Chevron Left
Zurück zu Understanding economic policymaking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding economic policymaking by IE Business School

4.8
677 Bewertungen
159 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This is the first of the three courses part of the Globalization, Economic Growth and Stability Specialization. This course will employ a non-technical approach to analyze how governments use policy to influence a country's economy. Upon completing the course you should be able to discuss national debts and deficits, examine fiscal and monetary policy and their appropriateness to the situation of an economy, and anticipate the results of fiscal and monetary policies and structural reform on a country. These concepts will give you the tools to develop your own position in many current economic debates, such as fiscal stimulus vs. austerity, the merits of quantitative easing, the need for higher interest rates or the future growth path of many modern economies....

Top-Bewertungen

PH

Dec 09, 2015

Excellent overview economics course. Dr. Allard does a fantastic job explaining basic economic concepts and principles so that a novice can better understand this one critical aspect of their world.

KK

Dec 27, 2015

Great insights, I now feel like I am macro-economically literate and I will be using this information when interviewing and now possible grilling certain politicians in my town!\n\nThank you Gayle!

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 of 157 Reviews for Understanding economic policymaking

von Amaka A

Feb 09, 2016

Excellent, excellent course! All you need to know about basic economic concepts that allow you to follow a country's macro-economic performance and intelligently participate in economic policy debates. Professor Gayle is great at explaining complex concepts in an easy-to-understand manner. Highly recommend this for country and risk analysts or anyone interested in current affairs.

von Zhao P

May 18, 2016

The lecturer is great, making points clear and the whole logic easy. Love this course~

von Izabela F

Aug 20, 2015

great profesor. interesting topic, definitely recommend it

von Javed R

Jan 15, 2016

Gayle was an outstanding lecturer. I have little economics background and I was able to follow all lessons quite well. Videos were of perfect length, not too long. I enjoyed the graphs, etc in presentations as well as the questions in the middle of a video (to see if we were paying attention). Quizzes were very helpful. The big assignment with the simulator took some time but was worth it. It brought together all ideas and I think it taught me a lot.

This was my 1st coursera course so i think the bar is set very high.

von Muhammad I

Apr 30, 2017

Thank you

hopefully. it gives more pop up quiz. So, it can reduce boring

von Krishaan K

Dec 27, 2015

Great insights, I now feel like I am macro-economically literate and I will be using this information when interviewing and now possible grilling certain politicians in my town!

Thank you Gayle!

von Mohammadali

Nov 22, 2015

vary good

von James K

Oct 13, 2015

Excellent course and very enjoyable teacher. Tough assignment but well worth the effort. Really made economics very interesting

von Matias H

Jan 03, 2016

Great introduction to the field

von Govind C

Sep 08, 2015

Great intro to macroeconomic policies for the uninitiated / semi-initiated. Prof. Gayle Allard's teaching style makes a world of difference. Her methodical approach towards making an inference and reaching a conclusion is probably the best I've seen amongst all the teachers I've ever had.

von Amit P

May 04, 2016

The best thing about the course is that it doesn't seem rushed. Everything is explained at a good pace. Moreover, the syllabus is quite unique in the sense that it seamlessly connects theory with the real world.

von David M

Jun 15, 2016

Desde la primera sesión uno puede aprender nuevos conocimiento para entender mejor el contexto mundial. :)

von Eduardo M R

May 28, 2017

¡Fenomenal!

von Diana S

Jun 17, 2017

This course is a great example of a what successful online learning experience can be. Professor Gayle Allard does not go easy on you but otherwise... why would you bother to take the time to take the course? You don't have to spend that many hours a week taking the course but the time you do dedicate to it, you really have to pay attention and take notes (and pause a couple of times!). The quizzes are a great way to assess if you're being able to keep up. Week 5 is a bit more time consuming because you have an assignment that truly tests your knowledge (peer-graded) - but if you pass, you feel like a million dollars because it's hard! You really DO learn the basics of Macroeconomics effectively. ---- IE Business School is #1 Online MBA (Financial Times ranking, 2016 and 2017) so they have a lot to prove when they use this media. This course is not an MBA but you can see that they take it seriously and it definitely has valuable content. Thank you!

von Vivian X

Jul 15, 2017

I took the course to improve my ability to understand economic issues, terms and jargons. I found that the course is incredibly practical, intriguing, informative and easy to follow at the same. The topics and examples are carefully selected and the well presented. I now have a much better understanding of the basic economic principles.

Thanks!

von Mar G A

Jun 27, 2018

This is an awesome course for people who forgot how the economy works. The approach of the course was refreshing and in depth without taking too much of your time with useless definitions and exercises. I really liked the models and the simulator because it adds another layer of learning for the students to see the concepts at work. This is highly recommendable for everyone who forgot their basic economics class and to have a richer understanding of economic policy making.

von Harsha D

Mar 23, 2017

good course with great stuff

von Nishok T

Mar 21, 2017

Well explained course that makes economics intuitive!

von Syed M O R

May 21, 2016

Very well organized, I must say. The course takes a light start from the fundamentals and then jumps to the economic intricacies of the world.

von paul60

Mar 05, 2017

xcellent course.

von shivananda

Sep 18, 2017

The Basics of Economics explained in a very simple way. Thank u Coursera

von Victoria K

Jul 20, 2016

The explanations are very intuitive and comprehensible. The lecturer did a great job and simulators provided are as good. Thank you

von Purushottam M

Aug 10, 2016

Quite informative and relevant content, I must say.

von M A

Jun 13, 2016

oh yeah.. amazing

von German D P C

Jun 28, 2017

Great course