Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fundamentals of Music Theory

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Fundamentals of Music Theory von The University of Edinburgh

4.5
Sterne
1,403 Bewertungen
442 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce students to the theory of music, providing them with the skills needed to read and write Western music notation, as well as to understand, analyse, and listen informedly. It will cover material such as pitches and scales, intervals, clefs, rhythm, form, meter, phrases and cadences, and basic harmony. This course covers the fundamentals of Western music theory, from the absolute basics to some more advanced concepts and, as such, is the perfect course for beginners and more experienced musicians alike. Follow us on twitter @musictheorymooc #edmusictheory...

Top-Bewertungen

GE
1. Apr. 2021

Very good course which hammers home the essentials.\n\nGood enthusiastic lecturing and importantly on completion progressed onto Coursera Musicianship Specialisation which I have now almost completed

SS
22. Aug. 2017

It was a very nice course. We were able to understand the basics of music theory and how the notations and chords work. Thank you so much to the entire staff of Edinburgh University and Coursera..:-)

Filtern nach:

326 - 350 von 435 Bewertungen für Fundamentals of Music Theory

von Conor F

6. Juni 2020

On the whole a good level of detail and introduces concepts nicely, however i think particularly in week 3 a lot is thrown at you with not much explanation. An addition I think would be useful is explaining how knowing certain things in music theory can help us make music.

von don e

18. Okt. 2020

The final exam seemed to be about things not covered in the course, but peer review of other students contributed to dispelling the ambiguity. What was covered provided a great over-all look at music theory and sets up a sound model for development of concepts.

von Viktoriia M

15. Nov. 2020

It's really difficult for the beginners. And you will have to search a lot on the Internet. I suggest students go straightforward to the final exam task, download the pdf-file and look at it carefully to get the idea of what is waiting at the end.

von Danila G

24. Okt. 2018

The explanations were not always clear nor sufficient for beginners in the part of Functional Harmomy (week 4), which probably should have been preceded by the (brilliant) explanation of Chords, Inversions and Cadences (week 5).

von Véronique G

4. März 2021

Very interesting! A lot of theory but also practical examples for the harmony topic.

A lot of stuff in a very short time. And not always explained in the course.

The difficulty increases suddenly: stay motivated until the end!

von Gervasio G

23. Dez. 2019

Course was great. The main challenge seemed to be the big gap between the first 4 or 5 weeks and the analysis of a musical piece expected for the final exam. It would be nice to have a more guided path for that final task.

von Beryl O

15. Juli 2017

More dfficult than i thought it would be especially week 5 and 6 which moves to complex concepts very quickly. A lot of content in week 5 which may be easier to digest if split? Otherwise a good challenging course!

von Donato P

3. Mai 2021

An excellent and very challenging course for beginners like myself. I found the additional on-line recourses helpful to gain the understanding needed to successfully complete the course. Well worth the effort!

von Ishaan K

3. Okt. 2016

Very informative course. Teaches all the fundamentals till they're painfully obvious. It has helped me understand the skeletal structure of the music I listen to and has helped answer many questions. Thank you.

von Yasmine A M

21. Juli 2017

Wow! The course is very rich! I never knew that music is so complicated.

The professors are really amazing, and they teach us verbal cues to memorize the complicated parts (Every good boy deserves fun!!)

von IKTAN D L V B

22. Okt. 2019

You need some knowledge on music before starting the course, some of the lectures and quizzes are too hard but it’s definitely worth it. I learned a LOT and I’m happy that I took this course!

von Aristarkh T

27. Sep. 2020

Great course! Felt like a good overview of important basics. Most of the lectures are quite clear and descriptive. The parts on form and structure felt a bit rushed and condensed, though.

von Joshua H

7. Jan. 2018

This course moves just a little bit too fast for beginners. I think it needs to be spread out a little bit with further explanations for people who don't understand what they are saying.

von ALEJANDRO G C

23. Juli 2020

I had no musical background and this was a challenging experience. I've learnt a lot in this course, I recommend it. I'm not giving it 5 stars because one of the weeks must be improved.

von Fabio S C

17. Nov. 2020

The course is quite challenging, since you have to complete the learning topics by investigating by the student. However this teach you not to give up, which brings great experience.

von Enrique H

19. Nov. 2020

This course has a lot of very interesting and useful information. I like the way the instructors handled it.

Looking forward for courses that can be like a continuation to this one.

von Aziz M A

18. Okt. 2020

It was a fantastic course. I was introduced to the basic concepts and ideas in music theory. Even though the course was hard to keep up, it was a good experience overall. Thanks

von Chloe A G

17. Okt. 2016

This was a great class, but some of the information could have been more comprehensive, and some of the questions on the tests did not match the information from the lectures.

von 黄薇

12. Okt. 2016

Good for beginners, introduced basic theory systemly. But a few mistakes appeared, though corrected in the videos too, but better to clear them in the future shifts.

von Santiago A B S

16. Sep. 2020

it's a really great course; although they don't get into every detail that you would think you need,it's a pretty good overlook of the elementary of music theory.

von Muhammad N B A M

13. Nov. 2020

I think week 3 and partially week 5 could've been implemented a bit better. but they did really well explaining basic music theory with the allocated time given.

von Naveed H

14. Apr. 2018

The quizzes sometimes feel a little too difficult compared to the lectures that precede them, but other than that it's a really nice and comprehensive course

von marcos v g

6. Feb. 2020

Course was very difficult for me. I did not make final exam. However alltogether gave me may Inputs and Tutors were very professional . Thank you very much.

von Jan D

4. Okt. 2016

A little bit steep demand curve regarding to what is offered in the lectures.

Well, well... The whole world knows that "they" are a little "thrifty" ;-)

von Avinesh S

15. Feb. 2018

The video tutorials were good, but for me it was not sufficient. However, the examinations were a lot helpful than the video lessons.