Chevron Left
Zurück zu Biochemical Principles of Energy Metabolism

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Biochemical Principles of Energy Metabolism von Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology(KAIST)

4.8
Sterne
249 Bewertungen
68 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Everyone knows that energy is essential for sustaining life. How can you define energy in life? Have ever thought about ways of how carbohydrates like glucose from your diet can be used for extracting energy? A scientific field that focuses on energy production and flow though living cells and organisms is called bioenergetics. Energy metabolism covers various biochemical ways of energy transformation and regulatory mechanisms of over thousands chemical reactions. Without fine control of those metabolic processes, cells and organisms cannot maintain activities linked to life. This 7 week-course will give you a clear introduction to the basic fundamentals of energy metabolism. We will first establish the concept of energy metabolism and subsequently examine biochemical steps involved in energy production from glucose oxdiation as well as glucose synthesis via photosynthesis. We will also learn about metabolic reactions related to fat as well as regulatory actions among different organs. Finally, dysregulated energy metabolism in pathological conditions such as diabetes and cancer will be discussed. Everyone knows that energy is essential for sustaining life. How can you define energy in life? Have ever thought about ways of how carbohydrates like glucose from your diet can be used for extracting energy? A scientific field that focuses on energy production and flow though living cells and organisms is called bioenergetics. Energy metabolism covers various biochemical ways of energy transformation and regulation of thousands of chemical reactions. Without fine regulation of those metabolic processes, cells and organisms cannot maintain activities linked to life. This 7 week-course will give you a clear introduction to the basic fundamentals of energy metabolism. We will first establish the concept of energy metabolism and subsequently examine biochemical processes involved in energy production as well as photosynthesis. We will also learn about metabolic reactions related to fa as well as regulatory actions among different organs. Finally, dysregulated energy metabolism in pathological conditions such as diabetes and cancer will be discussed....

Top-Bewertungen

VS

May 25, 2020

Thank you so much this course means a lot to me especially about the biochemistry carrer and i recommend this course to all the Biochemists and biotechnology students all around the world.

SS

Jun 29, 2020

Dr. Seyum Kim has passionately designed this course and delivered it thoroughly interesting. It has been a good learning content for me. Thank you for the efforts Dr. Seyum Kim.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 68 Bewertungen für Biochemical Principles of Energy Metabolism

von JoAnne E R

Feb 12, 2020

This Professor connected the dots in a most refined manner, and he was very clear, concise, understandable, and demonstrative. I want him to do a course on RNA, and DNA with demonstrative samples of reading the DNA and RNA print. I wish to take more courses from him, specifically in forensics.

von 이상준

Oct 30, 2018

This professor knows what he's doing. As a huge lover of biology, chemistry, and medicine, I can see that he puts his love for his lessons and when he talks as well. He is an expert on his field, knows what he's talking about, and puts pride to KAIST (Korean Advanced Institute of Science and Technology). I love his lessons, 5/5!

von Roudain Y

Dec 17, 2019

Very useful course

I've got a lot of knowledge about carbohydrate and it's function and it's important in human body forthemore I've learned information on topics where myths abound like diabetes,fat metabolism and photosynthesis

I'm really thankful for having this opportunity to discover all this knowledge

von Krisna P

Jun 08, 2020

Thank you for this wonderful course,it really helped me prepare for my third year in biochemistry undergraduate study.all of the topics covered were a part of my curriculum and shall help me get ahead start when the semester resumes!

von Daniel A V C

Jul 18, 2019

Es un curso muy completo, cubre muy bien las nociones básicas sobre el metabolismo en condiciones fisiológicas normales. Así mismo da una breve introducción a distintas patologías comunes en el metabolismo humano. Muy recomendado :)

von S. S

Jun 29, 2020

Dr. Seyum Kim has passionately designed this course and delivered it thoroughly interesting. It has been a good learning content for me. Thank you for the efforts Dr. Seyum Kim.

von Saad Z S

Apr 15, 2020

Great course for understanding the biochemical reactions taking place in human cells that keep a person alive. Dr. Kim did a great job of teaching the course.

von Manu V S

May 04, 2020

This was quite good in understanding the basis knowledge of metabolic process and how they are interconnected. I recommend this course to everyone.

von Veena C N

May 21, 2020

This course was really helpful ! well structured lecture and a good teacher.

von Kutsuper Y

May 15, 2020

I am studend of chemistry faculty of Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv. I did take this course because I want to improve my knoledge in biochemistry. I think that chemist should study Biochemical Principles of Energy Metabolism in order to know how chemical substance can influence on our organism and understand chemistry processes in our body. it is very intresting course. I enjoy every lection. I think that course is the most useful l've ever met. I could not understand process of glucose oxidation for a long time, but thanks to this course I succeeded. I'm looking forward new courses from Dr. Seyun Kim.

von Victor B

Jun 21, 2020

This is a very interesting course, and the basics of biochemistry are in details explained. I would recomend this course to my coleagues, because biochemical pathways, as well as intracellular mechanisms are visualised, and fundamental processes such as photosynthesis, cellular respiration, fatty acid synthesis are introduced. It was an usefull and nice experience for me!

von Ashishkumar V K

Jun 19, 2020

Professor Seyun Kim has nicely explained all the important concepts of energy metabolism in normal and diseased condition, inter-linking of different pathways for efficient energy management within body cells and consequences of derangement in these metabolic pathways.

von Nedyu Y

Jun 06, 2019

Excellent introductory course in biochemistry and main processes, I really liked it! Prof Kim presents the topics in very entertaining way which makes the attendance even more pleasant. Pity that it's not for free and I couldn't complete it submitting the quizzes.

von AMARTYA B M

Jun 01, 2020

It is wonderful course. Sir explain everything very carefully and as much as easy to understand every student. I'M really get a vast knowledge to complete the course. Thank you sir. Thank you Coursera for offering this type of opportunity.

von José A J H

Jan 11, 2020

it It is a very well organized and informative short course. I say short because I enjoy it and I would have liked it to be longer. I recommend it to anyone who wants to learn or review basic knowledge of energy metabolism.

von RUMAISA A

Jun 18, 2020

The course was really helpful in developing my basic knowledge about the metabolic reactions in the body. I am very thankful to the professor Dr. Kim for his effort he had put on to organize this course.

von Carlos J S R

Apr 17, 2020

The information that has benn shown in this course was absolutely usefull and it was elained with a really good explanations, using images, photos, examples and books images to explain better.

von Vishnu S

May 25, 2020

Thank you so much this course means a lot to me especially about the biochemistry carrer and i recommend this course to all the Biochemists and biotechnology students all around the world.

von Abhishek K M

Jun 16, 2020

This is a very good course and a well-designed one. I really enjoyed learning all the biochemical principles related to energy metabolism. Thank you so much Kim Sir.

von Satvik S S

May 31, 2020

Excellent course and presentation are very nice sir seyum kim has demonstrated the biochemical principle of metabolism very nicely best course by KAIST university .

von Prateek D

Jan 11, 2020

Detailed explanations, not for beginners. If you have a background or undertaken coursework in Exercise Science and Nutrition this is a thoroughly enjoyable course.

von Sergio D A M

Jun 09, 2020

Excelente, me sirvió como repaso de conceptos de bioquímica en medicina, además de aprender mucho, de temas que no se tocan en clases, infinitas grcias

von Luis E G y G

Jan 02, 2020

Excellent, well explained course, goes from basic to more advanced topics covered in detail, great to start learning about human energy metabolism.

von Daniel S d S

Jul 07, 2020

Wonderful course in which I could learn more about the metabolic biochemical mechanisms of energy to improve my proficiency in the subject.