Chevron Left
Zurück zu Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity von Stanford University

4.9
Sterne
2,538 Bewertungen
884 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

Top-Bewertungen

AP
11. Aug. 2020

It was wonderful experience to know the special theory of relativity from Larry, who has presented the course in very simple way to understand. Thanks a lot to Larry for providing such a good session.

JJ
21. März 2020

Thanks for helping me understand the Special Theory of Relativity, covered a lot of ground but repeated it so it really could sink in. Like your style and want to thank you for your assistance. Thanks

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 877 Bewertungen für Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

von Antonio P

30. Mai 2017

A superb introduction into Special Relativity. A great way to assimilate in full the fundamental concepts before diving into a more technical/mathematical approach... if you really need it. I'm very pleased having decided to take it. Thank you very much!

von Karen S B

9. Dez. 2020

This is an excellent course even for those of us who have some understanding of these concepts. The instructor is extremely knowledgeable and reinforces these ideas in a clear and concise manner.

I found it to be very thorough and interesting. Thank you!

von Jim M

19. Okt. 2020

Dr. Lagerstrom's presentations were detailed, clear, and very understandable. His whiteboard work was very good. The presentations on were neat, clear and very readable.

In my opinion, the course was a top notch introduction to Einstein and relativity.

von AFI. J M

22. Juli 2020

It is a great course for all Physics Enthusiasts and also for someone who wants to know about Einstein. Prof. Lagerstrom is a wonderful teacher who helps you to imagine every single thought experiment in a very intuitive way. Thanks to Prof. Lagerstrom.

von Vishal V

22. Juli 2017

I like this course and i learn something new and very weird things about universe. I also thankful to Prof. Larry Lagerstrom, and Stanford University to provide such valuable knowledge and also thankful to coursera to provide such platform for learning.

von Richard M

19. Aug. 2021

R​andy Lagerstrom is an engaging teacher with a comprehensive grasp of his subject. He is a master teacher who can break down complex ideas into understandable concepts without sacrificing the whole. I would highly recommend any course he would teach

von Gwen J H

18. Sep. 2021

I highly recommend this excellent, well-organized course on the Special Theory of Relativity. It is a great introduction to the topic, taught by a very experienced professor. There is so much more to learn and this course inspires me to dig deeper.

von Andres P

13. Juli 2020

Excellent course. Great lectures, perfect for anyone with a minimum background on physics. No need to have any previous knowledge of the Special Theory of Relativity. Very well explained and well designed exercises. Top experience! 100% recommended!

von Luiz C

18. Juni 2019

Really great Course: though Professor Lagestrom explanations can sometimes feel being too long, he is always very clear. I really enjoyed this Course, and wish there would bea similar follow-up course on the topic of the General Theory of Relativity

von Harry A H

18. März 2020

Very thorough and modern explanation of the basic principles of SR. Modern in the sense that math is not emphasized to start getting the correct intuition. Thank you Prof. Holstrom and thank you to the staff for answering all questions so promptly.

von John M

27. Mai 2017

A fantastic course by a fantastic teacher. Enthusiastic and interesting and most importantly clearly explaining the subject matter. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this course to anyone and to take any other course run by Larry Randles Lagerstrom.

von Dhruv A

16. Juni 2021

Excellent Course offered by Stanford, taught intricately by Professor Lagerstrom. Structured very well and comprehensive to a novice, covering all the base concepts of Special Relativity, with math easily understood by a high school level student.

von Utkarsh C

14. Juli 2020

Really it was a great course, explained with such good examples and out teacher " just hats off to him". Sir, you were really very kind and intelligent. thank you for letting us understand the fundamentals of Einstein Special theory of Relativity.

von Jean-Jacques Z

23. Juni 2018

Very clear presentation of the Physics involved. Can be followed without mathematical background. As a suggested reading I would add "L'évolution des idées en Physique" from Einstein / Infeld"Let's go now for a lecture in general relativity!

von Quincy G

9. Okt. 2018

Professor was very thorough in explaining the various aspects regarding the Special Theory of Relativity. The tests and problem sets were well related to what I learned in the videos, and helped me apply what I learned. A terrific course.

von Amalkrishna M

11. Okt. 2020

Intresting course and excellent professor and never ever had this excellent online class valuable and worth class and I'm become more endustatic in physics and thanks for all the guys behind this project and special thanks for professor

von Benjamin Z F

26. Dez. 2017

The content and quality of the course is amazing. I am very satisfied with the course director's knowledge, his ability to convey that knowledge and I now have a much better understanding of the Special Theory of Relativity. Five stars!

von Santiago B

23. Juni 2017

It's a brilliant course. Although I knew nothing about this topics, even as regard as basic Physics, I understood everything. There are simple explanations and a very didactic diagramming. This was an enriching and enjoyable experience.

von Shruthi S

2. März 2017

Thanks for this course. And I am overwhelmed by the fact that you're giving away these course materials for free. Of course, I'll buy a few important courses for I'll be asked for a certificate. Anyways, thanks a lot team course era. :)

von Nikola S

18. Aug. 2020

One of the best courses I have ever seen. With only little knowledge in physics and math, it is possible to follow the course until the end. A lot of the theory is visualized in pictures and graphs to make it even better to understand.

von Ciaran L

9. Juni 2020

Larry was a brilliant teacher and explained everything very clearly. He took the necessary time on each aspect of the course and made sure that the 'foundations' were laid to properly understand Einstein's Special Theory of Relativity.

von David J

2. Apr. 2021

A very clear and well thought-out presentation of a tricky subject. At 75 I feared my speed of comprehension wouldn't be up to it. Thanks to Larry for helping me get up to speed and for making the experience so unexpectedly enjoyable!

von Oguzhan O

19. Mai 2020

I have never ever had a better course than this. As a person with a little background in physical scineces, I am capable of asking important questions about the universe. Thank you Prof. Lagerstrom for your unforgettable contribution.

von Arun G

14. Apr. 2020

I got a more in-depth understanding of how special relativity acutally works and I was able to completely clear the major doubts that i had about the various pseudo paradoxes that arised out of this theory such as the twins paradox.

von Shrijan R

16. Juli 2020

This course is really good for the very beginners who have started studying physics. The way it has been presented is a very easy and lucid one. Although I would have like the optional problems to have much more harder problems.