Chevron Left
Zurück zu Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity von Stanford University

4.9
Sterne
2,739 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

Top-Bewertungen

BH

22. Juni 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

SS

8. Dez. 2019

Almost anyone can learn about the special theory of relativity from these lectures. I actually can't believe that I studied from a professor who teaches in the USA and in so simple way. I am grateful.

Filtern nach:

376 - 400 von 944 Bewertungen für Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

von Robert B D

3. Okt. 2017

An excellent courses with all material presented in a very thoughtful and systematic way. Practice problem sets are a very important addition to the course material. Well done!!!

von Peter B

22. Sep. 2017

Larry Lagerstrom did an outstanding job in presenting much counter-intuitive material. The course flowed nicely and I feel that I have a reasonable grasp of Special Relativity.

von Mohammed A

20. Sep. 2018

This course is really made me understand the Special Theory of Relativity, does not matter if your physic level is not that much good, with this course you only need so basics.

von Pritam k s

12. Juni 2017

teacher is good course is also good i loved it.i wanted to buy a certificate but i have not enough money to buy...anywhere thanks for enroll free thank you so,much............

von KEVIN T M X

6. Jan. 2021

It is a great course, it helped me a lot in understaing Einstein's thoughts. The didatics of professor Larry is excelent. For sure, this course definitively expanded my mind.

von Robert D

23. Mai 2020

Professor Lagerstrom did a wonderful job building a foundation in order to make this very complicated theory understandable. The course was well worth the effort. Thank you

von Andrew M

23. Juni 2018

I have been interested in relativity for years and thought that I understood it (in a general sense) pretty well - this course gave me new insights and is highly recommended.

von Eduardo D S F

16. Okt. 2021

Very clear and very well designed. I found it very easy to understand and useful to get an idea about general relativity.

Thank you very much, I enjoyed the course very much.

von Michael A

21. Feb. 2021

A tantalizing topic, a fantastic teacher...what could be better. Truly a well structured, superbly presented course and teacher. Highly recommended for the so inclined....

von Joseph D I

3. Jan. 2021

Outstanding course. I cannot say enough about the course design and instruction in building the foundation - piece by piece - for thorough understanding. Highly recommended.

von Shah Z K

12. Okt. 2021

The course was fantastic. It helped ma a lot to learn about special theory of relativity. The way of teaching was easy and good. Thanks for providing the great opportunity.

von randolph o

20. Aug. 2020

Very good instructor, knowledgeable, coherent, understandable, enthusiastic; course well organized, well paced; interesting subject; I learned a lot and enjoyed experience.

von Julian S

18. Apr. 2019

I am a second-year undergrad student. This is a well organized introductory course and I really enjoyed learning something new. Will definitely recommend it to a friend. :)

von Jojy M

12. Okt. 2018

An excellent course for those who want to have a basic understanding of the special theory of relativity without the scary math that one usually associates with the theory.

von Chanithu H

24. Okt. 2021

It was a truly amazing and informative course. The extent to which it widens our knowledge and intuition towards any approach in science is priceless. Highly recommend it!

von Michael C

2. Jan. 2020

So very glad to have taken this course. Professor Lagerstom was an excellent lecturer, making this challenging subject understandable and interesting. Thank you so much.

von Lea D

2. Aug. 2019

It was an amazing Course. I really enjoyed the Course and understood the concepts of the Theory of relativity. The weeks were really well-thought and add up to each other.

von Abigail M

7. Nov. 2017

Fantastic course! Really encouraged me to go study Physics at University. Really well explained and completely sparked me enthusiasm. So thought provoking and interesting!

von seesy

29. Juli 2020

Overall, I thought the course content was very interesting and I really enjoyed learning more about Einstein and theories about time dilation and other related materials.

von Tucker E

28. Apr. 2021

Awesome course and professor did good job of explaining. Might have to use youtube or outside sources to help grasp some of the topics but great course and learned a lot

von Mayada S E

1. Sep. 2019

Amazing course that makes your mind opened for imagination in a magic Einsteinal world with a great instructor who simpliphy every tiny information.thanks alot Dr. Larry

von fred

17. Sep. 2017

Really interesting course, Prof L Lagerstrom is extremely good at teaching the concepts in a comprehensive way ; I hope that he will give more courses in the future ! :)

von Etienne T

10. Nov. 2016

Very good, easy to follow course. Concepts like time slowing down and things becoming shorter at high velocities are no longer a mysterie to me after taking this course.

von Grace V

5. Dez. 2020

Feeling a bit emotionally as I depart from this class. It was truly an enlightening experience and I walked away truly having a grasp for quantum mechanics as a novice.

von Marko S

21. Aug. 2020

Really great course, it can be seen that professor really puts in great effort and repeats key concepts throught course so you never go astray of main ideas. Thank you.