Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fundamentals of Music Theory

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Fundamentals of Music Theory von The University of Edinburgh

4.6
Sterne
1,077 Bewertungen
301 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce students to the theory of music, providing them with the skills needed to read and write Western music notation, as well as to understand, analyse, and listen informedly. It will cover material such as pitches and scales, intervals, clefs, rhythm, form, meter, phrases and cadences, and basic harmony. This course covers the fundamentals of Western music theory, from the absolute basics to some more advanced concepts and, as such, is the perfect course for beginners and more experienced musicians alike. Follow us on twitter @musictheorymooc #edmusictheory...

Top-Bewertungen

SS

Aug 23, 2017

It was a very nice course. We were able to understand the basics of music theory and how the notations and chords work. Thank you so much to the entire staff of Edinburgh University and Coursera..:-)

KM

May 01, 2020

Its not as easy as it seems, it will give you a good challenge. After you finish this, you will be more confident about your music theory. Thank you University of Edinburgh! Thank you Coursera!

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 294 Bewertungen für Fundamentals of Music Theory

von pengfei z

Feb 01, 2018

Apart from a steep increase of complexity somewhere around the third week, you still manage to learn a lot through this course.

von Dominic M

Sep 04, 2017

Good introduction to music theory.

Final assignment tougher than expected.

You will need to do the extra reading and research.

von Kumar G M

Oct 18, 2017

Worth it.

Helped improved my skills as a musicians also it filled all the gaps that was lying in my fundamental theories.

von Ricardo J

Feb 24, 2018

Great course, the tutors give a clear explanation of the topics. I hope we could have this course available in spanish.

von Stefan O

Sep 05, 2016

Great introduction to music theory. In some sections the layout of the course could be somewhat better.

von Wesley P

Oct 04, 2016

Challenging at times, but doable with effort, and quite rewarding upon success. Recommended.

von Xingcong L

Dec 27, 2018

Good to newbie to start from music theory. But got a bit confused when watching the videos.

von Liwei Z

Mar 31, 2019

No explaination for the answers in quizs.

von Gurashis S

Apr 06, 2020

week 3 could have been elaborated more.

von Tansel S

Sep 05, 2017

A bit fast but extensive course.

von Gilbert P C

Feb 20, 2017

really helpful, but also tough

von Lemuel P

Jun 04, 2017

this course is great

von Krista H

Mar 04, 2020

GOod for beginners

von Megan M

Dec 20, 2016

Very interesting!

von Percy Y

Feb 27, 2017

Wonderful

von Ro

Jan 06, 2018

good.

von Himadri S S

Apr 01, 2020

I am going to be very realistic about the course here, so please take it seriously. This course is for beginners indeed as per the learning procedure is concerned, however towards the end of course, things get very difficult and few assignments/quizzes are really very difficult. And specially the final assignment is damn tough, its beyond imaginable as far as beginners are concerned, I do not think that a beginner can actually crack that paper in 3 or 4 months time, its almost impossible. I have been associated with music for almost 10 years now, and I did this course for the certificate, I found the final quiz to be very very challenging and its going to be impossible for you if you're a beginner, it literally has extracts from Classical Piano pieces and ask you to refer to a certain portion of it and all the questions of the last final assignment are from such extracts which are very tough to comprehend. If you know music for something like 2-5 years, this course is for you. Also please refer to a very good music theory book along with the course like AB Guide to Music Theory by Eric Taylor, or Berklee Music Theory part 1 because several concepts here have just been touched and not discussed in depth. Overall, from my POV I am extremely satisfied with the course because it wasn't a very big deal for me, but if you are a beginner, you might not like the way it ends. So think twice before you enrol. I hope this helps, all the best.

von James N B

Jun 02, 2020

I have very mixed feelings about this course. On the one hand it was rich with content, and proved a tough challenge for the its whole duration, managing to include a great deal of theory in a short space of time. I have learnt a lot from it so I can't fault it there. However, the course is strewn with small errors and mistakes, which did surprise me as I found myself quite often confused about something only to realize it was a mistake on their part. The other aspect that seriously lacks from this course is the communication with the "instructors". I say this because the videos were clearly filmed a while back and the content is not updated. Questions and doubts take several days to get answered and it just seems quite lazy in all honesty. In addition to this, none of the exams/tests are looked at by the instructors, not even the final exam, which is in fact marked by other students. So although the content is rich and well explained, it does not really feel like an active course, rather a series of YouTube videos with a few questions added in. If you are confident that you can solve doubts and issues yourself, then I highly recommend this course, however if you are a complete beginner and want more guidance, I would perhaps look elsewhere, or at least do this course with someone else.

von Louis O

Jan 05, 2017

Pretty good in overall, but there are a few points that could be improved:

- The content is taught in a weird order and the difficulty doesn't increase steadily. For example, week 4 and 5 feel like they have been made separately and about the same subject, but week 5 goes further. The last video of week 5 is interesting, but it seems improvised...

- There could be more examples, especially from modern music. John from week 5 uses examples from the Beatles, which is great, but he's the only one. Week 3 has pretty much no examples at all.

- Suppplementary material and notes are uneven from week to week. Week 2, 4 and especially 5 have good summaries of the videos and examples, but week 3 almost only has links to wikipedia...

- The final exam is VERY difficult. There are some crazy chords and rhythm to analyse and there are advanced questions on points which have been seen very quickly in the videos.

I can't really compare since I new some of the content of the class, but I think it's weel made for beginners as well as for intermediate musicians. But you'll probably need to do a bit of research yourself if you want to be ready for the exam.

von Andrew M

May 26, 2020

The course is really a challenge and should not be labelled 'for beginners' in my opinion. Worth persisting though but no way is it 8 hours, you need to commit to additional research and reading outside of the material and be prepared for several resits if you have no formal music training or qualifications behind you. Having said that I really enjoyed completing it and valued the learning which I have applied together with a parallel guitar course also from Coursera. Thank you for this opportunity if your keen and committed, go for it.

von tim f

Mar 14, 2017

It was good, and i learnt a lot, but it vexed me that in the first lesson they stated you didn't need to read music to get on with the course, but everything from then on seemed to require reading music including an very difficult final test reading some complicated Beethoven apparently! I understand why they did it that way, as they are used to reading music, but music can also be described as actual note names and the theory will be learnt nevertheless, without the massive barrier of having to translate it all from musical notation.

von Marc S

Aug 28, 2017

Good course covering some of the fundamentals of music theory. I found the difficulty of the quizzes to be disproportionate to the material in the lectures and some of the material could be explained better. It would certainly be a challenging course to more novice students. I would recommend "Getting Started With Music Theory" by Michigan State University as a prerequisite. The cadence of the material is a lot more systematic and incremental and what I learned in that course helped me get through this one tremendously.

von Marquad E

May 25, 2018

Areas where uncertainties are within the course melodic include phrasing and secondary dominants. I had make use of other online platforms to gather information on these two topics. Also, I feel that the exam is too difficult. I only learned a few things from it, not a great deal. But other than that, I learned quite a great deal and I am very grateful for it. I didn't really get how the circle of fifths worked before I was exposed to this course. Thank you very much, for the opportunity.

von Sean M

May 18, 2020

While I learned quite a bit in this course, the quizzes and exams were a bit misaligned with the material covered. There seemed to be little direction in the way of further study other than the occasional Wikipedia link. The jump from beginner material to more advanced theory did not transition very smoothly. it would be a better learning experience to know why a question was missed on a q

von Hannah L

Apr 09, 2018

It would great if explanations could be given alongside incorrect answer choices. I'm auditing the course and got stuck on a few question during weekly tests, and I didn't know what I'd done wrong with them even once I'd passed the test. I'd love if there was a feature that explained why an answer choice is correct or incorrect.