Chevron Left
Zurück zu Energy, Environment, and Everyday Life

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Energy, Environment, and Everyday Life von University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
Sterne
143 Bewertungen
35 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

For a sample of what this course will include, see the video "Energy, Environment, and Everyday Life MOOC with University of Illinois Professor David Ruzic" - http://go.citl.illinois.edu/Energy-MOOC This course teaches you everything you need to know about energy, the environment, and at least a number of things in everyday life. It starts by talking about energy itself and where it comes from. This includes how much we have, who has it, who uses it, and what that all means. The video clips are produced in a fast-paced multimedia format during which Professor Ruzic throws in fun and demonstrations. There are multiple-choice questions to check your understanding and some more in-depth exercises to guide you deeper into the subject. After explaining the main things we use energy for – our cars and electronics! – fossil fuels are examined in detail. Want to really learn about fracking or pipelines? Watch these segments. The environmental effects of fossil fuels are taught as well. Global warming, acid rain, and geoengineering all are in this part of the course. Part of their solution is too. Renewables follow, with clips on solar, wind, hydro, geothermal, biofuels, etc. You’ll even see Professor Ruzic in a corn field and in the middle of a stream showing how you could dam it up. Finally, nuclear power is taught in detail – how it really works and what happens when it doesn’t work, as in Three Mile Island, Chernobyl, and Fukushima, as well as how we are making it today, which is shown here without political preconceptions. In this course, economics takes center stage. People will ultimately do whatever costs the least, so energy policy is most effective when it is targeted at the user’s wallet. Throughout the course there are 24 segments on “How Things Work." These guides to everyday life are tremendously varied, covering everything from fireworks to making beer to what happens backstage at a theater. The course is designed to be enjoyable as well as informative. We hope you will take a look!...

Top-Bewertungen

YC
26. Juni 2020

The best thing about this course is Prof. Ruzic. Thanks to him, I felt no problem in understanding concepts and the practical approach has helped me memorize lot of stuff.

NG
1. Sep. 2020

amazing course, learned a vast amount about nuclear energy and sparked my interest to further my knowledge in the subject! thank you!

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 35 Bewertungen für Energy, Environment, and Everyday Life

von David D

6. März 2018

Excellent effort! The course material spans a wide range of physics geared to the layman level but still enough depth to be worthwhile. Well presented and varied and especially nice to have 'test' questions and answers even if one didn't sign up to pay!

von Nazif H

27. März 2020

Thanks for given me opportunity to learnt the course

von Vipul A

18. Juni 2020

Brilliant course ,assignment done with great enthusiasm..

von Tushar K

16. Aug. 2018

Great course by Prof. Ruzic. Very well explained, fun assignments as well.

von Jialiang C

17. Juni 2018

Excellent course and really enjoyable

von Farhan A

16. Aug. 2019

Awesome Course!!!

von SURENDRA L

11. Okt. 2017

Wonderful course

von sivaguru m

6. Juli 2020

Good

von Khaled A R

24. Juli 2019

I missed an assignment due to technical issue with no response from the course team (the excel sheet of the assignment was password protected. I posted a thread to ask for help and no one responded). I was very enthusiastic about the progress i was making until this happened.

von HIRAM D T R

19. Sep. 2020

I finished the course and I want to say that it was excellent. I am a petroleum engineer and looking for courses related to my profession Coursera suggested this course to me. At first I did it to make my resume more attractive to recruiters. To my Surprise the content of the course was so entertaining and Professor Ruzic's passion and ease explanation made me commit to completing the course (I had some setbacks in the work). By the way I admire the professor's ability to write backwards!

von Charles A

12. Juli 2020

I can use what I learned in this course in both my personal and professional life. It has broadened my knowledge of energy creation and usage in the world. It also has deepened my knowledge of the pro's and con's of using different types of energy, and how economics drives our choices.

von Rituraj D

8. Juli 2020

Great course to learn about the current day scenario of energy. Though it is mainly about the status in US as the university is there but it gave me many new things to study upon and I learnt many things.

von Y V S C

27. Juni 2020

The best thing about this course is Prof. Ruzic. Thanks to him, I felt no problem in understanding concepts and the practical approach has helped me memorize lot of stuff.

von Efstathia N

1. Jan. 2021

An excellent course! Professor Ruzic is one of the best I've ever met - even online. I would love to take another course with him, as well. Keep up the wonderful work!

von Nathan G

2. Sep. 2020

amazing course, learned a vast amount about nuclear energy and sparked my interest to further my knowledge in the subject! thank you!

von Lakshmi R

30. Okt. 2020

for those who are looking for knowledge regarding Energy and environmental issues, this is one of the best

von Fabricio A V C

16. Aug. 2020

Excellent course developed by the university, and above all an excellent professor David Ruzic

von Mustafizur R

30. Juni 2020

Just love to learn.. Professor was very interesting person with great attitude .

von Dnyanesh D S

17. Aug. 2020

The course is excellent. Teaching / explanations from Prof. Ruzic is best.

von ELLENDULA H

22. Sep. 2020

excellent course taught by an excellent teacher.

von Chew Y X

22. Juli 2020

PROF RUZIK IS GODDDDDD

von Muhammmad S A

6. Apr. 2020

Professor was great!!

von ABBHIJITH.H

15. Juni 2020

Prof Ruzic is GOD.

von Chinmay L

5. Nov. 2020

Excellent content

von Kevin G

8. Juni 2020

Excellent course