Chevron Left
Zurück zu Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases von The Pennsylvania State University

4.7
715 Bewertungen
170 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Not so long ago, it was almost guaranteed that you would die of an infectious disease. In fact, had you been born just 150 years ago, your chances of dying of an infectious disease before you've reached the tender age of 5 would have been extremely high. Since then, science has come a long way in understanding infectious diseases - what they are, how they spread, and how they can be prevented. But diseases like HIV/AIDS, Malaria, Tuberculosis, or the flu are still major killers worldwide, and novel emerging diseases are a constant threat to public health. In addition, the bugs are evolving. Antibiotics, our most potent weapon against bacterial infections, are losing their power because the bacteria are becoming resistant. In this course, we'll explore the major themes of infectious diseases dynamics. After we’ve covered the basics, we'll be looking at the dynamics of the flu, and why we're worried about flu pandemics. We'll be looking at the dynamics of childhood diseases such as measles and whooping cough, which were once considered almost eradicated, but are now making a comeback. We'll explore Malaria, and use it as a case study of the evolution of drug resistance. We'll even be looking at social networks - how diseases can spread from you to your friends to your friends' friends, and so on. And of course we’ll be talking about vaccination too. We’ll also be talking about how mobile phones, social media and crowdsourcing are revolutionizing disease surveillance, giving rise to a new field of digital epidemiology. And yes, we will be talking about Zombies - not human zombies, but zombie ants whose brains are hijacked by an infectious fungus. We're looking forward to having you join us for an exciting course!...

Top-Bewertungen

DB

Apr 23, 2016

Can't fault this course at all and nor would I want to. Very interesting, brilliantly presented and the range of experts really enhanced it. It was engaging and made me keen to find out more.

DJ

May 13, 2017

It is a wonderful course , I have gain and updated my Knowledge in the area of Epidemics and Infectious Disease, Thanks to the Course organizers and most effective presentations . Dr Shivaji

Filtern nach:

151 - 165 von 165 Bewertungen für Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases

von Chris J

Dec 22, 2017

Excellent big picture overview of epidemics with very knowledgeable faculty bringing a wealth of expertise to the course.

von Jorja V

Nov 14, 2015

It is a great course, really interesting, really easy to complete though some of the topics are a bit challenging. Overall a great achievement to finish this course. (Although I didn't receive a certificate but at least I finished the course)

von Patrick R

Jun 15, 2016

Really nice introduction course. I am however a bit disappointed it did not went deeper in how the models of diseases spreading are built, and that the course overall does not go into much detail. A bit more technical detail (maths, biology etc.) would make this nice course a awesome course.

von Mariana V

Oct 26, 2015

Fantastic Course! great content and compelling presenters. It really opens your eyes to infectious diseases and all perspectives it braces, science, social aspects, biology, ecology. I recommend for bio/science folks.

von Brendan T

Sep 21, 2016

Great course, will def be looking for more like this.

von devina r

Jun 10, 2016

I felt that this course was more information driven and just getting to know facts and facts and more facts . though this course is designed for anybody to do I feel a student would do better if they had past experience and knowledge about a few common diseases.

von Viktor D

Apr 12, 2017

Very good, connected also to relatively recent outbreaks. Maybe some miniquiz/few question after each block would be nice to sum it up and help with preparing for quiz after whole week.

von Ryan R

Jan 25, 2016

The test difficulty was a lot easier than the actual course content.

von Stephen N H

Nov 13, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Disease. As a final year student doctor with an interest in infectious disease, I found this course was a very engaging and enlightening way of expanding my knowledge of infectious disease. My perspective of Epidemics and infectious diseases had greatly broadened. Would absolutely recommend this course to anyone interested in Epidemics, infectious disease, healthcare, or microbiology.

von Ritvik S S

Oct 25, 2015

very intresting

von CARLOS A P M

Aug 18, 2018

excelent

von Rune B

Oct 11, 2015

Interesting introduction to the topic. Would be beneficial if the course could be expanded and a formal certificate could be obtained providing credits or official points.

von Heather S

Dec 01, 2016

It was an interesting class though the scale of difficulty was very low. I would improve this course by adding more technicalities.

von Peter D

Sep 09, 2015

Was an interesting course but, at least to me, seemed to lack relevant material I was hoping for. When Addressing the concepts of Ebola, SARS, or the concepts of anti-vaccination the content was vague. But overall I thought the course was very informative on the concepts of how infections can spread and how we can track the movements in order to help control infection rates. I will definitely be going back to rewatch some of these lectures in the future.

von Rodolfo R

Aug 25, 2019

Good course on Infectious diseases; rather broad which includes social and belief perspectives.

Good points are: the part on the "social networks" which enable the student in better understanding on the patterns of transmission; the part on agriculture and zoonosis and their impact on infections in humans.

Parts where I expected a bit more: the part on the "dynamics", mostly on the SIR framework (I actually I choose to take this course hoping to get a deeper and practical understanding of this type of modeling).