Chevron Left
Zurück zu Emergent Phenomena in Science and Everyday Life

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Emergent Phenomena in Science and Everyday Life von University of California, Irvine

4.3
Sterne
113 Bewertungen
40 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Before the advent of quantum mechanics in the early 20th century, most scientists believed that it should be possible to predict the behavior of any object in the universe simply by understanding the behavior of its constituent parts. For instance, if one could write down the equations of motion for every atom in a system, it should be possible to solve those equations (with the aid of a sufficiently large computing device) and make accurate predictions about that system’s future. However, there are some systems that defy this notion. Consider a living cell, which consists mostly of carbon, hydrogen, and oxygen along with other trace elements. We can study these components individually without ever imagining how combining them in just the right way can lead to something as complex and wonderful as a living organism! Thus, we can consider life to be an emergent property of what is essentially an accumulation of constituent parts that are somehow organized in a very precise way. This course lets you explore the concept of emergence using examples from materials science, mathematics, biology, physics, and neuroscience to illustrate how ordinary components when brought together can collectively yield unexpected, surprising behaviors. Note: The fractal image (Sierpinkski Triangle) depicted on the course home page was generated by a software application called XaoS 3.4, which is distributed by the Free Software Foundation under a GNU General Public License. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Explain the difference in assumptions between an emergent versus reductive approach to science. 2. Explain why the reductivist approach is understood by many to be inadequate as a means of describing and predicting complex systems. 3. Describe how the length scale used to examine a phenomenon can contribute to how you analyze and understand it. 4. Explain why the search for general principles that explain emergent phenomena make them an active locus of scientific investigation. 5. Discuss examples of emergent phenomena and explain why they are classified as emergent....

Top-Bewertungen

RV
7. Mai 2017

i enjoyed all the different modules. I recommend they add more explanation to the chaos game assignment.

ST
1. Juli 2017

It's a good course to get acquainted with first hand information about studies in emergent phenomena

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 38 Bewertungen für Emergent Phenomena in Science and Everyday Life

von Pasquale D S

9. Juni 2020

The course itself is a good, 'popular science' introduction to a number of emergent phenomena, if that is what you are looking for. The different modules are covered by different professors, who do not seem to have agreed in advanced on the level and goals of the course. Hence, some modules are extremely well done (notably the one on foams), others are almost off-topic (consciousness, with little to do with explaining emergence in that context). The one on chaos one requires some mathematical knowledge which is little more than high-school level, yet it's at odds with the overall non-technical approach of most of the rest. The biological pattern one is even split between two professors, each one offering but a quick intro to interesting subjects. The physics one tries to convene the notion of effective degrees of freedom, quasi-particles, etc. but the example chosen (fractional charges in condensed matter physics) requires so much abstraction that it only speaks to those who already know what the professor is talking about. The interviews and some links to extra material are perhaps the best part of the course. Worst of all, however: There is no forum and thus no way to interact with mentors, professors or other learners (the few that are around!), despite the fact that most assignments are peer-graded, which makes getting the certificate almost impossible. I do not think this is up to the standards of Coursera. Unless this big problem is fixed, I suggest you to go for an audit option, but not to pay to enroll. To the UCI team: Please do not let such a great opportunity to introduce fascinating phenomena to a large audience die! I strongly encourage you to follow up with your promise (in the videos) to propose more elaborate modules. Actually, each of the topics introduced would make a great course, especially for an audience which is not afraid of some calculus, basic physics, and biology.

von Abraham N

12. Juli 2020

I give this course five stars, because it is truly marvelous, it opened my eyes to many new topics. I wish this course is more pluralistic in it's presentation. while I lived in the USA all of my adult life, I regret local cultural references and American parlance and colloquialism are abound. e.g. references to baseball, non-SI units, football, (incorrect URL slash references), verb "gonna" ...etc.

von Bernd S

12. Mai 2017

It's really a good course because it consists of not too big chunks of information, small enough to get a grip on. Great overview of many completely different fields of science where emergence plays a role. A deeper insight of especially how the brain creates these emergent phenomena would be interesting but of course it's off course ;-), because that would be whole different session.

von EVANGELIO , M K (

6. Nov. 2020

The course is very informative! I love how the course taught me about a whole new perspective on how to look a things in life. The teachings can be applied not only to chemistry, but also to philosophy and day-to-day life as well. Thank you so much for giving me a new perspective in life! I hope others might also learn what I have just learned!

von Patrick C

18. Juni 2016

This class acted as an excellent overview of a wide variety of topics. The focus was on breadth rather than depth. I would have loved to go more in depth, but I think that is a limitation of the format and lack of mathematical prerequisites for the course. The professor interviews were some of the best material included!

von Laura C M

16. Sep. 2019

There are very interesting items in this course. I recommend it if you are looking for a general but complete overview to the world of emergence and complex systems.

von José C E

8. Jan. 2018

An excellent explanation of a daily growing matter of science and research. I encourage everyone interested in a groundbreaking view of science, to take this course.

von Ramprashanth V

8. Mai 2017

i enjoyed all the different modules. I recommend they add more explanation to the chaos game assignment.

von sandipan t

2. Juli 2017

It's a good course to get acquainted with first hand information about studies in emergent phenomena

von SvenYeh

11. Okt. 2019

Perfect course and I think we can learn more detail for each lessons. Thank you very much!

von Giulia F M

18. Mai 2020

I just love to approach the mistery and the beaty of Emergent phenomena

von Adnan A

9. Okt. 2017

w

a

I

t

I

n

g

f

o

r

s

u

c

h

a

c

o

u

r

s

e

s

I

n

c

e

m

y

c

o

l

l

e

g

e

t

I

m

e

!

R

e

c

o

m

m

e

n

d

f

or

von John H

5. Jan. 2019

Very good none technical introduction to emergent phenomena.

von Deleted A

7. Juni 2018

Excellent entry-level course on the subject.

von Philip H

13. Nov. 2017

Great class and mentally stimulating.

von Niraj K N

30. Apr. 2016

Provide more examples of Physics.

von Geo L

19. Juli 2016

Excelent course, I recomend it!

von Bart S

21. Juni 2016

outstanding, do it again!

von JOHN Q

21. Feb. 2016

Nice Course. Thanks.

von Suman J

30. Juni 2019

Exceptional Course

von Shaurya P S S

6. Aug. 2017

Awesome

von Mario A

3. Jan. 2017

All the topics are quite interesting and surprising (and I mean every one of them), but all are treated like popular science with little insight. I had to read elsewhere to fully understand some topics such as reaction-difussion systems. All in all, I wish there was a version of this course for those of us who have no fear of mathematics.

von Amirpouyan

16. Nov. 2017

Could have been more mathematical. And could have included a section on space-time, since it's been a while that the notion of emergent space-time has entered the theoretical discussions.

von Victor S

22. Mai 2019

Good sampler course for those curious about emergent patterns across a variety of fields. Casual and fun, although the focus on peer graded assessments somewhat detract from it.

von Chi L L

6. Feb. 2019

A very good course in introducing advanced concepts in a simple way and have performed the spirit of multidisciplinary research very well.