Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fundamentals of Music Theory

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Fundamentals of Music Theory von The University of Edinburgh

4.6
Sterne
1,182 Bewertungen
344 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce students to the theory of music, providing them with the skills needed to read and write Western music notation, as well as to understand, analyse, and listen informedly. It will cover material such as pitches and scales, intervals, clefs, rhythm, form, meter, phrases and cadences, and basic harmony. This course covers the fundamentals of Western music theory, from the absolute basics to some more advanced concepts and, as such, is the perfect course for beginners and more experienced musicians alike. Follow us on twitter @musictheorymooc #edmusictheory...

Top-Bewertungen

SS

Aug 23, 2017

It was a very nice course. We were able to understand the basics of music theory and how the notations and chords work. Thank you so much to the entire staff of Edinburgh University and Coursera..:-)

KM

May 01, 2020

Its not as easy as it seems, it will give you a good challenge. After you finish this, you will be more confident about your music theory. Thank you University of Edinburgh! Thank you Coursera!

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 339 Bewertungen für Fundamentals of Music Theory

von Angélica R R R

Feb 25, 2018

I like this course. I suppose some questions in the quiz are obviously but in general, finally I understood basic fundamentals of the music theory, because I did not before. Thank you so much to the Edinburg university. It's sad I don't have money to be certified, but I love this course. :D Thanks!

von Povoroznyuk Y I / П Я И

Apr 11, 2018

A big THANK YOU to everebody who created this course! Now I have a good knowledge of fundamental music theory and can learn more about harmony. It was a little bit hard to understand all information from 5th week, but recommended sources from this course helped me. Thanks a lot!

Best regards,

Yana.

von Kermit B B

May 15, 2017

Loved it. This was the first course i felt was extremely challenging, informative, and inspirational. I grew up playing the alto sax, but the theory was awesome.

It also felt like a College level course. Leaving the learner to expand and expound upon the material presented.

Thank YOU

Kermit

von Roman S

Mar 27, 2017

I've learn a lot here from absolutely zero. Before taking the course I couldn't even imagine that it is possible for me to learn anything about music and to be able to understand notes notation. Definitely recommend. But keep in mind that it requires you to work overtime and practice it.

von JD D

Jan 15, 2017

Un curso muy bien resumido pero completo que asegura una exigencia competente en sus evaluaciones, lo recomiendo totalmente para aquel que quiera ejercitar su dominio de la armonía y a otros hispanohablantes (como yo) que busquen conocer más acerca del inglés técnico dentro de la música.

von Farhan S

Jul 06, 2017

It was a wonderful course and a great beginning to my musical journey. The fundamentals were covered efficiently and made it possible to learn the deep nuances of harmony and musical progression. I would truly recommend it to all those interested in learning what creates music.

von Daniel N A

Apr 18, 2017

An amazing course on the Fundamentals of Music Theory! I am beginning my musical education with this program and getting ready to start community college in the fall, so this is definitely getting me ready. Perhaps, one day I plan to study music at this university in Scotland.

von José A B

Jul 13, 2020

Muy recomendable. Realiza un repaso de los conceptos introductorios y centrales para el análisis musical. Ejemplos claros y muy buenos profesores. El examen final es un compendio de todo lo explicado, con una exigencia justa y superadora. Muy conforme con el curso realizado.

von Nemakhavhani N

May 24, 2017

This is a great course and will help you to quickly grasp the essential knowledge & skills in music theory. However you must not only rely on the videos, make use of the class notes provided and also do your own research.Last but not least, practice what they teach you:)

von Tree T

Oct 23, 2019

Starts off fairly easy but gets much harder halfway through. Helps if you know how to read music well (not sight reading). Stick it to the end and you'll learn a lot! I know I did!

Highlights for me: Learning about the importance of circle of fifths and modulating.

von Ramin C

Aug 16, 2018

This has been a really great way for me to learn much of the basics of music theory!

The instructors have made a great job in explaining quite complex ideas in a way that is easy to understand, however some in-depth seeking will be needed from the students as well.

von Sara M

Jan 17, 2019

A great course! It has been undoubtedly my favourite until now in Coursera and I highly recommend it. I would like to specially thank Dr Nikki Moran, Dr Zack Moir and Dr John Philip Kitchen for making it look easier than it is and really pleasant and enjoyable.

von Nikita D

Aug 23, 2017

I think this course is a great way to start understand how Western music works on a new level, how read note stave, how to start analyze music and find harmony. There are some great mnemonic things to remember lot of difficult stuff. I like it a lot! Thank you!

von Ece B

Dec 01, 2016

I am an amateur musician myself, in high school. I love playing music and singing so much but i always felt like i was missing theoretic information. Thanks to this course, I feel like i am overcoming this situation. Thank you so much for making this possible.

von PONG T Y G

May 25, 2020

The course is well organized. The instructors explain the materials clearly supplemented with demonstrations that help tremendously. However, it seems the learner needs to read and self initiate extra materials to appreciate and understand the knowledge.

von Vishal M

May 09, 2019

An exceptional overview of the basics of Music Theory and a great curriculum organization provided in this course really did help me understand the curriculum better. Thank you to all the teachers in this course that helped me to learn something new!

von Panagiotis E

Nov 23, 2016

A very well structured cpurse. A solid amount of information delivered, with the pace picking up maybe a little too abruptly after week 3. However, I did learn a lot, and investing the time required was definitely worth it. Highly recommended.

von Samuel G

Dec 10, 2018

Great course, starts with the most basic fundamentals and quickly becomes very challenging. The teachers are great and the course material is solid. Even though I'm finding it a real struggle to complete, I've enjoyed this course thoroughly.

von Bartosz W

Dec 22, 2017

A great course for complete beginners, or self taught musicians who are willing to learn what they are actually doing. Don't expect complex concepts here. But the basic building blocks are laid out very well. That creates a good foundation.

von Marc P

Jul 07, 2017

Excellent course. It does go beyond the fundamentals, and is a bit difficult in the last couple of weeks, but is a very interesting and informative course. The teachers are excellent and I recommend it for any aspiring musician.

von Şafak A Ç

Sep 17, 2020

It was a great course. First few weeks really starts from the fundamental stuff and in the later weeks lectures cover more comprehensive aspects of the music theory. I'm really glad that I completed this course. Thanks a lot.

von Renat K

Dec 24, 2017

This is the most exciting educational journey i had in my life! Today i'm able of composing music on a whole new level. I keep on educating myself and deepening my knowledge thanks to Coursera and The University of Edinburgh.

von Manuel V

Jan 28, 2019

El curso es la mejor introducción que he encontrado a la materia. Con la profundización del estudio uno reconociendo algunas ambiguedades, pero aún así me ha ayudado mucho a desarrollar habilidades para el análisis armónico.

von Priyanka

Jun 02, 2019

It is an excellent course for we students to understand the core and foundation of music theory. Extremely professional tutors who help us understand every lecture easily.

I can't thank Coursera enough, for this oppurtuniy.

von Arkady S

Apr 28, 2020

A bit of a quick ramp up. Prior musical background and experience reading sheet music is very helpful. Learned a lot, and enjoyed the listening exercises/examples that you can replay at your own pace in the lectures.