Chevron Left
Zurück zu Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity von Stanford University

4.9
Sterne
2,514 Bewertungen
876 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

Top-Bewertungen

BH
22. Juni 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

AP
11. Aug. 2020

It was wonderful experience to know the special theory of relativity from Larry, who has presented the course in very simple way to understand. Thanks a lot to Larry for providing such a good session.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 871 Bewertungen für Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

von Rodolfo R A A

18. Mai 2020

As a geologist engineer, this course showed me that no modern physics can be out of reach. We all can play with these ideas and get a solid understanding of them. Prof. Lagerstrom really made the most important points clear and I got a clear picture regarding the Special Theory of Relativity, among history of science and other stuff as well. Great, solid course of which I can only feel thankful to Prof. Lagerstrom.

von Ona M P

16. Aug. 2020

My idea was to undestand the Special Theory of Relativity from a qualitative point of view and this course really accomplished that. Although I don't speak English in my day to day, the teacher made it easy to undestand not using a lot of difficult vocabulary and writing and drawing on the board. I highly recommend this course for those who are curious and want to learn more about the Special Theory of Relativity.

von Mila C

29. Apr. 2018

Wonderful course that has opened so many doors of thought and knowledge. Thanks to the professor, Larry Randles Lagerstrom for his instruction and for bringing this amazing course of one of the greatest minds of all time to Coursera. My interest in physics has been piqued and i will continue to pursue a deeper understanding after this wonderful course. Thank you again to the professor and to the team at Coursera.

von Jorge A V

7. Dez. 2020

This is a great course for understanding concepts as the principle of relativity, the constancy of velocity of light, the relativity of simultaneity, the invariant interval, time dilation, length contraction, the famous equation E=mc^2 and a short introduction to the General Theory of Relativity with the Principle of Equivalence, everything in a quantitative and qualitative way given by an excellent professor.

von Matthew F

16. Aug. 2018

This is a very wonderful course. I really enjoyed it. The professor really shared the insight of having a struggle to understand will lead to an ennobling, enriched experience and how we can look at the big picture of what the universe is like and how this works. Understanding Einstein's Special Theory of Relativity really helped a lot (in context and some key concepts of space and time). Thank you professor.

von Fu-Cheng C

22. Mai 2020

The course is a beautiful marriage of history, humanity, and science. The pace is slow at first but picks up steadily. I never thought I would ever understand special relativity but thanks to Professor Lagerstrom's thorough explanations, I am now comfortable with the concept and see the world in a different light. I wish Professor Lagerstrom will eventually produce a similar course on general relativity.

von George P

2. Dez. 2020

Dr Lagerstrom is a fantastic instructor and makes the most fearful physics seem ordinary. The course layout was perfect along with the pace. Also, Dr Lagerstrom made the concepts detailed with the right amount of math. I didnt believe I could understand Einstein without all the math. I enjoyed this opportunity to get a deeper understanding of one law of the universe and am eager to learn more.

von Rubén M R

13. Juli 2021

E​s el primer curso que encuentro con un nivel muy adecuado, va más allá de lo que siempre se dice sobre relatividad pero no es tan complejo como ser solo comprensible por especialistas o matemáticos.

It is the first course that I find with a very adequate level, it goes beyond what is always said about relativity but it is not so complex as to be only understandable by specialists or mathematicians.

von Anish K

16. März 2020

Amazing introductory Course for Special Relativity. Might be a bit too basic at times w.r.t to maths but hey!, it never hurts to listen to things for a second time. Will definitely recommend to anyone looking to get into higher level physics. Being a High School student myself, I learned a lot and thoroughly enjoyed it. Thanks a lot to Stanford and Prof for making education freely available to all.

von Moya H

25. Aug. 2017

This course is engaging and interesting. The lecturer inspires you to learn and open your mind. The course itself can be hard in areas but if you stick with it, eventually you can work it out. There is a fair bit of algebra (which I never studied at school) but I still made it! I recommend this to anyone who wants to understand time and space and be drawn into the fantastic world of Einstein.

von Michel A

28. Feb. 2020

After reading almost a lifetime books about the works and accomplishments of Einstein (not being a graduated scientist but huge fan of the topic), it is amazing to follow this this course and explore this world in a whole new sight. Fantastic stuff brought by the best instructor by far. I think I will start all over again. A lot is much more obvious now, or is it? Triple A+ for Larry. Thank you.

von Wallace C

24. Apr. 2018

I can't stress enough how good this course is. It's the best course i've ever taken in any subject. It's really impressive how much energy, thought, patience, care was put here. I'm deeply thankful for this. You guys made me so happy. Almost everything someone need to know about STR is here. And the teacher... maybe my favourite physics teacher ever. This guy is the golden standard of teaching.

von Bojan D

27. Sep. 2020

This is an excellent course for everyone who is interested in Einstein's special theory of relativity. All concepts about the theory are presented in a simple and intuitive way, therefore anyone with basic math knowledge will understand it easily.

Also, professor Larry Lagerstrom is a very charismatics person, and his talent for teaching other people made this course an amazing experience.

von luiz f g

29. Juli 2017

This is a greate course. Many thanks to all involved in providing such a very well elaborated course, modeling such a complex subject in a "simplified" version that is reachable by many people that would be disencouraged by maths and formulas intrinsic to the subject. Thanks also to Professor LArry by making the course even more entusiastic and attractive by given many examples along it.

von Vijay S

7. Okt. 2020

The course is very well designed for someone with little or no knowledge of the subject matter. The only quibble I had was with respect to the time spent on the very basics of the maths and what I felt was somewhat repetitive nature of some of the points made, if adjusted for that one could lop off several hours from the course length and might actually encourage more participation.

von Helen C

5. März 2017

This is the first course I ever finished on coursera! Thanks to Prof. Lagerstrom for making the course so easy and engaging for people with any level of maths and physics knowledge to follow and pick up. I've really enjoyed the whole journey and gained knowledge about this universe. It's definitely worth recommending to anyone who's interested to know more about the world around us.

von Ken H

28. Dez. 2018

Great course. The instructor goes slow and repeats important points for maximum retention. Key equations are rigorously derived (requiring only high school algebra) but are rarely required in the weekly quizzes. After completing this course I have a better understanding of special relativity and (thanks to the final week) better understand its relationship to general relativity.

von ppietrus

23. Mai 2018

Fascinating course and a material presented in a super approachable way. Many paradoxes thoroughly explained - for the first time for me everything from start to finish was crystal clear. Amazing how almost all of these interesting phenomena, including Lorentz transformation, can be derived simply by using pythagorean theorem and common sense. Can I have a second helping please!

von Larry L

13. Sep. 2020

I have always wanted to understand the basics of the Special Theory of Relativity but when trying to read about it found that I did not have the appropriate post high school background in math and physics to understand the theory. Professor Lagerstrom presented the information in a cogent manner that enabled me to grasp both the theory's underlying principles and its beauty.

LL

von RONALD D P

3. Okt. 2019

Very well done. I learned a lot and I'm very pleased with the results I achieved. I learned to study with purpose and to be patient in my learning. I learned to listen intently and apply what I learned. Even old dogs can learn new tricks. I really enjoyed listening to Mr Lagerstrom's lectures. He is knowledgeable and interesting to listen to. He made the course easy to follow.

von Frank B

14. März 2020

This course is outstanding. I have tried other self-learning STofR courses and never got past the preliminary steps. The professor is outstanding, the amount of effort to make Special Relativity concepts understandable at the high school algebra level must have been immense. Thanks for expending the effort.

Frank Bryant B.S. Biology/Chemistry, B.S.E.E, M.S. Computer Systems

von Hugo C P

26. Feb. 2018

Es un gran curso, el profesor tiene una gran experiencia haciendo clases y he aprendido mucho tomando el curso, ayuda que esté el texto en ingles de sus diálogos para traducirlo si hay alguna duda. El curso cumplió todas mis expectativas, felicito al equipo que diagramó y preparó este lindo curso para los amantes de la física y la astronomía. Un abrazo a todo el equipo.

von Yaswant G

29. Juni 2020

This is a wonderful path to embark on for those who wish to have a different perspective on the natural laws. It provides a robust platform for pursing more advanced journeys and enhance their ability to analyse and contemplate. The course material is really good and is definitely recommended for people who wish to step out of their boundaries and grasp more of life.

von Jerome H

22. Mai 2020

For foreigners, the subtitles are very useful. Sometimes they are not correct and students could have correct them if there would be some tool to propose corrections as it is sometimes the case for the correction of OCR for old newspaper.

I have learned a lot with this course and would like to thank you for providing this material to all the students in the world.

von Sheshagiri K M R

24. Juni 2017

I must say that it is a great course. It moves along nicely (though at times a bit fast); the context has been laid out well and there is enough of summarizing and 'looking back' before moving forward. This course is an ideal beginning for anyone who wants to deep dive into relativity at a later stage! My thanks to Coursera and special thanks to Prof. Lagerstrom!