Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Enumerative Combinatorics

Introduction to Enumerative Combinatorics, National Research University Higher School of Economics

4.6
(65 ratings)

Über diesen Kurs

Enumerative combinatorics deals with finite sets and their cardinalities. In other words, a typical problem of enumerative combinatorics is to find the number of ways a certain pattern can be formed. In the first part of our course we will be dealing with elementary combinatorial objects and notions: permutations, combinations, compositions, Fibonacci and Catalan numbers etc. In the second part of the course we introduce the notion of generating functions and use it to study recurrence relations and partition numbers. The course is mostly self-contained. However, some acquaintance with basic linear algebra and analysis (including Taylor series expansion) may be very helpful....

Top-Bewertungen

von RA

Mar 30, 2018

Excellent selection of material and presentation; TAs were of great help as well. The techniques taught in this course will be a nice addition to my algorithms analysis toolbox.

von RR

Aug 22, 2017

Great lectures and content. I really enjoyed it. However, the solutions exercises could be clearer and in more detail. Thank you!

Filtern nach:

23 Bewertungen

von Shen-Fu Tsai

May 09, 2019

The course starts with basic enumerative combinatorics like counting sequences, permutation, etc. and gradually moves into generating function, which is a very powerful tool in combinatorics. It also gives interesting combinatorial proofs of several classical results. The quiz is helpful and final assignment a bit challenging and definitely fun!

von R Sharath Kumar

Feb 19, 2019

The professor is a little slow when he speaks but apart from that, he is a brilliant teacher. The course lets you get to the very roots of the topic by pushing you to do the derivations etc. Brilliant course!

von petya

Dec 21, 2018

brilliant

von Агамов Раджаб Эльдар оглы

Sep 13, 2018

Есть баги в тестах (неделья 6 задача 4)

von Dmitrii Smorchkov

Jun 07, 2018

Nice work!

von Francisco Perdomo

May 07, 2018

Funny

Very good presentation

von Ry Auscitte

Mar 30, 2018

Excellent selection of material and presentation; TAs were of great help as well. The techniques taught in this course will be a nice addition to my algorithms analysis toolbox.

von Cong Xiu

Feb 12, 2018

by far the best math course I had (and I've taken many) on coursera

von David Angel Iglesias Tinoco

Aug 28, 2017

I enjoyed the course.

The lecturer was very good and the material quite interesting.

I feel that the assignments where sometimes very different compared to the material covered but I ended up doing extra research and learning more which is good!

Many thanks to the Coursera Staff as well as the Higher School of Economics.

von Ritvik Radhakrishnan

Aug 22, 2017

Great lectures and content. I really enjoyed it. However, the solutions exercises could be clearer and in more detail. Thank you!