Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fundamentals of Music Theory

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Fundamentals of Music Theory von The University of Edinburgh

4.5
Sterne
1,348 Bewertungen
423 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce students to the theory of music, providing them with the skills needed to read and write Western music notation, as well as to understand, analyse, and listen informedly. It will cover material such as pitches and scales, intervals, clefs, rhythm, form, meter, phrases and cadences, and basic harmony. This course covers the fundamentals of Western music theory, from the absolute basics to some more advanced concepts and, as such, is the perfect course for beginners and more experienced musicians alike. Follow us on twitter @musictheorymooc #edmusictheory...

Top-Bewertungen

SS
22. Aug. 2017

It was a very nice course. We were able to understand the basics of music theory and how the notations and chords work. Thank you so much to the entire staff of Edinburgh University and Coursera..:-)

GE
1. Apr. 2021

Very good course which hammers home the essentials.\n\nGood enthusiastic lecturing and importantly on completion progressed onto Coursera Musicianship Specialisation which I have now almost completed

Filtern nach:

301 - 325 von 414 Bewertungen für Fundamentals of Music Theory

von Jan S

15. Jan. 2017

First of all: Thank you very much for providing this, I've learned a lot!

Why not 5 stars?

In some cases you just used a link to Wikipedia as additional material for a video. In the first and second week you had more details, I know you already kindly invested a lot of time, but I would appreciate if you could add some details to those sections where you just used links.

von Natthanan K

2. Juli 2020

A variety of topics in music theory was well-organized. Series of practice questions are usefully available. One suggestion is the auditory materials should often accompany written explanations to help learners be acquainted with what you would hear and underlying theory when lecturing about certain topics such as the difference between some time meters or something.

von Leandro V A

16. Nov. 2020

With the exception of week 3, which is indeed very badly taught, and week 6 which is complex and felt the videos could go a bit into more details, the course met my expectations.

I've always played guitar but never had any music theory training and I leave this course with a lot of answered question of things that I hear in music. It was well worth it.

von Lillian G V

10. Juni 2018

It's quite good, and everything that was asked in the exams was explained. But I feel it could have been a lot better if they exaplained everything in a more explicit way. Personally, i learn more when things are shown with examples and several concepts than just with listening about the topic, and I know I'm not the only one who learns that way

von Dr. r n D J G

5. März 2021

Very challenging course. I must say, this is definitly NOT a fundamental or starter course. The level of frustration was quiet high and exploded in week three. Week three is terrible, without any learning benefit. Everything els was challenging, no beginner level in my eyes, but in the end I learned a lot. Thank you!

von marcel m

24. Apr. 2021

The course is very interesting but I would suggest the course material to be complemented by an overall PDF file including a comprehensive summary of all topics ( including the topics for which the lecturers refer learners to wikipedia or other websites) discussed in the course for further reading by the learner.

von Yvonne G

18. Nov. 2020

It would have been a great course for those new to music theory, but I think the way Week 3 was taught needs a huge improvement. I almost dropped the course because of that alone. But otherwise, the other professors did a great job of teaching music and conveying the feelings it brought with it.

von David G

10. Apr. 2018

Really helpful for getting a basic grasp of concepts that I've struggled with without really learning in other places. The final exam is somewhat of a departure from the course material though and requires a fair amount of self-learning to complete. But I'm thankful for the free course!

von Conor F

6. Juni 2020

On the whole a good level of detail and introduces concepts nicely, however i think particularly in week 3 a lot is thrown at you with not much explanation. An addition I think would be useful is explaining how knowing certain things in music theory can help us make music.

von don e

18. Okt. 2020

The final exam seemed to be about things not covered in the course, but peer review of other students contributed to dispelling the ambiguity. What was covered provided a great over-all look at music theory and sets up a sound model for development of concepts.

von Viktoriia M

15. Nov. 2020

It's really difficult for the beginners. And you will have to search a lot on the Internet. I suggest students go straightforward to the final exam task, download the pdf-file and look at it carefully to get the idea of what is waiting at the end.

von Danila G

24. Okt. 2018

The explanations were not always clear nor sufficient for beginners in the part of Functional Harmomy (week 4), which probably should have been preceded by the (brilliant) explanation of Chords, Inversions and Cadences (week 5).

von Véronique G

4. März 2021

Very interesting! A lot of theory but also practical examples for the harmony topic.

A lot of stuff in a very short time. And not always explained in the course.

The difficulty increases suddenly: stay motivated until the end!

von Gervasio G

23. Dez. 2019

Course was great. The main challenge seemed to be the big gap between the first 4 or 5 weeks and the analysis of a musical piece expected for the final exam. It would be nice to have a more guided path for that final task.

von Beryl O

15. Juli 2017

More dfficult than i thought it would be especially week 5 and 6 which moves to complex concepts very quickly. A lot of content in week 5 which may be easier to digest if split? Otherwise a good challenging course!

von Donato P

3. Mai 2021

An excellent and very challenging course for beginners like myself. I found the additional on-line recourses helpful to gain the understanding needed to successfully complete the course. Well worth the effort!

von Ishaan K

3. Okt. 2016

Very informative course. Teaches all the fundamentals till they're painfully obvious. It has helped me understand the skeletal structure of the music I listen to and has helped answer many questions. Thank you.

von Yasmine A M

21. Juli 2017

Wow! The course is very rich! I never knew that music is so complicated.

The professors are really amazing, and they teach us verbal cues to memorize the complicated parts (Every good boy deserves fun!!)

von IKTAN D L V B

22. Okt. 2019

You need some knowledge on music before starting the course, some of the lectures and quizzes are too hard but it’s definitely worth it. I learned a LOT and I’m happy that I took this course!

von Aristarkh T

27. Sep. 2020

Great course! Felt like a good overview of important basics. Most of the lectures are quite clear and descriptive. The parts on form and structure felt a bit rushed and condensed, though.

von Joshua H

7. Jan. 2018

This course moves just a little bit too fast for beginners. I think it needs to be spread out a little bit with further explanations for people who don't understand what they are saying.

von ALEJANDRO G C

23. Juli 2020

I had no musical background and this was a challenging experience. I've learnt a lot in this course, I recommend it. I'm not giving it 5 stars because one of the weeks must be improved.

von Fabio S

17. Nov. 2020

The course is quite challenging, since you have to complete the learning topics by investigating by the student. However this teach you not to give up, which brings great experience.

von Enrique H

19. Nov. 2020

This course has a lot of very interesting and useful information. I like the way the instructors handled it.

Looking forward for courses that can be like a continuation to this one.

von Aziz M A

18. Okt. 2020

It was a fantastic course. I was introduced to the basic concepts and ideas in music theory. Even though the course was hard to keep up, it was a good experience overall. Thanks