Chevron Left
Zurück zu Engineering Maintainable Android Apps

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Engineering Maintainable Android Apps by Vanderbilt University

4.4
125 Bewertungen
32 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Engineering Maintainable Android Apps, which is a 4 week MOOC that shows by example various methods for engineering maintainable Android apps, including test-driven development methods and how to develop/run unit tests using JUnit and Robotium (or equivalent automated testing frameworks for Android), as well as how to successfully apply common Java/Android software patterns to improve the extensibility and clarity of Android apps. Students will work on the appropriate automated unit quizzes, based on the material covered in the lecture videos. These lessons will demonstrate the benefits of good software engineering practices that are targeted at creating maintainable code for mobile apps. There will be roughly 3-4 hours of student engagement time per week, including video lectures, and quizzes. The ordering of the modules within the course is designed to be flexible. In particular, students can watch the videos in whatever order suits their experience and needs, e.g., they may want to watch the unit testing videos prior to the software pattern videos if they prefer to learn about unit testing first....

Top-Bewertungen

RL

Oct 07, 2017

Dr White is always a pleasure to learn from. He has presented a large amount of vital information in a relatively short, concise and palatable manner. Looking forward to the next course. \m/

HR

Dec 07, 2017

a great course in terms of security specially the Plexiglas used by the instructor which was used in Picasso's paintings. the concept is very helpful. thanks. great effort

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 31 Reviews for Engineering Maintainable Android Apps

von Соломонов М А

Apr 05, 2018

The course doesn't contain any useful information. Course also is obsolete. This is not a course about development for android. This course consist from some theory about android global.

von Sergio C

Oct 21, 2017

Looks like a mix of two distinct issues like testing and security. Both fundamental themes, but scratched lightly like an introduction. I won't recommend it to my colleagues, sorry, until a more thought and solid course is developed on both subjects. Unlike my other Coursera courses, I regret to have payed for this one, is less than I can get on YouTube.

von faiçel

May 19, 2019

A must experiences to learn for every developer .

von

May 13, 2019

This course provides some good ideas on how to engineer your Android apps. Some of the ideas may be costly to implement. For example, writing unit tests and integration tests can double the development time. This may not be practical. Overall, it is a good course.

von Jade F

Feb 06, 2019

The topics that this course covers are testing and security - it seems that informing up and coming android developers that these things are important is obligatory in the specialization. It comes off as being quite general and lacks interactivity - thankfully that's probably for the best since it's kind of dry material.

One of the quiz questions is 'when is it appropriate to ignore these security principles?' Possible answers are 'if it improves performance', 'if it helps meet a deadline', or 'never'. It doesn't require a lot of thought to get the point of the course.

Unfortunately, this section won't have you using android studio much, but you can't deny that what Dr White is teaching here is really important.

von Gabriel P d C

Nov 09, 2018

This MOOC is very good to introduce some development testing and security concerns in Android development. I does not intend to go deep with implementations because its a introductory and basic course. The only complaint that I can do is that I wish there were some written materials of the weeks. It is rather boring to get back to the videos to study, which could be done faster and easier with a 2 page summary of the week.

von Abdullah M A

Oct 27, 2018

Very Useful and very intelligent instructor, Thank you.

von Harold L M M

Jan 09, 2018

A very good material on android security. Thank you!

von Dmytro N

Dec 24, 2017

Great presentation of material. Not so much useful information on Android platform vulnerabilities.

von Amrish A J

Dec 24, 2017

Helped me understand the security features of android. The examples were explained very well. Testing was covered to a good extent in this course.

von Hassan R

Dec 07, 2017

a great course in terms of security specially the Plexiglas used by the instructor which was used in Picasso's paintings. the concept is very helpful. thanks. great effort

von sushrut

Nov 27, 2017

Non optional programming assignments would be quite helpful to learn the curriculum throughly

von kirti k

Oct 31, 2017

it is very tough course but really interesting to get the detail deeply.

To clear the quiz and i need to go through the video's 40 times line by line to get the concept in detail but still not able to find answers for 100% :(

von Abdul H M

Oct 29, 2017

Thanks

von Robert L

Oct 07, 2017

Dr White is always a pleasure to learn from. He has presented a large amount of vital information in a relatively short, concise and palatable manner. Looking forward to the next course. \m/

von Muhammed s e

Sep 20, 2017

gave me a very good overview on security as a whole and on security specifically for android.

von Craig S

Sep 03, 2017

Great end to the specialisation course work!!!

von Ruben P F

Aug 29, 2017

Great job & course! Getting deeper in core aspects of your App, just a little point : - Some credito/week more extra & practical exam about testing, with exercises to complete with all framework you explained.

Thanks for your decication.

von Glarius N N

Aug 03, 2017

An Excellent course. I will say it is an online course that made me study as if I were in a classroom

von Sam H

Jun 26, 2017

There is no evaluation in this class in the form of online unit tests, so essentially there is no evaluation of anything reflecting actual insight into the material (multiple choice quizzes don't). The material covered is general, hand wavy, and elementary to anyone who has been doing software engineering for 10 minutes.

von Sherif S

May 31, 2017

it would have been better than this regarding to the material, i think it need some useful written material as well as the recorded ones, walk through are a little bit confusing,

best luck

von Valerii T

May 30, 2017

Великолепно

von Jaime F O C

Apr 27, 2017

This course is excellent to learn, from scratch, how to write Unit and Integration tests, also you'll learn why, how and when to apply testing and security to your projects. You'll learn to use JUnit, Mockito and the InstrumentationRegistry.

von Umer F

Apr 26, 2017

very interesting course

von Jesus A B

Apr 23, 2017

excellent course !