were given in readings followed by videos enforcing the ideas into the specific scenario made the learning more permanent.

von Karis D

6. Mai 2020

Excellent foundational course in ecology with a fascinating case study component. I am an ecologist by training, and found this to be a great "refresher" course on ecological concepts and theorems. I especially enjoyed the closing lectures on biocultural conservation and sustainability--many ecology texts neglect the human component rather than emphasize it! I would strongly recommend this course to anyone seeking a basic understanding of ecological principles, or with a general curiosity about natural interactions.

von B J

9. Jan. 2021

I enjoyed the course it covered a lot of material from the basics to application. The lecturers were engaging and additional readings were informative. I worked in a reserve in E. Africa in the 70s so the political history and impact was interesting as something similar occured where I was. My only criticism, and I suspect this is only me, I wrote in long hand !! most of the readings and one lecture b/c they would not print - it took many additional hours - which, I guess shows my interest in the course.

von Paulette W

22. Nov. 2020

This course was very exciting for me. At first i really didn't know which course to do, but i saw this Ecology course and decided to try it. I have no regrets. I love the environment and this study has opened my eyes to so much that we humans tend to ignore. The lectures made each lecture simple and interesting for me thus making my course even more excited. I would definitely recommend this to all who has a passion for a balance in the use or our biodiversity and all ecosystems and the world at large.

von Rick B

10. März 2021

Excellent course!

Dr. Ana Porzecanski is an awesome instructor and her dedication and interest in this work was obvious during her lectures.

The expertise of Dr.'s Robert Pringle, Eleanor Sterling, Corina Tarnita and others was on display and it was compelling. Paola Boulay's Gorongosa Lion Restoration video was fascinating. And the real time case study of Gorongosa, relevant examples, graphics and professional videos all made this course easily accessible and fun! Powerful content.

Thank you!

von Zach S

5. Mai 2020

Informative and well paced. I was apprehensive at first of how focused this course would be on Gorongoza, but the use of a single ecosystem as the reference point for all discussion topics really helped to paint a more complete picture of what needs to be considered in conservation efforts. The lectures were well presented and the wealth of additional resources for those who are curious was greatly appreciated. I was so engaged I finished it early and I never finish schoolwork early :P