Chevron Left
Zurück zu Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases von The Pennsylvania State University

4.8
Sterne
969 Bewertungen
251 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Not so long ago, it was almost guaranteed that you would die of an infectious disease. In fact, had you been born just 150 years ago, your chances of dying of an infectious disease before you've reached the tender age of 5 would have been extremely high. Since then, science has come a long way in understanding infectious diseases - what they are, how they spread, and how they can be prevented. But diseases like HIV/AIDS, Malaria, Tuberculosis, or the flu are still major killers worldwide, and novel emerging diseases are a constant threat to public health. In addition, the bugs are evolving. Antibiotics, our most potent weapon against bacterial infections, are losing their power because the bacteria are becoming resistant. In this course, we'll explore the major themes of infectious diseases dynamics. After we’ve covered the basics, we'll be looking at the dynamics of the flu, and why we're worried about flu pandemics. We'll be looking at the dynamics of childhood diseases such as measles and whooping cough, which were once considered almost eradicated, but are now making a comeback. We'll explore Malaria, and use it as a case study of the evolution of drug resistance. We'll even be looking at social networks - how diseases can spread from you to your friends to your friends' friends, and so on. And of course we’ll be talking about vaccination too. We’ll also be talking about how mobile phones, social media and crowdsourcing are revolutionizing disease surveillance, giving rise to a new field of digital epidemiology. And yes, we will be talking about Zombies - not human zombies, but zombie ants whose brains are hijacked by an infectious fungus. We're looking forward to having you join us for an exciting course!...

Top-Bewertungen

DB

Apr 23, 2016

Can't fault this course at all and nor would I want to. Very interesting, brilliantly presented and the range of experts really enhanced it. It was engaging and made me keen to find out more.

DJ

May 13, 2017

It is a wonderful course , I have gain and updated my Knowledge in the area of Epidemics and Infectious Disease, Thanks to the Course organizers and most effective presentations . Dr Shivaji

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 245 Bewertungen für Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases

von Carlos B P

Dec 13, 2015

Curso muy completo en el que con una carga de trabajo normal aprendes mucho sobre las Epidemias (desde su evolución en el pasado a la actualidad, como combatirlas e incluso el futuro de esta disciplina).

Si te gusta el tema de las enfermedad infecciosas lo recomiendo mucho.

von Gracious A T

May 12, 2020

Online learning of Epidemiology via this media is very convenient, I was able to learn at my pace and I must say that this course is not just an addition to my CV, It would also be used for the development of my local community in the health sector.

Thank you Coursera!

von ABBA B

Oct 23, 2018

Ce cours m'a permis d'avoir une connaissance large sur la pathologie infectieuse ainsi que les mesures sanitaires à entreprendre c'est-à-dire l'utilisation des médicaments au moment où le besoin y est afin de bien les gérer sans être perturber les flores bactériennes.

von Zhang X

Oct 28, 2016

This is really an informative and inspiring course. It is a masterpiece of multidisciplinary work. Very precious video records worth spreading. Help us to think more about infectious diseases in the context of mathematics models and modern society. Thank you so much!

von Dyllon L

Mar 07, 2016

Very thorough and interactive. I appreciate the expertise from multiple backgrounds, which has allowed me, as someone inexperienced in epidemiology, to have a general understanding of the topic. Thank-you and I look forward to seeing more content from you!

von Ameya T

May 26, 2017

Very innovative teaching methods with very interesting graphics. You don't see such a welcoming teaching method in India. I enjoyed the course thoroughly. Being a future scientist, I hope the diseases we hear of today are completely eradicated.

von Charles B

Sep 16, 2019

I learned much more than I expected and will continue to explore epidemiology because of this course. I am 78 years old and a retired clinical pharmacist but still find things like this subject fascinating. Thanks to the faculty...well done

von Helen W

May 03, 2020

Thank you so much for this fascinating course...which I really found so I interesting.I learned such a lot and I wish to congratulate all the scientists for explaining everything so clearly to a non scientist like myself..Great stuff!

von Tarek A E M

Aug 08, 2019

very very very useful course

i can not imagine that i can get all those data from one course although epidemiology is my specialitiy

the group discussion in the videos is very interesting

i also read some papers related to the subject

von Enrico P

Apr 07, 2020

Great course, great teachers. Mind opening and complete. Being a researcher and computer scientists I would have appreciated some insight on model equations, but this is something definitely I can easily do by myself now. Thanks!

von Giorgia B

Jan 28, 2019

I loved it. It's complete in every aspect, it explains deeply the whole problem of epidemics but at the same time it's not too difficult from who comes from different fields rather than medicine or biology. Really awesome course.

von Gina B

Oct 19, 2015

Really enjoyed the course format, information presented and the videos were fantastic. The discussions were lively and interesting as well . Had a great time learning about what may be the next big disaster heading our way!

von Kathy T

Oct 23, 2015

Top notch professors, amazing that you can get so much up-to-date relevant scientific information in a single course. Awesome course, recommend it for anyone remotely interested in health, disease, biology, social science.

von Dr. C R

Oct 29, 2019

Great overview of a trending topic with in-depth and insightful information relevant to today’s healthcare challenges. Course is well thought out, and professionally presented by a group of dedicated scholars...well done!

von Ricardo Z V

Apr 14, 2020

This course is "prophetic" for what we are experiencing today because of the coronavirus. Not only does he have a biological visión but also a social vision about beliefs and behavior. Very good course, I recommend it.

von Monika D

Aug 07, 2015

I really like the way the videos are prepared. It had to take a lot of work, but I love those drawings. It makes it look alive. I like the content as well. It is well structured and well presented. Thank you so much!!!!

von Jordan A

Nov 23, 2016

As a PhD student with knowledge on bacterial infections but little knowledge on viral infections and epidemiology, I found this really interesting. I very much enjoyed the course. Would highly recommend to a colleague.

von Tarik A

Mar 29, 2016

Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases by The Pennsylvania State University is one best courses on Coursera I have ever taken. It helps in identifying infectious diseases and their subsequent eradication.

von Robin B

Aug 20, 2015

So much current, usable, high quality education in this course. I will be watching future classes offered by these Professors. Thank you for your dedication to educate us in the subjects of your expertise!

von Laura H

Jun 02, 2020

Very informative and very helpful. The videos were excellent, and the additional readings were both challenging and helpful in gaining some competency in understanding the dynamics of infectious disease.

von Dr S K J

May 13, 2017

It is a wonderful course , I have gain and updated my Knowledge in the area of Epidemics and Infectious Disease, Thanks to the Course organizers and most effective presentations . Dr Shivaji

von Abigail M J

Jan 25, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and learned a great deal of information in the process. I found the interviews to be very helpful in bringing it all together for me. Thank you professors!

von Bénédicte G

Aug 13, 2019

What a great comprehensive course about epidemics! Thank you so much to all of the people who gathered together to make this wonderful training and to share their knowledge with students!

von Patrice

May 21, 2020

The information was well suited for the pandemic that we are dealing with right now in 2020. I enjoyed all the lectures and learned a wealth of information I hadn't known before.

von Douglas w

Apr 25, 2020

The instructors were very good and many of there examples were very interesting. Of particular interest to me, was the story of the Irish potato famine and the the zombie ants.