Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fundamentals of Music Theory

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Fundamentals of Music Theory von The University of Edinburgh

4.5
Sterne
1,531 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course, revised in 2022, will introduce you to the theory of music, providing you with the skills needed to read and write Western music notation, as well as to understand, analyse, and listen informedly. It will cover material such as pitches and scales, intervals, clefs, rhythm, form, metre and time signatures, phrases and cadences, and basic harmony. This course covers the fundamentals of Western music theory, from the absolute basics to some more advanced concepts. As such, it is the perfect course for beginners and more experienced musicians alike....

Top-Bewertungen

SS

22. Aug. 2017

It was a very nice course. We were able to understand the basics of music theory and how the notations and chords work. Thank you so much to the entire staff of Edinburgh University and Coursera..:-)

GE

1. Apr. 2021

Very good course which hammers home the essentials.

Good enthusiastic lecturing and importantly on completion progressed onto Coursera Musicianship Specialisation which I have now almost completed

Filtern nach:

401 - 425 von 482 Bewertungen für Fundamentals of Music Theory

von Wesley P

4. Okt. 2016

Challenging at times, but doable with effort, and quite rewarding upon success. Recommended.

von Xingcong L

26. Dez. 2018

Good to newbie to start from music theory. But got a bit confused when watching the videos.

von Aaron T

23. Feb. 2021

Quizes were a little confusing, but overall it was easy to figure out how to pass

von Juan P T A

27. Aug. 2020

i didnt like the fact that use wikipedia as a reference

von Nery Y H A

21. Sep. 2020

Debería tener referencias de libros, no Wikipedia.

von Liwei Z

30. März 2019

No explaination for the answers in quizs.

von Gurashis S

6. Apr. 2020

week 3 could have been elaborated more.

von Tansel S

5. Sep. 2017

A bit fast but extensive course.

von Gilbert P C

19. Feb. 2017

really helpful, but also tough

von Lemuel P

4. Juni 2017

this course is great

von Fernando B

12. Nov. 2020

Muy bueno el curso

von Krista H

4. März 2020

GOod for beginners

von Tayo O

24. Juni 2020

I learnt a lot...

von Megan M

20. Dez. 2016

Very interesting!

von Madhur S

30. Dez. 2021

great experience

von Alberto I

16. Juli 2020

Its good course

von degreeuser1 d

9. Nov. 2021

g​reat course

von Leonardo B

27. Okt. 2021

Excelente

von Percy Y

27. Feb. 2017

Wonderful

von Ro

6. Jan. 2018

good.

von Aien K

2. Juni 2021

Good

von James N B

2. Juni 2020

I have very mixed feelings about this course. On the one hand it was rich with content, and proved a tough challenge for the its whole duration, managing to include a great deal of theory in a short space of time. I have learnt a lot from it so I can't fault it there. However, the course is strewn with small errors and mistakes, which did surprise me as I found myself quite often confused about something only to realize it was a mistake on their part. The other aspect that seriously lacks from this course is the communication with the "instructors". I say this because the videos were clearly filmed a while back and the content is not updated. Questions and doubts take several days to get answered and it just seems quite lazy in all honesty. In addition to this, none of the exams/tests are looked at by the instructors, not even the final exam, which is in fact marked by other students. So although the content is rich and well explained, it does not really feel like an active course, rather a series of YouTube videos with a few questions added in. If you are confident that you can solve doubts and issues yourself, then I highly recommend this course, however if you are a complete beginner and want more guidance, I would perhaps look elsewhere, or at least do this course with someone else.

von Louis O

5. Jan. 2017

Pretty good in overall, but there are a few points that could be improved:

- The content is taught in a weird order and the difficulty doesn't increase steadily. For example, week 4 and 5 feel like they have been made separately and about the same subject, but week 5 goes further. The last video of week 5 is interesting, but it seems improvised...

- There could be more examples, especially from modern music. John from week 5 uses examples from the Beatles, which is great, but he's the only one. Week 3 has pretty much no examples at all.

- Suppplementary material and notes are uneven from week to week. Week 2, 4 and especially 5 have good summaries of the videos and examples, but week 3 almost only has links to wikipedia...

- The final exam is VERY difficult. There are some crazy chords and rhythm to analyse and there are advanced questions on points which have been seen very quickly in the videos.

I can't really compare since I new some of the content of the class, but I think it's weel made for beginners as well as for intermediate musicians. But you'll probably need to do a bit of research yourself if you want to be ready for the exam.

von Jorge A

16. Juli 2020

The idea of the course is pretty well organised until you arrive to week 4, when the extension of the explanations do not match the importance they give to them. In upcoming weeks, they expect yo to know a lot more that it has been explained about certain topics. Meanwhile, some videos are overlapping and going too much in depth in subjects that are not key in the development of the topic.

Also, the technical quality of some of the videos (and their audios) are a lower than expected.

To summarise, I am happy I took the course because I strengthen and remembered some concepts in which I was rusty, but I would have appreciated a better structuring of the syllabus.

von Aniketh K

29. Okt. 2021

Definitely not for beginners. Although the first two weeks may seem alright, the following weeks are very difficult to understand as everything is rushed through. The final tests almost seemed impossible for me to clear but I've managed to clear it finally within time. I have a small background in music and yet I struggled. So please do not think that you can take this course lightly. If you have some background knowledge, you can do it without much issues. Else it's not such a good choice. I repeat, please note that this is NOT a course for beginners. Happy learning :)