Chevron Left
Zurück zu Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity von Stanford University

4.9
Sterne
2,684 Bewertungen
929 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

Top-Bewertungen

SS

8. Dez. 2019

Almost anyone can learn about the special theory of relativity from these lectures. I actually can't believe that I studied from a professor who teaches in the USA and in so simple way. I am grateful.

AP

11. Aug. 2020

It was wonderful experience to know the special theory of relativity from Larry, who has presented the course in very simple way to understand. Thanks a lot to Larry for providing such a good session.

Filtern nach:

376 - 400 von 925 Bewertungen für Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

von Michael A

21. Feb. 2021

A tantalizing topic, a fantastic teacher...what could be better. Truly a well structured, superbly presented course and teacher. Highly recommended for the so inclined....

von Joseph D I

3. Jan. 2021

Outstanding course. I cannot say enough about the course design and instruction in building the foundation - piece by piece - for thorough understanding. Highly recommended.

von Shah Z K

12. Okt. 2021

The course was fantastic. It helped ma a lot to learn about special theory of relativity. The way of teaching was easy and good. Thanks for providing the great opportunity.

von randolph o

20. Aug. 2020

Very good instructor, knowledgeable, coherent, understandable, enthusiastic; course well organized, well paced; interesting subject; I learned a lot and enjoyed experience.

von Julian S

18. Apr. 2019

I am a second-year undergrad student. This is a well organized introductory course and I really enjoyed learning something new. Will definitely recommend it to a friend. :)

von Jojy M

12. Okt. 2018

An excellent course for those who want to have a basic understanding of the special theory of relativity without the scary math that one usually associates with the theory.

von Chanithu H

24. Okt. 2021

It was a truly amazing and informative course. The extent to which it widens our knowledge and intuition towards any approach in science is priceless. Highly recommend it!

von Michael C

2. Jan. 2020

So very glad to have taken this course. Professor Lagerstom was an excellent lecturer, making this challenging subject understandable and interesting. Thank you so much.

von Lea D

2. Aug. 2019

It was an amazing Course. I really enjoyed the Course and understood the concepts of the Theory of relativity. The weeks were really well-thought and add up to each other.

von Abigail M

7. Nov. 2017

Fantastic course! Really encouraged me to go study Physics at University. Really well explained and completely sparked me enthusiasm. So thought provoking and interesting!

von seesy

29. Juli 2020

Overall, I thought the course content was very interesting and I really enjoyed learning more about Einstein and theories about time dilation and other related materials.

von Tucker E

28. Apr. 2021

Awesome course and professor did good job of explaining. Might have to use youtube or outside sources to help grasp some of the topics but great course and learned a lot

von Mayada S E

1. Sep. 2019

Amazing course that makes your mind opened for imagination in a magic Einsteinal world with a great instructor who simpliphy every tiny information.thanks alot Dr. Larry

von fred

17. Sep. 2017

Really interesting course, Prof L Lagerstrom is extremely good at teaching the concepts in a comprehensive way ; I hope that he will give more courses in the future ! :)

von Etienne T

10. Nov. 2016

Very good, easy to follow course. Concepts like time slowing down and things becoming shorter at high velocities are no longer a mysterie to me after taking this course.

von Grace V

5. Dez. 2020

Feeling a bit emotionally as I depart from this class. It was truly an enlightening experience and I walked away truly having a grasp for quantum mechanics as a novice.

von Marko S

21. Aug. 2020

Really great course, it can be seen that professor really puts in great effort and repeats key concepts throught course so you never go astray of main ideas. Thank you.

von Patrick M

2. Juli 2017

Very good introduction to the topic without going too far in depth into the calculations. This has inspired me to take more advance physic courses to continue to learn.

von haltersweb

4. Feb. 2019

This was an extremely interesting course. Thank you for offering it. You really made it understandable while still maintaining the wonder of such "weird" phenomenon.

von Aman M

26. Jan. 2022

Absolutely phenomenal. I had watched some more mathematical lectures on youtube, but my conceptual understanding of the basics was lacking. This course cleared it up.

von Soham C

6. Juli 2020

Best Astronomy Course Ever. I love Standford and would even like to choose Standford University for my higher education and research. I highly recommend this course !

von karen o

14. Feb. 2017

though i have read lots of popular physics before, nothing ever explained lorentz contraction and time dliation like dr lagerstrom! really helpful new understanding.

von Themistoklis V B

26. Jan. 2021

Excellent from start to end. Maths level required is very basic and still possible to understand only with words a lot of things that would seem complicated before!

von Giff

10. Okt. 2020

Provided a very beautiful insight into non-intuitive concepts and the struggle to understand the marvelous structure of reality was indeed an ennobling experience!

von Silvia E F

18. Juni 2020

Me ha servido mucho.

He comprendido de que se trata cuando hablamos de Relatividad Especial

De como llegamos a las paradojas y como salimos de ellas

Gracias Profesor