Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fundamentals of Music Theory

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Fundamentals of Music Theory von The University of Edinburgh

4.5
Sterne
1,446 Bewertungen
462 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce students to the theory of music, providing them with the skills needed to read and write Western music notation, as well as to understand, analyse, and listen informedly. It will cover material such as pitches and scales, intervals, clefs, rhythm, form, meter, phrases and cadences, and basic harmony. This course covers the fundamentals of Western music theory, from the absolute basics to some more advanced concepts and, as such, is the perfect course for beginners and more experienced musicians alike. Follow us on twitter @musictheorymooc #edmusictheory...

Top-Bewertungen

SS
22. Aug. 2017

It was a very nice course. We were able to understand the basics of music theory and how the notations and chords work. Thank you so much to the entire staff of Edinburgh University and Coursera..:-)

GE
1. Apr. 2021

Very good course which hammers home the essentials.\n\nGood enthusiastic lecturing and importantly on completion progressed onto Coursera Musicianship Specialisation which I have now almost completed

Filtern nach:

426 - 450 von 456 Bewertungen für Fundamentals of Music Theory

von Malcolm P

8. Apr. 2018

I enjoyed the course and passed although the material was challenging for a novice. The course organisers need to be aware of the following.

(1) The material isn't always presented in a logical sequence. For example students are expected to understand chord inversions and something about cadences before they are introduced properly (in a subsequent week).

(2) Too little emphasis is placed on the more advanced parts of the course, e.g. modulation.

(3) Parts of the course look like they've been lifted straight from university material with little consideration for the MOOC learner (the last video, e.g.).

(4) The final exam covers concepts that were barely touched upon during the course, for example, passing notes, and is very different from anything that learners are subjected to throughout the course.

von Forrest W

15. Feb. 2021

Hard to rate this as some was good, some was awful. The course started out almost too easy, and then was "good", for a bit, then went downhill, just dumping information on you in short lectures with not much emphasis on context or reasoning. The quizes , especially week 5 and 6 were way out in the weeds of difficulty for which you've been prepared based on the lectures. But I finished it and it did motivate me to learn, even though I spent a LOT of time on Wikipedia and other sites to figure it out. ADVICE: When you open a quiz, first PRINT it, and work it offline. You very likely will fail the quiz first (or second, or third) times, and the feedback hides the answers, so really hard to figure your what you did wrong if you don't have it all in front of you.

von Nandini A

5. Jan. 2022

It's surprising to see that this course has been listed for beginners on Coursera. At most, it is suitable as a refresher for those who are already familiar with music theory. The lectures are disorganized, and the course practically falls apart in week 3. New concepts are introduced and brushed over too quickly to comprehend, and Wikipedia pages are often linked as supplementary course material rather than a substantial explanation of the topic at hand. The weekly quizzes and final exam are unnecessarily difficult, demanding a much more sophisticated understanding of music theory that is not covered in this class. If you are new to music, I would not recommend this course.

von Tom E

9. Nov. 2020

First, I did enjoy much of the course and learned a great deal. My intention was to complete the course. Overall, I found it disorganized and too dependant on the use of a keyboard (I am a beginning cello player). I found the final exam very unfair. There was the use of language and notation that was not discussed in the course which confused and unnecessarily complicated the question. I would recommend that you re-evaluate this course and the delivery model (one or two instructors).

von Tung C T

15. Juni 2020

The first few weeks were pretty good. However, the last two weeks are too advanced for a "Fundamental" course. Modulations are definitely not beginner territory - even when there was a warning about the difficulty of this section, I still don't think it should be included in the course. The final assignment is also extremely difficult and requires a significant amount of of external reading as many minor but important details were not mentioned. Overall, the syllabus needs to be revised.

von David M

1. Mai 2017

The information in the videos was very interesting and well presented. I feel like I learned a lot. However, the quizzes and tests seemed to be of a very different level, and often covered material that was hardly discussed in the lectures. I understand that students are expected to do independent learning of material, but the gulf between lectures and test difficulty was extreme. If others were interested in learning about the basics of music theory, I would not recommend this course.

von Julie B

10. Feb. 2020

This course is really unbalanced in terms of difficulty. The first week is aimed at complete beginners, but by the fourth week or so things get much, much harder. I didn't feel like there was adequate explanation or materials for many of the questions on the quizzes at that point. I did manage to finish and pass the course, but the last couple of weeks were really frustrating. I think this material would be better spread out over a longer course, or multiple courses.

von Robert B

18. Nov. 2016

The lack of teacher or teaching assistant participation in the forum discussions is deafening. For an institution like the host institution, this is odd. I liked the course, but it was not very well organized. Seems like it was for experienced musicians, eve though the goals of the course hinted at it being for beginners as well. Good Course, badly organized.

von Malory C

22. Sep. 2021

Empecé con mucho animo, pero en el transcurso del curso vi que las notas, explicaciones y preguntas están en ingles, entiendo un poco ingles, pero esto hace que no pueda comprender las cosas como quisiera. Lo unico que está en español son los subtitulos de los videos, y eso... porque el de introduccíon está mal y a los 30 seg ya no hay más.

von Gregory C

1. Nov. 2016

This course does not do a good job at teaching the material. The lecture videos gloss over the topics briefly, but do not give a thorough explanation of the core topics of the course. The quizzes will repeatedly test on terms not even remotely mentioned in any of the course materials.

von River S

31. Jan. 2020

Its great for those who had a music background to review about music theory , but its definitely not for absolute beginners. This lacks coherent guidance and could cause misunderstanding to those who didnt get a big picture of music theory in advance.

von Tom F

19. Nov. 2016

This was fun as a refresher course. If you're brand new to music theory, this course won't help much unless you spend a lot of extra time learning the concepts using secondary materials, google, youtube, and your own keyboard.

von Mostafa A

16. Aug. 2020

Very difficult to be a "fundamentals" course. You certainly will need to be acquainted with some of the concepts introduced even in week 1 and 2. Not recommended as a first course.

von Iasonas T

30. Okt. 2016

could offer and cover much more subjects.

spend too much time on basics, less on advanced.

could have chosen better music examples.

von Ana

4. Feb. 2021

The description of the course does not portray the real contents. Not for beginners, specially from week 4.

von William H

4. Sep. 2021

The final exam is incredibly hard compared to the rest of the course. Please beware!

von Asterios K

23. Feb. 2020

Starts really well, but then there is a huge leap in complexity and difficulty

von Nicole R

2. Nov. 2020

Very confusing, goes too quick without actually explaining things

von Cariomeuf

4. Mai 2020

not a begginer course. specially week 3

von Linda R

15. Juni 2020

Huge disparity between the information provided in the lectures and the difficulty of the quiz at the end of each module. I found the presentation of the lectures good and while they covered the fundamentals they often mentioned! more difficult aspects. However the quiz content seemed to feature more of the difficult aspects than was covered comprehensively in the lectures. I had to avail of the guidance of other music educators on youtube to explain some of the questions on the quiz as when I reviewed the course videos and material I didn't find the answers to my questions. The course videos and material are beginner and the course quiz material is at least intermediate if not advanced.

von Deleted A

8. Nov. 2020

This course was the must confusing thus far on Coursera. Not because the subject matter is complex because it is. But because the lectures are simple, the reading is literally non-existent and the quizzes, well they are just impossible. This was suppose to be a beginning course but it is far more advanced. I truly was looking forward to an basic understanding of music theory, though I am not a musician or a composer and don't wish to become one! I wanted to learn the fundamentals. Very disappointed and very frustrated. I will not attempt to finish a class where success depends on quizzes that the student cannot complete.

von karthik

15. Juli 2020

Not beginner friendly at all. They should not have advertised it as such if it isn' t. I feel bad for people who actually bought the course thinking they can learn something new. Course start out as easy and it's a trap, believe me. first few quizzes are fine but then shit gets crazy.

The entire course was boring but i thought i could survive the boredom for the sake of learning something new. but oh boy i was wrong. this is the only course in Coursera I had to stop halfway through. Youtube has even better content.

von Laura C

26. Dez. 2021

I​ am a musician of almost 55 years and never learned theory. This class was WAY too difficult for even an experienced musician like me. I play bassoon, flute, piano and ukulele and the concepts here were just DUMPED rather than explained and built upon. This class was like dropping off all the building materials for constructing a house and then never explaining how to build the foundation, let alone erect the structure and complete the job.