Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fundamentals of Music Theory

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Fundamentals of Music Theory von The University of Edinburgh

4.5
Sterne
1,532 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course, revised in 2022, will introduce you to the theory of music, providing you with the skills needed to read and write Western music notation, as well as to understand, analyse, and listen informedly. It will cover material such as pitches and scales, intervals, clefs, rhythm, form, metre and time signatures, phrases and cadences, and basic harmony. This course covers the fundamentals of Western music theory, from the absolute basics to some more advanced concepts. As such, it is the perfect course for beginners and more experienced musicians alike....

Top-Bewertungen

GE

1. Apr. 2021

Very good course which hammers home the essentials.

Good enthusiastic lecturing and importantly on completion progressed onto Coursera Musicianship Specialisation which I have now almost completed

SS

22. Aug. 2017

It was a very nice course. We were able to understand the basics of music theory and how the notations and chords work. Thank you so much to the entire staff of Edinburgh University and Coursera..:-)

Filtern nach:

301 - 325 von 483 Bewertungen für Fundamentals of Music Theory

von Aleix G M

3. Jan. 2020

Great course

von Jimmy V

20. Mai 2021

Lots of fun

von FREDERICK O A

13. Feb. 2018

Excellent!1

von Samanta G P

16. Juni 2017

Excelente!!

von Albert T

26. Jan. 2017

nice course

von Ruarai M

29. Jan. 2019

Excellent!

von Daniel W

23. Aug. 2018

Very nice.

von Eugene E

16. Mai 2018

Excellent!

von Vicente B

26. Apr. 2022

excellent

von Emmanuel c o

21. März 2018

i love it

von Guillermo Á M C

26. Okt. 2017

¡Gracias!

von Wam R

3. Juli 2017

Loving it

von Yvonne C

30. März 2017

仔细、认真、全面。

von Sarah G d S

24. Feb. 2019

Exelent!

von Stella K

21. Dez. 2017

Thank yo

von Антон Ю

24. Juni 2017

Perfect!

von Prithiraj R N

4. Nov. 2021

Amezing

von Maria V C

19. Sep. 2018

amazing

von Nomit N

14. Juni 2017

superbb

von andres b

19. Jan. 2017

Gracias

von Marlena B

9. Sep. 2016

Super!

von Akhil18 V

28. Juli 2019

good

von Hai y

8. Juni 2018

TQ

von Gregor M

5. Jan. 2021

What began as a passing interest in improving my scant knowledge of music theory became a full on obsession by the end of this course. I was staying up until 9pm over my Christmas break, taking and re-taking quizzes and studying cadences, secondary dominants and modulation. Who would've known? Certainly not me when I began!

For me, playing music is a hobby. I've never studied it, taken graded exams or anything of that sort. I saw 'fundamentals of music theory', free of charge, and thought it would be a good place to start. A word of advice: this is certainly not for beginner musicians.

My only criticism of the course would be that the end of unit quizzes, and final exam, are a VERY steep climb from the comparatively pedestrian level of instruction (barring the rhythm section, which required a lot of further study to get my head around).

The formula seems to go: crawl (teach concept), baby steps (watch demonstration of concept), Olympic 100-metre sprint (answer university level questions). If you have the time and dedication to put into this course the rewards are plenty. You can take end of unit quizzes as many times as you would like, meaning the challenge just about meets the pace of learning.

I am thoroughly pleased with the time I put into this course, and I am excited to go back to my instruments (saxophone and guitar) armed with a greater understanding of these fundamentals, and indeed more complex concepts, of music theory.

von Alison C

6. Juli 2020

Most of the course was delivered at a suitable pace, with plenty of examples. The one week where my eyes glazed over was week 3 (I think) which was all about time values of notes, etc. Fortunately, I already read music, and so managed to pass the assessment. Otherwise I think I'd have struggled. Even so, some of the questions really stretched my brain - many of them were NOT normal rhythms!

I felt that one or two of the questions in the final exam were quite complicated - cases where we were to disregard "passing notes" for instance, which was something I felt wasn't really covered in the course, and the one about "phrasing structure" (but that may have been in week 3).

In short, I'm not sure it's the FUNDAMENTALS (which to me means the basics) of music theory, but after well over 40 years of being able to read music, and over 20 singing in choirs, I finally understand the structures and names of chords, and simple progressions, and can work out an accompaniment for a simple tune, which was absolutely what I wanted to achieve. Thank you!